10 Things In 10 Days: #3. (The One About Comics.)

I doubt I’ll ever actually get there, but San Diego Comic Con appears to truly be Nerdvana.

It’s the place to be for the biggest, geekiest stars (even washed-up stars show up at SDCC just to be interviewed and photographed), the best comic book panels, sneak previews of the hottest toys, first glimpses of new seasons of the best returning and new TV shows, and of course… ultra-hot movie trailers.

Like the ridiculously-much-anticipated Wonder Woman trailer, for example.

#93: The SDCC Wonder Woman Trailer.

To suggest that fanboys – like me – and fangirls – like my daughter – have been hungry for this flick is like suggesting Kanye West has a passing fascination with banging Taylor Swift.

This is the superhero film no one ever thought would actually be filmed, never mind released. The concept of a Wonder Woman film languished for years in development hell but thankfully, that’s all over now. Fortunately, movie execs appear to have finally realized just how important this character is to pop culture and fandom in general.

Boys have more super heroes than they can count.

Girls? They’ve gotten the short end of the super hero stick, folks.

Super heroes aren’t just fictional characters that exist solely in two dimensions; they influence our outlook on the world around us. They inspire us to be braver in our own lives. They shape our dreams, which sustain us in times of darkness and despair. As for WW herself, well, she’s utterly fascinating.

William Moulton Marston created Princess Diana. William Marston helped create the lie detector. William Marston lived with his wife and another woman whom he modeled Wonder Woman after. William Marston was heavily into bondage; physical submission appears frequently throughout his comics work, with Wonder Woman and her criminal opponents frequently being tied up or otherwise restrained, and her Amazonian sisters engaging in wrestling and bondage play. 

William Marston was one freaky son of a bitch.

In his own words:

“The only hope for peace is to teach people who are full of pep and unbound force to enjoy being bound… Only when the control of self by others is more pleasant than the unbound assertion of self in human relationships can we hope for a stable, peaceful human society… Giving to others, being controlled by them, submitting to other people cannot possibly be enjoyable without a strong erotic element.”

Wonder-Woman-in-BondageBut Bill Marston did give us one of the most kick-ass females of all time. Fictional or otherwise, Princess Diana has given hope to millions and she’s sure to continue her winning streak with this upcoming popcorn flick.

And to be perfectly honest, while she may be a fictional character, WW has saved more real world marriages than any hero ever. As a bellman I can attest to this; I’ve seen more soiled Wonder Woman outfits strewn across hotel rooms floors than French maid outfits or Nun getups, I can tell you that much.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 10 Things In 10 Days: #3. (The One About Comics.)

  1. Paul says:

    Really neat post Hook. Superheroes are interesting. To me they show our fascination with being better, stronger, faster, smarter – and how we would use that in the world. My Mum , who spent most of her life as a feminist and a professor, believed that science fiction and fantasy were the worlds in which women could excel and lead society in the rights and strengths of women in power. Where their rightful places in power could be consolidated and serve as mentors for young women as they matured. Personally I have always found powerful women interesting and attractive.

    Great post Hook. I really like the trailer (hopefully the movie is as good) and found the brushed steel of the WW emblem interesting. That brushed steel look has been used by many authorities to represent power – especially in medals and emblems (it was a favorite of the Nazis). As below:

  2. Here’s the weird thing (don’t tell anyone). When I was a kid, I had no Wonder Woman to fantasize about. So my super hero was Mighty Mouse. Do you remember him? I must have been younger than 6 when I watched the Mighty Mouse cartoons, and I really wanted him in my corner. Or, I wanted to be him. So yes, it’s great that young girls can now have their own superhero – Wonder Woman.

  3. Tara says:

    I would love to one day learn that Kanye and Taylor were secretly banging while pretending to hate each other for years. (Sorry – you threw the shiny object at me and I got distracted.)
    So, what were we talking about? Oh right – WW is back? I can’t wait. I loved her when I was a little girl. Thankfully (I think) I was never subconsciously influenced to desire bondage. But – perhaps I need a WW outfit to surprise Todd. (**SNORT** I just about lost my coffee.)

  4. Linda Carter and her husband sat at our table at a function in Washington. It was an amazing night. She will always be WW to me.

Leave a comment