Buy Don’t Lick the Minivan On May 9 or Risk Eternal Damnation.

I recently stumbled upon this post from Ironic Mom Leanne Shirtliffe while traveling the vast and wondrous cerebral wasteland known as the internet.

Leanne has put out the call for assistance in promoting her soon-to-be-released non-fiction blockbuster….

Leanne is looking to assemble her own band of Blogging Avengers to ensure her title comes out of the gate swinging.

But The Hook isn’t a team player.

Nevertheless, I’ve decided to plug the Ironic Mom’s first book for three very good reasons.

1)  SERIOUSLY, SHE’S FUNNY.  As Joan Rivers would say, “The bitch is actually funny!” Leanne takes the everyday, runs it through her brain box and shares the finished product with the world. Unlike some of her girlie brethren currently dominating the literary sales charts, Leanne doesn’t resort to embellishing/fabricating adolescent memories for shock value. Nor does she take cheap shots. At anyone.

She’s just plain funny. Period.

2)  SHE’S SLAIN THE DRAGON.  In this case, the dragon is the publishing biz. Leanne landed herself a place with an agency that turned yours truly down flat. Of course, I can’t hold it against them; apparently rejecting me is all the rage these days. Still, I applaud Leanne’s moxie and perseverance. She stuck it out, landed an agent and then a book deal. Plugging her tome is simply a show of respect.

3)  KARMA.  I’m a simple man. As such, I live by a simple code: Do good for good people. Stand your ground when pushed by bad people. And when absolutely necessary, when all other options have been exhausted, unleash holy hell on your enemies. But try not to have too many enemies.

The Ironic Mom is good people. Buy or pre-order her book. Your soul will thank you for it.

You may now return to your regularly scheduled weekend.

Thank you.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Buy Don’t Lick the Minivan On May 9 or Risk Eternal Damnation.

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m suffering from commenters block here. But yay for Leanne, good on you for being the bigger man and I hope it does well. 🙂

  2. Ha. You’re awesome, R. I was lucky in many ways, but I received over 2y of rejections from agents and plenty for DLM before we found a fit. Keep at it. Perseverance and a good heart always win, and you have both!

    From one Canadian to another, thanks eh?

  3. You’re good people, hook. When my book gets translated to English I’ll make sure to send you a free copy 😉

  4. mairedubhtx says:

    LeAnne is the Queen of Irony. I love her writing. Good for you (and for her) for giving her new book a plug. She’s a very talented writer. And you’re a good person for promoting her book.

  5. This sounds like a giggle a minute.

Leave a Reply

