A City’s Protector Falls: Sgt. Ryan Russell was a True Hero.

There is going to be a funeral for a hero in Toronto, Ontario this week. He wasn’t the type of hero I like to read about in comics or watch on film.

He was the type of hero I would like to be.

He ran around a corner completely blind to just what was waiting for him, although he was certain that whatever it was, Death would be waiting right beside it. For a police officer, Death is a constant companion, shadowing their movements, haunting their dreams and always waiting to strike.

Sgt. Ryan Russell, 35, was slain in the line of duty on January 12, leaving behind his wife Christine and two-year-old son Nolan. The 11-year veteran, whose father was a Toronto police officer, was promoted to sergeant in August 2010 after spending about four years with the guns and gangs task force.     

 A stolen snow plow rampaged for two hours through the streets of Toronto until Sgt. Russell responded to a call from a taxi driver whose cab had been hit twice by suspect Richard Kachkar, 44, of no fixed address. When the two met, Kachkar is alleged to have driven the plow directly at the officer, who was struck and suffered massive head trauma.

A layer of winter snow fell upon his broken body as he lay bleeding on the cold streets of the city he pledged to protect. He was pronounced dead at St. Michael’s Hospital.

His funeral will be Tuesday and will be attended by hundreds of his fellow officers from all over Canada, each of whom will no doubt  feel the presence of Death waiting for them as well.   

But that won’t stop them from going back to work the next day on the streets they have pledged to protect.

That’s the difference between police officers and the rest of us; they assume each day will be their last. If their moment does arrive, they do not flee or cower as most would.

No, if their companion appears in front of them, they run to him so that others may live to walk through life for at least one more day.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A City’s Protector Falls: Sgt. Ryan Russell was a True Hero.

  1. melsar93 says:

    I cannot bring myself to click the “Like” button for this post. I work with law enforcement officers every day and they are very often unsung heroes of our cities. My heart goes out to Sgt. Russell’s family.

  2. Mike Meikle says:

    It’s stories like this that make you realize no matter what challenges you are facing, there are others who have made the ultimate sacrifice. What a tragic event.

  3. classyrose says:

    I wasn’t hesitant at all in clicking the like button. You’ve written a glowing tribute to a fallen officer and you need to know that.

    Thank you for taking the time to honour his memory.

    • melsar93 says:

      Sorry if I was confusing. The post is great, but I sometimes wonder about the meaning of “liking” a post and the subject its about. I didn’t want to like the fact that this officer has died.

      • classyrose says:

        I understand what you mean, I’ve been hesitant at times but now I always follow with the comment. I didn’t mean to imply that you were wrong, that wasn’t my intention.

  4. 4myskin says:

    Thank you for this post. The police do so much, risk so much, so we do not need to fear. My prayers are with the family and the people he worked with. The bond between police officers is especially strong.

  5. Bernie says:

    Bless his heart and those of his family. I think that sometimes people don’t realize that there are real men and women behind the badge.
    Its not until something like this happens, that they pay attention. *sigh*

  6. dtrasler says:

    Brilliantly written. My wife works with the police here in Canada. This week was their honours and awards ceremony – some incredible stories of bravery, both on and off duty, and by civilians too. There ARE heroes out there…

Leave a Reply

