5×5 With The Hook: Shirley Maya Tan

She is a blogger’s best friend: Attentive, loyal, overflowing with support, and just plain fun to encounter while surfing the web. She is Shirley Maya Tan and she is the latest victim guest to grace us with her presence today.

SMT

And I have to tell you, folks, I couldn’t be more honored. Shirley has earned my respect for a multitude of reasons:

  • Originality is her greatest weapon, wielded with assassin-like precision.
  • Fearlessness is the overall theme in her life and it appears to have made all the difference in the world.
  • The girl knows how to sling a poetic verse or two to maximum effect.

But I’m not here to do your homework for you, kids, check Shirley out on your own and we’ll talk later…

1)  Your favorite buffet item is…

   The ENTIRE DESSERT spread/section, of course! I’d be happy just parking myself right next to it 🙂 

2)  As bloggers, we obviously love technology. What do you think has been the social media engine’s greatest contribution to the world so far? 

   Can I be honest here? I don’t actually LOVE technology. I have a hate-love relationship with it. Mostly, pulling out hair kind of frustration because I am so bad at technology.

   I call myself the I.T. Dumb Blonde for a really good reason. However, I am very grateful that social media has enable us to connect with one another without leaving our homes. It is the human connection I value most of all.

3)  Socks at bedtime: Yay or nay?

    I live in Malaysia. It is crazy hot and humid here. So, no socks at bedtime for sure. 

4)  The greatest breakfast item ever conceived by the human mind has been…

   BREAKFAST IN BED. I LOVE that! Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles or maple pancakes, orange juice, coffee with croissant and butter all served in bed. That’s one of the reasons I adore room service. Can you tell? ha ha.

5)  Dogs in winter sweaters: Cute or just plain creepy?

   Well, this is a tough one. It all depends on the owner’s taste. Some owners do not have “nice” taste in fashion and yes, I do pity the doggies more whenever that happens. The best I ever came across was the dog dressed in a cool sweater much like the owner and he even had the same pair of shades as the owner. I thought that was too cool. 

“PLEASE, SOME ONE CALL THE POLICE – OR THE DOG WHISPERER.”

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

One more thing before I go, I realize these posts seem rather light on input from yours truly. There’s a good reason for that: As a bellman, I realize it’s all about the guest, not me. That’s how I approach 5×5 – and I always will.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Shirley Maya Tan

  1. TJLubrano says:

    Ahh this was fun to read! Just look at the pancakes and desserts 🙂 Shirley, your lip color is so lovely, too!

  2. denmother says:

    Shirley, how fun to see you in the 5×5. You “hooked” me with Belgian Waffles. Yes!

  3. Madhu says:

    I love anyone that loves desserts 🙂

  4. Great call on the breakfast in bed, Shirley. I live close to maple syrup country, and have yet to say “no” to eggs benny.

  5. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I might have to have waffles for dinner now. I love your hair and lipstick too!

    Another good one, Hook. Adding to the follow list…

  6. Thank you dearly to HOOK! What can I say – I enjoyed being his victim, er…I mean, guest…so much that I did not want to leave. He practically had to force me out of the door.
    It is always a pleasure to “meet” with Hook. Thank you so much, my dear friend. Can I come back just for the room service anytime soon? ;p

  7. Paul says:

    Hi Shirley! Great to see you guesting here on Hook’s site. I enjoyed getting to know you better. Keep up the good work!

  8. The Hook says:

    Once again I want to extend my thanks to Shirley for launching another successful week with a winning 5×5 post. You’re the best, young lady.

  9. Eva says:

    Excellent work, Shirley. May I borrow your skin for the rest of my life?

    • LOL..that is a first! My beauty regime is pretty simple – I don’t use much make-up on a daily basis, just lipstick and mascara. I use aloe vera gel on my face before I go to sleep. I eat lots of fruits and drink plenty of water throughout the day. I don’t eat red meat. Mostly fish and chicken. Lots of leafy greens and no soda at all. Let me know if that works for you, Eva 🙂

  10. Re: Question 2 on technology. I’m so old that I remember when the internet was invented. Hell…I remember when computers first came into our homes. The promise was that new technologies would set us free. Do we look free? Do you feel free? Hello, Facebook. Hello, NSA.

  11. Breakfast in bed is fantastic. Smart girl.
    Nice to meet you Shirley Maya Tan.

  12. kerbey says:

    Wouldn’t you get crumbs in the bed? That is no fun.

  13. Trent Lewin says:

    Who in any country would wear socks to bed? That’s gross. The breakfast in bed thing… counting the days (or years) until the kids surprise me with that.

  14. stephrogers says:

    I love this series. I am meeting so many new bloggers. It’s amazing.

  15. REDdog says:

    Hook, you may not have much input per se, but how do you come up with these questions, man?

    I love how you only seem to know awesome people, too. Nice to meet you Shirley.

  16. Love this…so much fun!! You would love the Cabane à sucre here in Feb to April (Sugar shack) with maple syrop on so many goodies!! And boots and sweaters are not a luxury for dogs here this time of year:)

  17. Loves desserts and scorns dogs stuck in ugly clothes. Definitely a keeper.

  18. Aussa Lorens says:

    Speaking of technology, there needs to be a way for me to reach through the screen and gobble up all the yummy foodstuffs you just talked about.

  19. Sharon Saw says:

    I would love to have breakfast in bed too… and eggs ben, waffles with maple syrup, fresh orange juice, coffee, croissants… i think that’s all quite reasonable… when shall we do it? 😀

  20. Nadia says:

    Nice to meet you! Hook has a way of choosing interesting bloggers.
    That buffet table is calling my name…

  21. bethteliho says:

    Hook, you might as well have been interviewing me – I would’ve given the exact same answers! Nice to meet you, Shirley! Checking out your blog now….

  22. Poor little poodle! he he….love this! and the yummies too! Have an awesome day Shirley…and Hookey! 🙂

  23. suzjones says:

    Great to see you over here Shirley 🙂

  24. 5×5 has to be my ultimate favourite place to come to find new bloggers to read! Love this 🙂

  25. Michelle says:

    I love finding new bloggers here. It is the main reason I’m behind on projects at work.

    Well, that and I really don’t feel like working.

Leave a Reply

