Silent Squirrel Sunday.

My bride of twenty-one-years has a gift.

Okay, to be honest, she has many gifts. Some of which I can discuss, while divulging others would get me beaten with a cast-iron frying pan. I really mean that, by the way; it’s happened before.

One of my spouse’s coolest gifts is her ability to charm the wildlife in our suburban refuge. Stray cats, possums, and especially squirrels, they all recognize our home as a McDonald’s. The front door is like a drive-thru.

Incidentally, this isn’t hyperbole. At all. We’ll often open the door, begin to step out and stop when confronted with a hungry, furry resident of Niagara Falls. This leads to specific sentences being shouted out in our home.

“Hey, Mom! Red Tail is out there! Hope you bought the cookies he likes!”

Which brings us to the following pic my daughter snapped yesterday.

20160220_145814

I know what you’re thinking, and yes, it’s entirely possible this particular squirrel is a ninja master who lost both eyes in battle and now relies on his training to survive and vanquish his enemies.

Or maybe he was just blinking.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Silent Squirrel Sunday.

  1. Paul says:

    HIIIIYA!! Ninja Squirrel!

  2. My neighbor has that ability too, I call her Snow White.

  3. Tara says:

    My neighbor has that ability too. We call her the Cat Lady.

  4. Does that make her a little squirrelly? Kinda nutty?
    (Oh, just messin’ with ya!)
    Our neighborhood is rampant too. They drive me crazy (but in a good way. I think.). They’ve even mastered how to get my expensive bird seed out of my “squirrel-proof” bird feeder. I think they’re actually running the local library. There’s a baby running around here (squirrel, that is) with half a tail so we call him Stumpy.
    Of course.
    Happy squirrel watching, kids!

  5. Cool… we have black squirrels in Texas too. Great pic!! 😀

  6. Doug in Oakland says:

    When I was living in East Oakland and working at a natural foods warehouse, we had some squirrels in the yard. One time Briana fed them some samples of cashew butter I brought home from work, and they flipped right out. One was so aggressive in trying to get more cashew butter that he climbed up the security door and started shaking it as hard as he could. It was LOUD. They calmed down after a couple of days, and we learned a valuable lesson about feeding wild animals.

    • msexceptiontotherule says:

      “They calmed down after a couple of days, and we learned a valuable lesson about feeding wild animals.”

      Not to get squirrels hooked on their version of crack? You’re lucky they’re not as ambitious as raccoons! 😉

  7. When we lived in Connecticut my wife used to leave some food for a skunk she thought was cute. One night (late) I came home and opened the car door and hit the skunk in the butt. He got even of course and sprayed the inside of my car and me.

    When I finally got into bed my wife asks, “Have you been drinking?”

  8. Somehow this doesn’t surprise me. Animals know good people.
    We only have red/tan squirrels – and a few new grey ones just moved in – you’ve got a stealth squirrel!

  9. I have one that lives in my walls. Can I send him down??

Leave a Reply

