Saving Hope Only Has A Few Months To Live…

…But those few months are going to be glorious.

And heart-breaking.

And gut-wrenching.

And well, you get the point, right? For millions of viewers like my daughter and myself, Saving Hope has become a part of the fabric of our lives. It’s the only medical appointment my child actually looks forward to. And the only one I don’t have to bribe her to keep.

Saving Hope is one of those shows that never received its due, in spite of its large and devoted following. (Plus, it had the greatest lense flare on TV.) The premise alone should have ensured it broke out. Sure, it followed type and blended romantic angst with medical tragedies but how many shows opened with one of the leads as a ghost for the entire first season?

Even after poor Charlie emerged from his coma he couldn’t shake his newfound destiny as a doctor to souls lost between worlds. His fiancée, Dr. Alex Reid, even got in on the spectral action at one point! The point is: Saving Hope has always forged its own path in a brilliant fashion and personally, I feel the world should have taken more notice. Hope is, and will always be one of the most innovative Canadian television programs ever produced.

And now it’s almost all over. Granted we’re only two episodes in with sixteen to go, but that inescapable feeling of finality cannot be ignored. Nevertheless, I’m not here to bellyache but rather to examine the road ahead (sort of) with an assist from those who have already made the journey.

For viewers there is a season to go but for the cast and crew of Saving Hope, season five was finished months ago. So what did they think of it? Here are some answers those folks who were bored generous enough to reply to my query for a five word response.

We’ll begin with Dr. Dawn Bell, otherwise known as the amazingly-talented and drop-dead gorgeous Michelle Nolden:

  1.  Hope.
  2.  Love.
  3.  Heartbreak.
  4.  Life.
  5.  Destiny

 

Do I answer The Hook’s question or watch that coat of paint dry? Decisions, decisions…

Those were some good – and very intriguing – words, Michelle. Next up is Canadian super scribe Patrick Tarr, who did his best, but…

https://i0.wp.com/s3.amazonaws.com/cfc.production/assets/assets/000/003/650/original/Patrick-Tarr_Website.jpg

“Honestly I could give you the exact 5 words that Adam Pettle told me when I asked him what the show was about at its core. But I’m afraid it might kinda sorta be a spoiler for what’s to come….”

At least Patrick knows how to build suspense, right?

The amazing Kim Shaw, Dr. Cassie Williams, had this to say about her last season at Hope Zion and the relationships she formed over the years with the cast and crew:

“Beautiful writing, performances and people! (Five more: I miss everyone very much!)”

And now let’s hear from Cassie’s fellow MD/sometimes love interest, the remarkable Dejan Loyola:

“Never give up your hope.”

If that isn’t the best quote to describe Saving Hope’s appeal to hardcore fans, I don’t know what is. My thanks to all of Hope’s cast and crew for subjecting themselves to my unique brand of genius.

See you in the lobby and on the halls of Hope Zion, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saving Hope Only Has A Few Months To Live…

  1. adamjasonp says:

    Two in? ION TV runs two episodes a week. And started odd. (Three in here.)

    • The Hook says:

      You lucky devil…

      • adamjasonp says:

        Noticing that I’d seen every bit of what I supposedly missed in the Friday encore, that would indicate ION is running the previous episode in the two, or only one new each week. That would mean our U.S/Canada stations are almost in sync, and that’s kind of unusual. 🙂

  2. Excellent Hook. Love the five-word responses and the fact that that is what you asked them to do.

  3. Cecilia says:

    So, I actually learned something from your post. Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

