Apologies, Corporate Bigwigs and Business as Usual…

BEFORE WE BEGIN…

A quick explanation: I recently launched another blog, but doing so violated a promise I made to my lovely wife – Vampirelover – to scale back my writing projects (an online column, a blog and two book!) and spend more time as a family. NEVER LIE OR BREAK A PROMISE TO VAMPIRELOVER! The blog is dead, but I am happy to report that my marriage lives on…

We now return to –  wait a minute…

Sorry about that, an upscale corporate bigwig (My iPhone is bigger than yours!) just decided to make my day.

CORPORATE BIGWIG: Excuse me, I need to speak to you about my car –

THE HOOK: Certainly, sir. You need to speak to the gentleman over there (I pointed across the hall) you’ll save yourself time. I wouldn’t want you to have to repeat yourself.

CB: (In a loud, “Get me some coffee, maggot!” voice) I HAVE NO INTENTION OF REPEATING MYSELF! YOU’RE GOING TO HELP ME NOW! I HAVE BUSINESS TO RUN AND MEETINGS TO ATTEND! I KNOW WHAT I’M DOING, DO YOU?

THE HOOK: I know which desk I’m manning. Do you?

And with that, I pointed at the sign perched upon my desk that reads “BELL DESK“. Once again, I wish I could capture these moments…

CB: (After much pondering) Well, this must be a very satisfying moment for you…

THE HOOK: I have to admit, sir, my morning was pretty dull until a moment ago.

Corporate Bigwig took $10 from the pocket of his expensive raincoat and slapped it on the desk. He than gathered up his files and suitcase, tucked his corporate tail between his legs and headed off to the actual Valet Desk. Some people think money can negate stupidity and a lack of consideration for one’s fellow man.

Those people are right.

TIME FOR OTHER BUSINESS..

A shout-out to my newest blog buddy, Kristen Lamb and her best-selling tome, We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media. Give it a try, folks. You won’t be disappointed…

CHECK IT OUT!!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Apologies, Corporate Bigwigs and Business as Usual…

  1. Fuck! I hate people like that. Just because they have a fat wallet they think they’re shit smells like roses. Idiots.

    • The Hook says:

      At least he made up for his temporary insanity! I always walk a fine line with these people; in the end, he is the guest and therefore the ball is in his court.

  2. Behavior rings a bell….(bet his kids are lovely to be around?)

  3. jimshortz says:

    A wise veterinarian once told me that taking money from an imbecile is the best revenge. I’ll bet it feels good!

  4. Karmel says:

    No, money can never get any of that …
    I do not get good translation.
    a hug

  5. Jillian says:

    “Some people think money can negate stupidity and a lack of consideration for one’s fellow man.
    Those people are right.”

    HAhahahahaaha!!!

    I hear you. 🙂

  6. susielindau says:

    Doesn’t that feel gooood!

  7. It’s VampireLover here…..Thank you for apologizing….(LANCELOT)!!! LOL!!!

  8. Hahaha.. love it!! Your last remark made my day!!

  9. An apology will be its own reward… 😉 😉
    As for the CB with money: Ya gotta love his role reversal. You know: His appreciation of how ‘you’ felt…. This came from a very deep appreciation of life…! 😉

  10. leah says:

    Lol. Your Steve blog died but tools like these will make sure he lives forever! L.

  11. Whenever I read your blog I’m always like, wow people like this really exist??? I always thought that the loudmouthed corporate bigwig who believes that “money negates stupidity” (nice phrase) was an urban legend.

  12. $10 — not bad 😉

  13. Tammy says:

    Some people think money can negate stupidity and a lack of consideration for one’s fellow man. …I agree! Lol

  14. adelesymonds says:

    Love the blog post, I could picture it in my head.

  15. TBM says:

    If I stand in the lobby for people to yell at, will they give me money as well. I’m kinda hard of hearing so not sure it would bother me that much. But if you ask the better half, it’s selective hearing–whatever it is, I think it’s golden.

  16. I lost the link for your column, can you send it to me again?

  17. mairedubhtx says:

    At least you got $10 from the asshole.

  18. Ray's Mom says:

    Priceless! When you can diplomatically have the last word.

  19. twindaddy says:

    It’s awesome that you got tipped for pointing out someone’s idiocy. I wish I made money that way. I’d be rich.

  20. Pingback: Is that your luggage « Qui Entertainment Magazine

  21. mizqui says:

    Just wanted you to know I reblogged THIS PIECE on my site today. (-: THE BELLMAN CHRONICLES continue! I’m so HOOK’ed. lol! Happy Hump Day o’ literal brother. )))HUGS(((

  22. Michelle says:

    I think he tipped you because your comeback was good and completely unexpected, I’m sure. Nice job.

  23. The Guat says:

    “Money negate stupidity” …. Hmmmm. Not for ten bucks. 🙂

  24. Haha…I work with a number of those assholes too. If/when I do make corporate bigwig status I won’t turn into one of those f$cks.

Leave a comment