Happy Easter – If You Don’t Mind The Sentiment, That Is…

Admittedly, I’m not an “Easter guy”.

Even as a kid, I never went in for the colored eggs, the hunt, the elbow-to-elbow battle among my so-called peers that was required to locate a basket full of gaudily-painted treats. It just wasn’t me.

Now if my parents had deposited me into a field strewn with Star Wars figures, comic books and bottles of pop and told me to fight it out with a hundred other rugrats? Well, I would’ve gone full Lord of the Flies and come back with a few dozen baskets and a bunch of child slaves to cart them around for me. But they didn’t. So I couldn’t.

However, as a parent I loved watching my daughter’s face light up as she raced around the house seeking candy treasure and toys. (We tried the group hunt thing but my kid has always been too smart to follow the herd, and as parents we’ve always believed in taking things up a notch. Screw convention.) But now she’s older and we just buy a bunch of chocolate crap and books – the kid loves books – and hand it over.

Easy peasy. The way parenting should be.

This brings us to the obvious question: If The Hook isn’t an “Easter guy” then why is he publishing an Easter post? When Easter’s almost over, no less?

Because I’ve been feeling depressed and down-in-the-dumps today and I needed to write something, anything, or risk a total breakdown. I’m not going to go into details, suffice to say my health issues coupled with the usual self-confidence issues where my writing is concerned have me feeling overwhelmed. Again.

So here we are.

Don’t get me wrong, I have a great life filled with love and a job that’s never boring. My bills are paid. My mortgage is non-existent. But I’m human and as damaged as the next guy. Perhaps moreso. But I’m fighting the good fight so don’t feel too bad for me; you’ve got enough on your plate.

Happy Egg Day, ya filthy animals.

But if you don’t celebrate Egg Day, please disregard this entire post and carry on with your evening.

See you in the lobby, kids…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Happy Easter – If You Don’t Mind The Sentiment, That Is…

  1. Austin says:

    Happy Easter!

  2. renxkyoko says:

    Be well, and happy Easter.

  3. Marion Hardy says:

    Just get feeling better and if I don’t tell you often enough how much I look forward to your posts I will tell you again you are a very talented man whose writing s mean a lot to me!

    P.S. I hated group hunts too and refused to participate in them. I am a lone Easter egg huntet!!!

  4. Kay says:

    Happy Easter! I love your posts. I love your writing. I hope you feel better soon.

  5. Happy Easter. All writers have self-doubt. I know, I know you want to feel special. The rule is, “If you wanna write you’re going to feel like shit most of the time.” So if you feel like shit you are probably doing the right thing.

  6. michd74 says:

    I hope you turned the day around and you feel better. Sending #goodvibes

  7. davidprosser says:

    Maybe it’s the depression that makes writers write or at least makes them good at it. By good at it I don’t mean successful as that part is largely down to luck.
    You have so many friends Robert that I hesitate to say, if you feel you need to talk, you know where to find me.
    Happy Easter Monday ( It’s nearly over),
    Hugs

  8. 1jaded1 says:

    Hope you and your family had a wonderful Sunday.

  9. Hope you had a lovely Sunday watching your daughter eat chocolate & read, which sounds pretty freaking awesome to me.
    Hopefully, you kicked that inner critic to the curb!

  10. shimoniac says:

    Happy belated Egg-day to you and yours too. Hope you and yours had an eggs-tra special time and that you feel better soon. Don’t feel bad about feeling bad. Get into it, embrace it, acknowledge it, and then put it away and move on; until the next go around. Our scars are what show that we’ve lived a life and without a little sadness we wouldn’t know true joy.

  11. Happy Easter to you and yours! Enjoy yourself! XOXO

  12. Happy Easter to you as well! Kind of like Merry Christmas and all that jazz, right? As a woman with an extreme Catholic education (from second grade right on through college – Jesuit university, no less), I will be the first to admit to not following “tradition,” if you will. Don’t be too hard on yourself.

    My Easter went something like this: Up at five, drank coffee, fed the dog, gave him his insulin, got dressed (sort of), packed grandson’s Easter basket, and headed over to my daughter’s house where I hid four colored eggs on her front porch, left the basket on the porch swing, and headed home. Later that day I went plant shopping with my daughter, and while I was waiting for her, I asked the grandson if he had gotten any baskets. “Two!” was the enthusiastic answer. He told me one was from his mom and dad. I asked who the other one was from. “The Easter Bunny.” No question. I had outdone myself. Or painted myself into a corner. I let it ride.

    When you are not up to par physically, never offer yourself up for critique. Your mind can make a bad book review from the New York Times look like a glowing prayer to the Virgin Mary in comparison. I’ve been working on a blog, trying to get one up and running, and every time I come close, I shoot myself in the foot. I have no real cred, who the hell will read it? And so it languishes much the same as my books have, tucked safely away in boxes or the corners of my mind. You rock, Hook! Look at it this way. Easter is about new beginnings…for every one. In your own special way, you reminded us all of that. 🙂

  13. GG says:

    Your writing is really compelling and I’m sorry you’re not confident about it. Your blog almost always makes me think, and laugh, which is a good combination. Hope you are feeling better soon.

  14. Doug in Oakland says:

    I don’t really do Easter, but once when I was in High School I did. The Far West Motorcycle Club used to have an Easter event on their land in the sand dunes of the northern peninsula of Humboldt Bay. There was an Easter egg hunt, that I won (it probably wasn’t fair, since I rode there a lot and knew the land better than most) and I won another little egg-shaped trophy in the “Polish Scrambles” (a race in ever tightening circles where if you are passed, you’re out) which I was particularly proud of since the last guy I beat was a semi-famous racer.
    It didn’t end well, though, as I crashed during the bottle race and got shocked by my bike as I tried to turn it off, and was unable to start it afterward, meaning that I had to push it over the dunes back to the truck…

  15. Easter drives me mad, but like you I was moved to write about it. As usual I went about it a bit obliquely.

  16. Tara says:

    I was an only child growing up and have no recollection of group hunts. I hunted alone. We also rarely attended church, so while I consider myself a Christian, I don’t fully embrace religious practices. But my guilt yesterday had nothing to do with any of that. I felt guilty that my kids have never dyed Easter eggs.

  17. curvyroads says:

    Happy belated egg day, Robert! We don’t do Easter either. This year we went for a drive through the National forest then went to a friend’s house and had an appetizer feast. Only deviled eggs involved 😁 Keep on writing for us, your fans. We don’t doubt you. 😘

  18. I love Easter, mainly, well only for the chocolate because I have a chocolate condition. This year I was very good though, I did not buy any, at all.

  19. umashankar says:

    You shine even in your irreverence to human foibles. Cheer up and greet me in the lobby of your blog.

  20. Easter eggs used to be for kids 2-5 – then the obligatory photo standing in the flowerbed with Easter lilies. It’s a whole ‘other animal now. (and they should be real Easter eggs not the plastic oval treasure boxes,.but that’s just me….normally Dad took us to the farm where we ran around like wild savages. He said we’d leave room in the church for those who only go twice a year. Worked for me)

    Hope some bunny hopped some smiles your way …wait – I did not specify the Playboy type bunnies..

Leave a Reply

