The Hook On… Life and Death.

Let’s get one thing clear, friends: I am not a poet.

But I do have a creative engine that I utilize to rescue me from the seemingly-bottomless pit of despair I often unknowingly hurl myself into from time to time.

It’s been happening often lately; I go through my day navigating situations that would force lesser bellmen to drink (or worse, watch reality television), but in the end, I emerge victorious. Okay, maybe not victorious, but I emerge – and that’s a victory on its own. But there have been days where the weight of recent events prove to be too much, and I just want to fall to the floor and let the world go on without me.

And it turns out I’m not alone. My daughter has been feeling the weight of her grandfather’s absence in our lives recently and while I intend to respect her privacy, I will say this: as a father, I cannot articulate how proud I am of my daughter. She has been battling her way through bouts of depression that would make people three times her age crumble.

She gets it; life really is too short to waste. Death cannot be reasoned with or outwitted. You can put it off with clean, cautious living, but in the end, the end will come for you. That having been said, it is perfectly normal – healthy even – to break down from time to time.

You just have to be sure to pick yourself up and move on eventually.

And now, friends, here’s a little ditty from the recesses of my brain-box.

To every thing there is a beginning and an end.

A piercing birth cry and a final weakened breath.

They matter little.

The moments in-between?

Those moments, my friends, is where things get interesting.

Never forget to enjoy the moments in-between, for they are fleeting and priceless.

Death is forever, and therefore is worthless.

Life is finite, and therefore is priceless.

See you in the lobby, kids…

 

ONE LAST THING: Here’s my latest Pulp Nation offering. Enjoy.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Hook On… Life and Death.

  1. oceanswater says:

    Absolutely, so many of us need to remember this. For tomorrow is promised to no one! All the money in the world can’t keep you alive forever.

  2. I think we all need reminding of this stuff from time to time.

  3. kunstkitchen says:

    Thanks for the words to navigate the big question – what is life, anyway?

  4. jlheuer says:

    Means a lot to me right now. Time is short, no matter how crazy or trying it gets, I better not waste a minute.

  5. Beautiful Robert..,, few words but said a lot! I’m sorry your girl child is suffering with depression, but after what you all have experienced in recent months, perfectly understandable. I totally get it.. COMPLETELY! Been there… am there! 😦
    In my thoughts and prayers as you navigate these days of sorrow. It will get easier with time, but you will still have the hard days. Peace be with you my friend….

  6. Depression is evil and unrelenting. I hope the days look brighter for your daughter; as a mother whose own daughter suffered through depression, it is very hard and sad.

  7. stuckinscared says:

    I relate to this… the depression, and the grief (hard some days to differentiate between the two).

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  8. Doug in Oakland says:

    You sound like a very good father, Mr. Hook…

  9. curvyroads says:

    Robert, your brain box is full of good stuff. As long as we can keep saying “this too, shall pass”, we’ll be ok, right?

  10. Ink Pastries says:

    Recently I heard this funny tidbit: “The statistics on death are in. One out of one people die.” It’s not something to ignore but after I was born again, at least I wasn’t afraid to die anymore and that’s just so freeing!

  11. Anyone can rhyme, the trick is saturating the verse with universal meaning. Well done, Hook. There’s serious works sneaking out of you.

  12. Ink Pastries says:

    One out of one people die. Proven statistic. ; ) You are a poet and thanks for writing. What happens after “death” is the part I’m truly interested in. Like Solomon was, this under-the-sun stuff is getting old. Vanity!

Leave a comment