5×5 With The Hook: Kate Drummond.

I respect her as an artist and a human being but I’m just going to say it anyway: Kate Drummond is a beautiful woman.

In fact, Kate Drummond is so beautiful that’s it easy to forget she’s also an actress (film, TV, video games, stage, voice-over) a producer, a former elementary school teacher with 12 years of scars experience, a stand-up comic, a public speaker with at least one TED talk under her stylish belt and to top it all off,  she is a credit to all Canadians.

And for all I know, she’s even a super-heroine in her spare time. Wait, she doesn’t have any spare time. Never mind. Let’s just all agree that Kate Drummond is one talented chick and leave it at that, shall we? And she’s here today to star in her most challenging role to date: a 5×5 on my blog.

It’s safe to say Kate’s life will never be the same…

 

Did I call it or what?  Kate’s talented, intelligent and easy on the eyes, to say the least!

You can get the in-depth skinny on Kate by visiting her website, but here are a few more bullet points. In paragraph form.

Kate has been playing video games since she was a little girl and announced at the age of eight that she wanted to be in a video game one day. I have been unable to determine if she was mocked, but 28 years later, she portrayed leading female, Anna Grimsdottir “Grim” in Splinter Cell: Blacklist, and Dr. Kandel in The Division. (Incidentally, Ubisoft owes Kate a bonus or two; she leaves it all in the studio.)  And so revenge was hers and one can only assume it tasted delicious, like ice cream mixed with the tears of her enemies.

Not content to take multiple platforms by storm, Kate  made her writing and directorial debut with a feature film called, Go Fish, which is had its first theatrical release in September of last year (it was one of the few good thing about 2016) and recently won “Best Feature” in the film festival circuit.

People always assume all Canadian actors want to “break out” and work excursively in the United States but Kate bucks that trend and works on both sides of the border. 

Kate can be seen in Hallmark’s new Flower Shop Mystery Series, starring alongside Brooke Shields, Beau Bridges and Brennan Elliot. The first movie of the series, Mum’s the Word made network history with its January premiere, as it finally featured an actress whiter than Brooke Shields.

And yes, I realize Kate Drummond is going to most likely kick my butt if we ever meet – but I just couldn’t resist.

c10zymguuaepk39Don’t look now, Brooke, but The Hook is writing about you.  Again.

 A “lover of anything SYFY” – and of being able to pay her rent –  Kate plays the character the fans love to hate, Agent Lucado, in the hit series, Wynonna Earp.  This show is unlike anything else on TV, is ridiculously-underrated and is more than worthy of your time, trust me. Love the sci-fi smash series, Dark Matter? (Who doesn’t, right?) Kate will be crossing into their universe soon as well.

And finally, on a personal note, KD recently appeared in an episode of one of my family’s favorite shows of all time, Saving Hope. This is the last season of Hope (I’m dying inside) so you know they’re going to be pulling out all the stops.

Incidentally, I’m not sure Kate minds me calling her “KD”, since it’s actually the short form of “Kraft Dinner”. Then again, Kraft Dinner is a beloved Canadian dish (just like Kate) so why would she mind, right?

All right, I’ve done enough damage; time to turn things over to KD!

ONE)  You’re ridiculously-busy and super talented in more areas than I can list here! Have you always been fearless and willing to dive into challenges or did you force yourself to be the Kate you are today?

Fearless? I don’t know that I’m fearless. I do a lot of things that
cause me a great deal of fear, actually. But I think that’s how I know
I have to do them. I really think that fear is an indication of something
great about to happen or something I need to do.

I was raised with a “bring it on” mentality. My parents were always super encouraging for me to try new things and go after what I wanted. No challenge was too big and my dad always pushed the “if you believe it, you’ll
receive it” way of thinking.

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve had an adventurous spirit. But to this day, I think the scariest decision I made, was to leave my teaching career to pursue my passion for the arts. I mean, who gives up job security like that, sells all their belongings and moves to another city for something “unknown”? I guess I do.

But no regrets.

Told you she was fearless…

TWO)  Do you miss being an elementary school teacher or is that like asking someone if they miss skinny dipping with piranha?

