Ten Reasons Why You MUST Watch Workin’ Moms On CBC.

Workin’ Moms is an ensemble comedy from CBC that examines the modern ideal that working mothers can have it all. It premieres January 10.

Now, I know what you’re thinking:

  1.  “What do I care about some show about Canadian chicks who go on dates for money?”
  2.  “There’s no room in my life for more TV shows, Hook!”
  3.  “Do the Moms ride dragons or fight zombies?”

First off, the show’s called Workin’ Moms… not Workin’ Girls. That show’s on HBO. And as far as your other thoughts are concerned…

ONE)  This show could save your life.  A reality TV star with the worst hairline in America and a legion of followers drawn from the lunatic fringe is in charge of the most powerful nation in the world. Kim Kardashian is back on social media. More people than ever are joining hate groups like ISIL or Avon. Your spouse still refuses to do that thing they did on your honeymoon – even on your birthday.

The world is on the edge and it’s depressing the hell out of those of us still capable of coherent thought. Now more than ever, you need laughter to keep the dark thoughts at bay. Luckily, the Workin’ Moms have your back, Jack. And Jill, of course.

So make the room, friends. Your life could depend on it.

wm_blog_tvjunkiespage-break

TWO)  There will be girl parts!  As far as I know, there won’t be any dragons or zombies but there will be four of the most beautiful women in the world coming at ya every week. And these chicks have girl parts. Girl parts rule.

Any questions?

page-break

THREE)  There’s a madwoman at the helm, so you know it won’t be boring.  Workin’ Moms was created by Catherine Reitman, a Canadian actress, comedian, producer, writer, director and prophet. (Hey, you never know, right? I mean, the chick does pretty much everything else.)

Reitman, best known for her roles in Black-ish and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia is bold, edgy and willing to do pretty much anything to get a laugh. And while that’s crazy, it’s the kind of crazy that makes great comedy.

Catherine Reitman is the kind of broad you want to have a beer with before taking home to commit acts that are still considered illegal in Tijuana.

Yes, I am a romantic, thank you for noticing.

workingmomscatShe looks overjoyed to be on my blog, right?

page-break

FOUR)  I mentioned the girl parts, right?  Because they’re vital to the success of any endeavor.

page-breakFIVE)  Dani Kind is a Workin’ Mom.  According to the CBC media gang: “Toronto based actress Dani Kind stars as Jillian Knight alongside Brooke Shields and Beau Bridges in the Hallmark movie Dearly Depotted, and played Grace in the Hallmark film On The Twelfth Day Of Christmas. Kind recently starred opposite David Ferry in The River, directed by Ted Dykstra and can also be seen as Sarah in Hallmark’s hit series The Good Witch. Selected television credits include AMC’s The Divide, CTV’s Saving Hope, and Global’s Remedy.”

According to me, she rocks because she was cool enough to appear on my 5×5 series – all I had to do was promise her a kidney in the future. Fortunately, I know a guy…

workinmoms45sec_v2

 

Uh, I’m on The Hook’s blog again?

page-break

SIX)  The stories are ripped from the pages of all our lives.  Sexual misadventures. Impossible familial demands. Beating that clock. Workin’ Moms is all about my life, your life and everything in-between. So while there aren’t any dragons or zombies or robotic western gunslingers, the storylines will make you pee yourself with laughter and say, “Hey, that happened to me!” and “Hey, I need to change!”

page-break

SEVEN)  Jessalyn Wanlim is also a Workin’ Mom.  Another graduate of The Hook’s 5×5 series, Wanlim hails from Calgary, Alberta and cut her acting teeth on  Gossip Girl and All My Children. An incident I’m forbidden by law to disclose (Oh that Hook!) forced Jessalyn to move to the City of Angels where her television and film credits grew to include The Closer, Modern Family, Bad Teacher, Matador, CSI:NY, Bones, Scoundrels, Alex Cross opposite Tyler Perry, and In My Dreams opposite Katharine McPhee, among others. In 2016 Wanlim played Evie Cho in a season-long arc on BBC America’s hit drama Orphan Black opposite Tatiana Maslany.

