Murdoch Mysteries Channels Huey Lewis. (Sort Of.)

Bear with me on this one; it’s going to take a minute but it’ll be worth it. (I hope.)

Huey Lewis and the News, those crazy 80s rock icons, once recorded a song called Back In Time, from the Back to the Future soundtrack.  Last night’s all-new Murdoch Mysteries was entitled, 21 Murdoch Street, an obvious nod to one of the first shows the Fox network ever launched in the 80s.  So brand-spanking new MM writer Natalia Guled  (a former  writer’s assistant on Orphan Black) went back in time for the title of her first Murdoch script.

Whew, that took a lot of effort but it was worth the trip, right? Now on with the show…

 

Buckle up, kiddies…

 

ONE)  The MM universe is a crowded place these days.  But that’s definitely a good thing.  George’s ultra-hot peeler honey, Nina, returned to snog him in public while dispensing a pep talk that lifted his spirits.  (In more ways than one, I bet.)  Detective Watts lingered in the station house while dispensing wisdom to John Brakenreid (sense a theme here, do you?)  And Arwen Humphreys returned as Mrs. Brackenreid to scold her husband – and most likely shag him in the back of that carriage. 

We even got to witness the further evolution of John Brackenreid as he struggled to establish his own copper identity.  Brilliant stuff from a brilliant cast.

 

TWO)  A rare appearance from brown people.  And the turn-of-the-century-but-unfortunately-timeless racism that often follows them.  The Banerjee brothers, two crafty, conniving preppy sons of diplomats, figured heavily into the mystery and their progenitors launched some interesting conversations involving the Inspector.

 

THREE)  The 21 Jump Street factor.  Little Johnny Brackenreid and Little Jonny Harris (Crabtree) went undercover at an elite boys’ school to solve a mystery.  Along the way they connected with some students, George played up his novel to his “students”, and they both learned a thing or two about themselves.  Incidentally, once again Jonny Harris ad-libbed the lion’s share of his lines and the result was gold, Murdoch, gold!

 

“Says here I’m supposed to follow the script… yeah, right.”

 

FOUR)  We even saw Detective Murdoch himself!  For a minute or two at least.   I’ve said this before but here we go again: MM has become a true ensemble and peter Mitchell and Company made that point quite clear this week.  William showed up briefly to do what he does but this episode belonged to his co-stars.  And speaking of said co-stars…

 

FIVE)  I felt bad for the bunnies, but the infertility storyline is riveting.    I can see Hélène Joy’s Julia Murdoch heading for a fall when she realizes her enthusiasm can’t rush science but watching it unfold is fascinating.  My daughter was born through IVF so I feel for the Murdochs as they struggle to conceive.  I’m also willing to bet that Julia tries this untested fertility treatment on herself soon and suffers some devastating consequences.

But that would make for some must-see TV, right?

 

Who can’t identify with Julia’s struggle, right?

 

SIX)  Why have Daniel Maslany join the cast if you’re not going to use him more, Peter Mitchell?  I’m not usually critical of the MM team but Detective Watts is being woefully underutilized.  Sure, he proved the best laugh of the ep while conducting a gruesome forensic experiment with William, but come on, people, use the man fully!

 

SEVEN)  Early century vices.  Students smoking cigars in a dimly-lit basement hideaway?  Moonshine?  Naughty French pics of forward-thinking ladies?  Oh my!

And this concludes our program for today.  A scheduling change means we get to see the tear-jerking episode, The Accident, which was originally scheduled for this week, next week.

See you in the lobby and on the CBC, friends…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Murdoch Mysteries Channels Huey Lewis. (Sort Of.)

  1. I am going to have to seek out other seasons of MM because the ones they are showing on out local station are reruns of the reruns now! 😡
    I love reading your reviews! 😉

    • The Hook says:

      MM is on Netflix now, CW!
      Check it out – and thanks!

      • Yes! I have been watching them on there. I just have to find the time and also streaming them uses major data from my internet provider so I try to catch them on T.V. School work keeps me very busy and I get tired of being in front of the computer. I spend many hours a day there as it is.. 😞

  2. dianaepona says:

    “Students smoking cigars in a dimly-lit basement hideaway? Moonshine? Naughty French pics of forward-thinking ladies? Oh my!” ROFLMAO! Sounds like my Catholic high school where the boys and girls only saw each other at lunch time. Bathrooms and nearby cemeteries turned smoky (I’m still convinced many of the ghosts seen in graveyards were nothing more than rising smoke from tobacco-crazed teens back then), and the pics will forever remain rumors. Wonderful review!!! I so look forward to these! Thank you!

  3. StillWaters says:

    I enjoyed John’s journey into his first real case. He seems to be a natural (chip off the old block?). It looks like he’ll be used a fair bit and it will be nice to see him interacting with his father.
    Re: FOUR – Yeah, was that William Murdoch I saw? Really? Where is a William-centric storyline that takes up the entire episode? That’s what I want to see.
    Re: FIVE – I wonder when Julia will get around to telling hubby about her plans.
    Re: SIX – You have a point. Perhaps they have introduced too many new characters over too short a time?
    Final thought: My, my, what a big ego you have, George Crabtree.

    Please carry on blogging, Monsieur Hook.

  4. Tara says:

    Ordering up Season 10 from Amazon today! Catching up but still woefully (yet blissfully) behind.

  5. susielindau says:

    I watched part of one episode, but if it’s your fave, I’ll give it another whirl!!

  6. Some day, remind me to tell you about a party in Las Vegas with Huey Lewis and the News. On second thought…never mind.

  7. nbratscott says:

    I finally got a chance to watch the episode tonight. The infertility part of the plot concerns me. With the questions I’ve read about Helene Joy’s future with the show, I worry that the obvious next step in the “bunny” experiment might be a cause of her exit by the end of the season. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

