100 Reasons To Not Kill Yourself: #27.

A picture of Ronnie popped up on my home computer as I sat down to write this today; I didn’t mean to call it up, it just appeared as though someone was giving me a sign.

Message received and understood, Rockin’.

So here we go.

Again.

Today my wife went out to visit a friend, leaving me home alone like that kid in that Christmas movie whose title escapes me at the moment. “My Career Is About To Peak And I Can’t Even Drive Yet: The Christmas Movie”, was the title I think. At any rate, I ‘ve been on staycation from the hotel all week and I haven’t really done too much except for seeing Doctor Sleep (The Hook highly recommends it, by the way) and taking it easy.

So today when Jackie left I did what most husbands do when their wives go out. No, I didn’t visit any Tube sites, I vegetated on the couch and watched some videos of a non-carnal nature. But then I felt guilty for doing nothing when my lovely bride works so hard at home and so I did the dishes.

Great story so far, right?

But then, as the dishes began to dry in the holder thingie (I’m a stickler for details) I decided to do something I haven’t done in forever. Again, no I didn’t log onto a Tube site, jeez Louise, you people are randy!

I danced. With myself. To Billy Idol (guess which song, you can do it).

Now I’m the first to admit that I’m as white as Brooke Shields when it comes to rhythmic movements set to music, so you can only imagine what a spectacle it was. The dog ran for cover amongst a pile of winter accessories we’re sorting and still hasn’t come out. But it was fun.

I forgot about my IBS, my enduring heartache at losing my best friend, and a million other things, and just danced like a white boy.

It was glorious. We all need to take a moment to bust lose and make fools out of ourselves every once in a while. Go for it. I dare you.

See you in the lobby, kids…

100 Reasons To Not Kill Yourself: #27: Dancing With Yourself.

 

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 100 Reasons To Not Kill Yourself: #27.

  1. Oh, yes… I know the feeling exactly!!!! ? (Dog running for cover included!) I think it’s a great idea, so WELL DONE! 😉

  2. Dance your bad self on, Hook!

  3. It sounds like a lot of fun, Hook. It would be pretty hard for someone to kill themselves while dancing. (in the living room of course. On the ledge, 50 stories above the street is a different matter.)

  4. Doug in Oakland says:

    Good for you, Mr. Hook. Little by little life seeps back in and tries to go on with the business of being alive. I don’t really walk well enough to dance with myself since my stroke, but I did manage to dance with a girl (thank you, Sara) for a little while at a rock concert in 2015.

  5. Best advice ever! Well said, Hook

    • The Hook says:

      I got lucky, that’s it.
      This last leg of my blog journey has been excruciating to get through; how am I supposed to be inspiring when I can barely get through the day on my own sometimes?
      But I’m still swinging and hopefully that counts for something.

  6. Mark Myers says:

    I was hoping for video.

  7. Jennie says:

    See, music and dancing is the best medicine! Funny story, as you danced like a white boy:

    When I worked my school’s summer camp program, I had the older kids, 7 and 8. At the end of every session we did a play performance for the entire camp. This was a group of boys who were all over music and dancing. So, they picked a song and worked out their “moves”.

    All they needed was a costume.

    I had a collection of white cat-eye glasses for the Mermatrons (a great story in itself) and brought them in for the boys to decide if they wanted to use them. They loved them.

    Then, they told me they needed a “name”, so off they went into the corner to figure out what they wanted their group to be called. Andrew was the leader and spokesperson of the group. He said, “Jennie, we want to be Andrew and the White Boys.”

    Yup. White glasses. Made perfect sense.

    I hope this story made you smile, Hook. Keep dancing!!! 😀

  8. Little moments of joy, like dancing with yourself, perfect! But Billy Idol? 😄 Should’ve danced to Staying Alive. 😂

  9. Dave Ply says:

    Dance as if no one is watching is easier if no one is watching. But it’s still dancing.

Leave a comment