5×5 With The Hook: Tracy Moore.

She stepped into a television hosting role held by a beloved personality who should have been a tough act to follow – and she aced it immediately.

She’s the warmest-yest-simultaneously-coolest, hippest, most lovable woman on TV since Mary Tyler Moore.

She’s Cityline host Tracy Moore (no relation to Mary) and she’s spectacular.

tracy_moore_citylineFor 19 years Cityline (one of the first ultra-hip television lifestyle shows on both sides of the border) was hosted by a lady by the name of Marilyn Denis – and I have to tell you, she was adored by viewers like my mother and grandmother.

When Denis announced she was leaving Cityline in 2008 it seemed as though the program would go the way of the Pat Sajak Show and bite the dust like an eighty-year-old man on a ten-speed.

But then Tracy Moore stepped in and made the hosting role her own. Her first act as host, igniting a bonfire topped with all of her predecessor’s possessions and pictures, in the studio parking lot is still the stuff of Canadian television legend.

Right now you’re thinking, “Is he kidding?” You never can tell, can you? Fair warning, it’s not going to get any less tongue-in-cheek as we progress.

Tracy Moore battled to the death worked her way from a behind-the-scenes camera jockey to an on-camera news reporter/anchor role at CBC News World. When it was clear no one at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation could match her sass and sheer willpower, Moore took a role as a live reporter for City’s Breakfast Television.

(For my American and international readers: City is a Canadian television network owned by the Rogers Media subsidiary of Rogers Communications. You’re welcome.)

For her part, Moore saw herself eventually moving to New York to further her broadcasting career. In fact, she didn’t even invite anyone from City to her wedding to “media guy” and super-cool human being, Lio Perron, that’s how brief she felt her role at City would actually be!

Then Denis left Cityline while Tracy was on maternity leave with her son and as they say, everything changed in an instant. Having earned a master’s degree in journalism at Western University – Moore is one of those rare individuals who is not only attractive but sharp as one of Wolverine’s adamantium claws – Tracy never envisioned herself eschewing journalism to host a lifestyle program.

Fortunately for all of us, she changed her mind, dove in with both beautiful feet (I’m assuming) and changed the television landscape forever.

With Moore at the center, Cityline is a place where the crew, audience, guests, contributors, and of course viewers, have a blast. Now Tracy uses her power and influence to crush her enemies beneath her designer heels – when she’s not hosting high-profile fundraisers like the Mirror Ball and the YWCA’s Women of Distinction Awards, of course. Like many City personalities, this chick gives back to the community as much as she can by contributing to various charities. She’s even ensuring people don’t look like cave dwellers by running her own clothing line.

FA_HDR_160404_TMbyFredas

But at the end of the day, Tracy Moore finds her greatest fulfillment by being at the center of this group of wild and crazy souls…

disney2014dinner.jpg.size.xxlarge.promo

So we can all agree that Tracy is an exceptional mammal, right? I know she’s a favorite of my bellmen colleagues; “When’s that hottie, Tracy Moore, coming back to Niagara, Hook? She’s a knockout!”But I’m sure the guys respect her for her mind too…

And now, on with the 5×5 show!

ONE)  Your house is on fire; other than your family, which item do you save first?

My phone. *hangs head in shame*

Honestly though all my information is in my phone. Numbers, addresses, family photos and videos. 

break

TWO)  What’s the most important piece of advice you can give men for dealing with the modern-yet-ever-evolving female of the species?

The role of men has changed so much that I think it can be confusing these days to support women without feeling displaced and emasculated. My big advice is to understand how crucial your role is in maintaining balance in and out of the home. And that every good woman is made even stronger by the love and support of a good man.

(I’ll say it for you, men, “Thank you, Tracy!”)

break

THREE)  You once harbored ambitions of “making it” in the United States of America; if given the opportunity, would you still choose to be a part of the American television landscape?

It would have to be a multi-year deal for billions of dollars at this point. Okay, maybe not billions, but we have such a good support system here at home (my parents), a good school for the kids and good jobs for both of us. The American TV landscape is just as dodgy as the Canadian one, maybe even more so.

Would I give everything up for a show in the US that may or may not last a few episodes before being cancelled?

Yes.

For billions of dollars.

(So it turns out you can put a price on patriotism after all…)

break

FOUR)  If you could be any mythical beast, what would you be? 

A chocolate-eating, fire-breathing, high-flying dragon. 

(That’d be one sexy-yet-hyper-intelligent dragon.)

break

FIVE)  As a bellman, I’m fascinated by stories of trips gone astray. Other than waiting seemingly-forever for a cab in Niagara Falls, what’s your most harrowing travel tale?

I never had a fear of flying before my one and only trip to Dominican Republic.

On the flight home we were in the air with no turbulence when the plane seemingly hit a concrete wall in the sky. The first bump was awful. The second bump was horrifying. The bang caused the oxygen masks to fall and I saw about five people in front of me hit the overhead roof including a toddler who flew up in the air like a rag doll.

Needless to say the tears started flowing and I started my prayers in my head. I was bawling and squeezing Lio’s hand so tight because I was certain our life was going to end because we chose to take a last minute vacation at a low end resort in a country we didn’t really enjoy very much (we hated the Haitian/Dominican divide, the overwhelming poverty of the Haitian underclass and the different treatment me and Lio received based on our different complexions).

And then lo and behold, the rest of the flight was uneventful. What I didn’t know (because the pilot didn’t tell us) was that planes can hit air pockets in the sky. And when they do this is what happens. No one explained until the END OF THE FLIGHT when we were safely on the tarmac. Bad vacation, bad flight, and now a lifelong fear of hitting one of these invisible things every time I get on a plane.

(Yikes! Now I’m glad I’m too poor to travel anywhere. Who knew poverty could be a blessing?)

breakAnd so our time together has come to a close once more. A simple “Thank, babe” will never be enough to mark my gratitude to Tracy Moore, a woman who comes into my home five days a week to enrich my family’s life with laughter and enlightenment – but it’s all I can afford on a bellman’s wage. Thank you yo all of you for being here. And finally, thank you to Donald Trump for being born in the United States; Canada has enough problems as it is…

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Tracy Moore.

  1. You are fortunate way up Nawth to have such a talent

  2. nbratscott says:

    Bieber is still yours, tho!😏

  3. Ned's Blog says:

    With the impending migration of Americans after the elections this November, Tracy’s audience could potentially become largely American anyway…

  4. umashankar says:

    For someone who has never seen The Moore, leave alone meeting her —I’m considering being a bellman in my next life— you put forth a living, breathing, smacking personality right onto my laptop screen. Thank you, Mr Hook.

  5. Paul says:

    Fascinating Hook. She is quite a woman. Thank you.

  6. Becky says:

    You have got to be kidding! Moore is a terrible host– self-absorbed, rude, loud.

    • The Hook says:

      I never kid when it comes to.. wait, I do kid, Becky, like crazy in fact!
      But I understand if you don’t like Tracy; everyone is entitled to their opinion.
      Thanks for stopping by, Becky.

Leave a Reply

