10 Things In 10 Days: #2. (The End is Near.)

For many of us, it’s the only fuel good enough for our human engine in the morning.

It fights back the hangover monster with a vengeance.

It helps us forget the night before; when we got together with Sheila from payroll, drank all her uncle’s homemade wine that tasted like antifreeze, and woke up on a bus full of circus people. In Cleveland.

It keeps us sharp.

It keeps us awake.

It’s the greatest beverage ever created by mammals with opposable thumbs.

#2: Java.

Wait… What the hell am I doing?

I hate coffee!

Never mind…

See you in the lobby, kids…

coffee-animated-gif-13

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 10 Things In 10 Days: #2. (The End is Near.)

  1. Tara says:

    I love coffee. I can’t do full-strength because it makes me jittery and EXTREMELY talkative. Current potion is 50/50, but I will drink decaf all day in the winter if the fancy strikes me (and it’s -7 outside)… because I love the taste of it.

    However, I differ on the “greatest beverage” ever. I think Margaritas are.

    And vodka.

    And wine too.

  2. Paul says:

    AHHHH!

  3. Doug in Oakland says:

    I don’t drink it any more, but I still love the way it smells. I found out that I was slightly allergic to it when I got my first restaurant job and had access to as much of it as I wanted. It gave me a skin rash on my arms that only went away when I stopped drinking it. Too bad, I even like the way it tastes…

  4. You poor man. The love of coffee is nearest to heaven. I’ll keep you in my java wishes.

  5. Lisa Orchard says:

    I love the way it smells, but I don’t drink it. I’ve never acquired a taste for it. πŸ™‚

  6. Archon's Den says:

    When I saw that title, I thought perhaps you’d had a plumbers’ convention. πŸ˜†

  7. julie says:

    Funny thing, people are amazed when they find out I don’t drink coffee. Never acquired the taste. Don’t like Tierra mi us for that reason. Tastes like coffee. Oh well, some people don’t like beer…

  8. I didn’t drink coffee until I started traveling for work….and getting stuck in airports. Not much for any food there, but a good coffee. Makes airport chaos more tolerable.
    Mostly water when not traveling, though.

Leave a Reply

