You Ain’t Read Nothin’ Yet…

In theory, a hotel should run like a well-oiled machine, especially in today’s ridiculously-overcrowded hospitality industry.

But if you run any machine 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, it’s going to malfunction occasionally. And when you add the human factor to the mix? Well then, kids, you’re going to experience some hiccups for sure.

So one when the following scenario unfolded I was anything but surprised.

Shortly after seven am,  just as my workday was beginning, I received a call from our Front Desk instructing me to visit Room 1820 and pick up their luggage. So far so good, right?

The first step in a case like this is to call the room and, if necessary, retrieve the guest’s valet parking tag number, thus ensuring their vehicle is waiting when they arrive downstairs to load their car. (Pretty gripping stuff, so far, right?)

It gets better, trust me.

Check out the gentleman’s response when I inquired about his car:

“What? My car… is it in valet parking? Hell, no! I parked that bitch myself!”

Articulate, wasn’t he? Undaunted, I informed him I was on my way up to get his bags. He muttered “Okay”, and promptly hung up. Two minutes later, I was at his room, knocking away.

Turns out I wasn’t the only one.

A minute after my arrival, a very bewildered, very confused and much to my horror, a very aroused guest answered the door. 

HORNY GUEST:  What now?

ME:  I can only assume from you’re current state, sir… uh… you’re not checking out, are you?

HG:  What the hell, man! Can’t you see I’m jerking off?

GUEST:  The Front Desk sent me to help you…

HG:  They sent you to help me jerk off? They at least could have sent a chick!

In retrospect, that one was on me.

ME:  Okay… I’m going to leave you to it, sir… sorry for the self-coital interruption.

HG:  Self what?

ME:  Never mind, happy stroking!

Yes, I actually got away with that one.

If only Front Desk could say the same. I gave them an earful but apparently a guest actually appeared at the desk and gave that room number.

And that’s pretty much it, folks. There were no more encounters with Mr. Happy in Room 1820. Thank god. If the mystery guest in question that started this whole debacle simply made a mistake, they didn’t call back down for help later on.

So there you have it. Another of one of my far-too-close-encounters with the traveling public.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to You Ain’t Read Nothin’ Yet…

  1. Hahaha!! I’m somewhat impressed with this fellow. I can’t get my husband to answer the door when he is doing NOTHING 4 ft from it and then there’s this guy willing to go that extra mile…impressive indeed.

  2. Ugh – working in the service industry is not a walk down easy street. People are the hardest of all creatures or ‘things’ to work with/for. Someone had a laugh, though. Wonder who the jokester was?

  3. Hahahahaha. I have several friends who are chambermaids in hotels, and they can tell a few tales. But ‘They could at least have sent a chick!’ Bloody priceless

  4. The Cutter says:

    At least he didn’t continue while you were still there

  5. Ink Pastries says:

    BBBBB,bbbb,baby you ain’t seen nothing yet. Go read my website today. I think you’ll see that your title could be the title of my latest blog. Shit is hitting the fan. More shit to fly.

  6. oceanswater says:

    I can only imagine what happens in Vegas from a Bell Man’s point of view… 🙂

  7. I hope you sterilize door handles at your hotel……

  8. Hahaha! That’s pretty cheeky to answer the door like that.
    Or would you call it ballsy?

  9. Ha so good! I can’t believe he answered the door at all!

  10. I’ve been in the business for 30 years….thankfully I’ve only seen shared experiences…never a solo mission!

  11. I can’t believe he answered the door. Deep-seated exhibitionist I suspect.

  12. It could’ve been worse. He could’ve asked you to help him finish.

  13. Nadia says:

    Lovely.
    Sounds like it’s time for a second book…

  14. adamjasonp says:

    Close encounters of the no. 3 kind. Thankfully this doesn’t happen every day… right?

  15. Geez… you think the person who DID give that room number was aware that the guy in the ACTUAL room was in a “self-coital” state and wanted to mess with him?? Things that make you go Hmmmmm….. LOL! 😀

Leave a Reply