Plus, she has that mysterious, sultry, exotic look goin’ on, which always helps.

622faecb0cf5de2f338825b93244dfcfShe’s talented as hell- but equally beautiful.

page-break

EIGHT)  Juno Rinaldi is the fourth Workin’ Mom.  She hasn’t had a 5×5 – and most likely never will – but Juno rocks all the same. She’s been performing since the age of six and has appeared in such television productions as Degrassi: The Next Generation, The Killing, Arrow, Supernatural, Fringe, Robson Arms, These Arms of Mine and Psych. Her feature film credits include Life, Jennifer’s Body, The Tooth Fairy, and The Linda McCartney Story.

Rinaldi is currently set to release Elbow Grease, four webisodes she co-wrote and starred in. Not too shabby, right?

wm_cast_junorinaldipage-break

NINE)  It’s funny as hell!  I wasn’t kidding about the pants peeing thing. Workin’ Moms is a gut-buster of a show. The cast brings more girl power than The Rockettes (but with better legs). The premise is grounded in all-too-real-reality and everyone on the Workin’ Moms cast and crew is 100% committed to making you forget your troubles for a little while.

page-break

TEN)  This is the show CBC should have aired ten years ago.  Workin’ Moms is fearless television. Period. It goes places that Canada’s network should have been exploring a long time ago. Edgy is the name of the TV game these days and this show should help raise the CBC’s fortunes and insulate them from their legion of critics.

CBC is Canada’s network and Workin’ Moms showcases the country’s best and brightest talents working toward a common goal: making you laugh while enlightening you simultaneously.

 And on a personal note, this show gives me hope that The Bellman Chronicles may someday find a place onto CBC’s schedule. But then I remember I’m me and I wise up pretty fast.

page-break

See you in the lobby and on the CBC, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ten Reasons Why You MUST Watch Workin’ Moms On CBC.

  1. davidprosser says:

    Here’s hoping it appears on this side of he Pond eventually.
    Hugs

  2. Run me a cable to Niagra, Hook. Loved the trailer.

  3. Now this, is something I’ve gotta see. But how, is the question? Maybe they’ll have it on something online where we United Statesians can buy it, or rent episodes. I’ll keep an eye out. I’m only about 45 miles from the Canadian border. Maybe I can figure out some sort of antenna that would bring it in, if I can get high enough up in the air. (There is a small mountain quite near us, to the north).

  4. susielindau says:

    I’m not interested in girl parts, but if the show airs in the US, I’ll check it out!

  5. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    You made a nice comment (and I agree witty) on Austin’s birthday post, so I wanted to come over and say hi. I’m a friend of Austin’s too.
    In response to what you wrote, I almost became an entertainment blogger but now I blog about blogging tips. Maybe you can check out my blog. I just wrote about the blog promotion site called Scoop.It http://www.mostlyblogging.com/scoop-it/
    How weird, we are writing each other at the same time– cool!
    Janice

  6. Kevin says:

    Thanks for trying to keep me out of the depths of despair (mostly because of the Big Cheeto as our president).

    • The Hook says:

      He’s a character, that’s for sure…

    • You mean McDonald? hmmm – Big Cheeto might be even more apt. And I’m with you in that despair pit. Here’s something funny – our new first lady will be the polar opposite of classy Michelle Obama. (Yeah, I’m laughing in disbelief through tears of horror.) Just ran across a bunch of memes on the All Things Chronic blog [painkills2 dot wordpress dot com] and one went something sorta’ like this: “For the next four years my safe place will be the library. They’ll never look there.”
      xx,
      mgh
      (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
      – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
      “It takes a village to transform a world!”

  7. We need this in the states! It looks awesome!
    And the video underneath #4….yeah, well, I may have had one or more experiences like that. Fortunately, it was so long ago when my babes were little that I didn’t even own a cell phone 🙂

Leave a Reply

