A Little Hump Day Humor From Your Pal, The Hook.

Sometimes all I get are the briefest of glimpses into the lives behind the hotel room doors.

But sometimes a glimpse is all I need.

Hotels, like every ordered system, have their own hierarchy. With the exception of management, Front Desk Clerks sit at the top; they send out directives to Housekeeping, Concierges, and of course, Bellmen. For the most part, though, I don’t receive many orders from the Front Desk, which is good.

I don’t respond well to orders unless they’re phrased properly.

At our particular slice of hospitality heaven there are individuals known as Journey Ambassadors who make deliveries to guests while touring the property to ensure travelers have everything they need. (Boring stuff, I know, but trust me there’s a point in all our futures.)

There are times, however, when the JAs (like the lingo?), are otherwise indisposed and so it falls to the Bellman to pick up the slack. In short, the bellman is everyone’s bitch. But I’ve learned to live with it. Now, me being me, I tend to respond to instances like this in a calm, professional manner.

“What the hell do you mean I have to deliver breakfast vouchers to a room?  Our guests are usually too drunk to wake up before noon anyway!  Where the hell’s the Dogforesaken JA?”

And then I usually find something that won’t shatter to toss across the Luggage Room. Or I threaten to Russell Crowe a Front Desk Clerk with a phone. And yes, I really am a joy to work with.

Actually, people love it when I lose it. Although to be honest, I’ve lost my edge since my father-in-law passed before my eyes. Death will do that a guy, I guess. But as regular readers know, under the right circumstances, I’m still willing to say just about anything to anyone at any time.

In other words, I’m a hotel manager’s biggest conundrum: an award-winning employee with the most selective filter in the hospitality game. And so when I arrived at Room 4051, breakfast vouchers in hand, a potentially-volatile situation could’ve erupted, especially when you hear about the situation in question.

I recognized the occupant of Room 4051 instantly; a regular guest from Texas, he was a ginger mountain of a man who had a penchant for three things that he coveted above all others:

Food of the highest quality.

Drink, in great quantities.

Women, of high quality and apparently, in great quantity.

Yes, it seems my Texan friend was feeling especially randy on this particular afternoon. How randy, you ask? Well…

He ordered himself five hookers.

Two Asians. One was tall (for an Asian). One wasn’t.

One Beyoncé clone.

One vanilla princess in the “Olivia Newton-John as Sandy” style.

And a single Persian beauty.

rs_560x415-150619111902-1024-spice-girls-lbd_copyJust imagine a less classy version of this motley crew…

Now, you’re probably wondering just why this guy would want his breakfast vouchers delivered right before he was about to begin a session of his own personal United Nations, right? Me too.

ME:  Sir, I have to ask… just why would you want your vouchers delivered right before you begin your own personal session of the United Nations?

Told ya.

RANDY TEXAN:  What can I say, buddy?  I don’t want to be interrupted during…

ME:  Your “United Orgasms of Benetton” marathon?

That little gem left him speechless (though, to my credit, he was still smiling), so I took my leave of his soon-to-be-forever-contaminated suite and headed out. 

Happy Hump Day, everyone.

See you in the lobby…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Little Hump Day Humor From Your Pal, The Hook.

  1. “until they’re phrased properly” haha good one

  2. Paul says:

    Youwza! That’s horny. Ha! Fun post Hook – and great snappy lines.

  3. First laugh out loud of the morning! Thank you for this one!

  4. (Just purchased your book. 🙂 )

  5. susielindau says:

    Ha! Keep them coming..

  6. At least you don’t have to clean the room afterwards! I remember having to clean a room that was so trashed (literally) that it took 3 of us maids almost twice the usual time to get the room ready to be used again. Ah yes, the hospitality industry.

  7. Doug in Oakland says:

    Wait, what did one Texan think he was gonna do with five women? On the other hand, never mind, I don’t really want to know.

  8. Those damn Texans. Seems like they live larger than large.(At least he didn’t call you friend)

  9. curvyroads says:

    Leave it to a Texan…

    I lol’d, so thank you!

  10. Kevin says:

    United Nations peacekeeping force is at it again!

Leave a Reply