I miss it very much and I don’t regret a single moment of my
teaching career. It was 12 years of experience that helped shape me
to be the woman I am today. I always say that my greatest teachers
were my students.

Over the years, I taught literally hundreds of students, from all walks of life, and I was constantly inspired and learning because of them. It was such a gift to share time with these special little people. If we’re open to it, we can learn incredible lessons through the eyes of children. I also worked with amazing teachers who I’m happy are still very dear friends and a big part of
my life today.

I will say though, that writing report cards was the skinny dipping with a piranha part.

 

 

THREE)  As a bellman I find myself fascinated with travelers’ habit. Do you have any special rituals you adhere to while traveling? (Ordering the same meal in different cities. Mugging old couples. You know, standard stuff.)

What a funny question. I do actually. The very first thing I do is set
up my travel diffuser in my room and then I get a fridge. I like to keep
it stocked with snacks and my favorite foods that I normally eat at
home, because I can only take so much restaurant food.

As for mugging people, I tend to keep my crime profile on the down low.
 

(Told you she was smart.)

FOUR)  You’ve worked with the incomparable Brooke Shields; is she really the whitest woman in America as Eddie Murphy once claimed?

I don’t think so. I mean, obviously I feel a great sense of excitement
and pride when I work with any of the greats, from any country, but
ultimately, we’re all just people, doing this really fun job and trying to
tell the story as best as we can.

Brooke is an incredible person. We hit it off immediately and I think it’s because we didn’t just connect as actors, we connected as people… as friends. I feel blessed to have worked with so many incredible people, of all levels of experience in the industry, and I’ve made many great friendships.

 

FIVE)  This is an interesting time in the Canadian film/TV industry, to say the least. On one hand, the industry is stronger than ever, on the other, we’re losing brilliant shows like Saving Hope and outside forces may reduce the number of new programs coming our way; what’s it like to be in the eye of the storm as it were?

This is a tough question. Because I came to the industry later in life, I
haven’t witnessed or been as affected by the changes that have
occurred over the past decades, as some of my peers. I’m fortunate
in that the industry has been very gracious to me, as both an actress
and a writer/director.

It’s definitely a big disappointment to see really great Canadian shows, such as Saving Hope, be discontinued, and my hope is that we, as artists, will always work to raise our standards of the type of television and story telling we want to come out of our country. It’s been particularly interesting to be part of the industry at a time when there are more opportunities for females in terms of writing and directing. I am inspired to be part of the
movement that creates enriching stories that celebrates our very rich
Canadian diversity.

 

Well, did I call it or what?  Kate’s awesome beyond words, right? Okay, enough questions, let’s wrap this mutha up. My eternal gratitude to Kate Drummond for being here today and of course to all of you for doing the same.

 See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Kate Drummond.

  1. davidprosser says:

    I hope you bought leg armour ready for getting your shins kicked Robert. Kate doesn’t sound a woman who’d miss. Nice interview technique my friend.
    Hugs

  2. umashankar says:

    Sometimes I feel like the frog in the well to whom the wonders of a huge, bright (Canadian) world are whispered by a wizard who peeks in momentarily. Thanks for letting me know Kate Drummond. It helped that she is a great friend of my childhood crush, Brooke Shields.

    Your insights into Canadian broadcasting smacks of the decadence setting in everywhere.

    PS: Actually, I still have that thing for Brooke.

  3. Pingback: Link: 5×5 With The Hook: Kate Drummond | TV, eh?

  4. You did call it, Hook and you were 100% right. Terrific interview.

  5. Another great interview Robert! Well done… How do you get these awesome people to do your 5×5’s? How do you meet them?? Or do you just send them tweets and emails until they answer you just to get you to go away??? LOL!! 😉 ❤

  6. You seem to have been a little blinded by Kate her, but her answer does reveal her as both intelligent, compassionate and not at all what one would expect by a star like her. Excellent work, Robert.

  7. susielindau says:

    Nice to meet you, Kate! After looking it up, now I know what a travel diffuser is!

Leave a Reply

