5×5 With The Hook: Bea Santos

Ask any successful person in any field for the secret of their success and the word “luck” will turn up somewhere.

Unless they’re an arrogant slime. In which case, stop speaking to them immediately. But my point – and I do have one – is this: Bea Santos has been acting for a few short years but she’s already at the top of her game with a role on Canada’s greatest drama (in my humble opinion) Murdoch Mysteries, and if you ask her, she’ll probably tell you she’s been very lucky.

But the fact is, the girl’s damn talented and ridiculously-nice… even for a Canadian gal.

Bea landed the plum role of turn-of-the-century reporter Louise Cherry by surviving the CBC’s rigorous casting process which, incidentally, was the real basis for the smash blockbuster motion picture franchise, The Hunger Games.

Yes, there’s a good chance I may have my “facts” wrong. Just pipe down and enjoy the ride, Poindexter.

Acting is in Bea’s blood. (The doctors were shocked.) Her paternal grandmother directed community theatre, her father, acted in local productions, and two of her aunts are actors. Seventeen of her relatives perished constructing the Hollywood sign and were buried behind it, thus cementing the family’s connection to Tinseltown. At age five she put on plays in her living room and charged her family exorbitant ticket prices. Santos studied literature and art history in university in Montreal but could not ignore the call of her heritage and moved to Toronto at age twenty-two and kidnapped secured an agent.

iu-w65xcsxckfr04nsqfoxz-hehwx87md1vykgym505mhodwzfy9k9me06mg5uwopnrbcas630

This is where it gets tricky, kids. I could give you the stats of Bea’s career but I can’t tell you who she really is when she’s not acting brilliantly in film and television productions. I don’t know what her hopes and dreams are. I have no idea if she wrestles with personal demons or regrets. The internet connects us but we’re still individuals with secrets and guarded dreams.

All I know for certain is that Bea Hutcheson-Santos is one helluva an actor and I hope we see much more of her on Murdoch Mysteries. Louise Cherry could have become a one-note character; a seedy, turn-of-the-century paparazzi who is willing to do anything for a story, regardless of who she has to destroy.

But Bea gave us a “real” character who turns to Constable Crabtree when faced with amoral dilemma – and she ends up cracking the case wide open in the process.

 Whoa. Sorry about the deep musings. I must have activated the “Philosophical Contemplations” widget on my blog…

Let’s get right to it, shall we?

photopage-break

ONE)  I get the impression you’re not exactly a social media savant. Did you prefer the “old-fashioned” world?

I’m definitely a ludite. More by natural inclination than by choice. I wouldn’t say I prefer an old fashioned world but I definitely have nostalgia for it. Its also so fun to act in a period piece. The costumes and the set really make it easy to sink into and live in those imaginary circumstances.

page-break

TWO)  How much of Bea Santos can we see in Louise Cherry?

I have a lot of respect for Louise’s career focus.

I love how driven, and maybe a little bit pushy, she is. In terms of being passionate about what we do we are the same. It will also be revealed in later episodes that we have some surprising cultural similarities. Can’t really elaborate, you’ll just have to watch!

In terms of differences, I’d like to think I make a less prickily first impression than Cherry.

(There you have it, Murdochians. More Cherry is coming our way!)

makingmurdoch1004introducinglouisecherry

page-breakTHREE)  Cocoa plays a big role in “Concocting A Killer”.  What’s your favorite beverage, Bea?

I’m a total coffee addict. Can’t really form sentences or be civilized before my first morning cup.

page-break
FOUR)  If you could be any animal sidekick/actor (Streaky the Super Cat, Lassie, a Kardashian) what would you be, Bea?  (This will be the most interesting and hopefully fun interview you’ll ever do, obviously.)

Maybe I’d be an oracle-like figure. Such as a snake the lead character goes to visit in the jungle to get sage advice from. Something mystical and mysterious, lurking in the shadows.

Ironically, I’m terrified of snakes.

(At least we know Bea has layers.)

page-break
FIVE)  Let’s say you could create a CBC show just for you: What would we see on The Bea Santos Show? Drama? Comedy? Musical variety with sock puppets?

What about a Louise Cherry spin off? About her adventures as a reporter with her own column? “The Latest from Louise”? That would be a blast!

(I’m in!)

page-break

Parting is such sweet sorrow, friends, but at least it’s sweet, right? Thanks again to Bea Santos for responding to my request for an interview within minutes. Trust me, I understand that some actors are too busy to respond quickly – or at all – but Bea really is an amazing person. And so are all of you, of course.

See you in the lobby and 1904 Toronto, friends…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Bea Santos

  1. davidprosser says:

    An actress and character I’ve yet to meet but by gum I’ve warmed to her already.
    Hugs

  2. Rosemary says:

    A charming and brainy new member of the Fourth Estate. Glad to have her on board. We can use more like her! LOL

  3. Excellent Hook. Would like to see more of Bea.

  4. I hate to say it, but I could never get interested in Murdoch Mysteries, I’ve tried a few times, but alas, this Canadian show just didn’t grab me. Sorry Mr. Hook.

  5. She’s awesome! Love the interview.. and the Murdoch Mysteries totally rocks! I am looking forward to seeing past Season 4 :-/

  6. Pingback: Link: 5×5 With The Hook: Bea Santos and Daniel Maslany | TV, eh?

  7. Pingback: 10 Things You Didn't Know about Bea Santos

Leave a comment