365 Wishes For My Country In 2017.

This new year of 365 days, collectively referred to as 2017, is my home and native land’s 150th birthday.

I know, right? Canada doesn’t look a day over 80. Must be all the cardio and apologizing.  Nevertheless, here are a few things I would like to see happen in the North side of North America over the next twelve months.

canada_150_logo

THREE-HUNDRED AND SIXTY-FIVE)  Fewer selfies from Justin.  Don’t get me wrong, as a Grade-A Canadian smartass myself, I think Prime Minister Trudeau Mark Two isn’t doing a bad job overall. Of course, he has put the country in the hole to the tune of three billion and change. But you have to spend money – alot of it – to make money, apparently.

I just wish he would sharpen his political focus instead of his phone’s. I agree that Canada needs to polish it’s world image (we’re viewed as the nice old uncle in the sweater vest you ignore at reunions) and social media has become a tool whose awesome power cannot be ignored, but a balance needs to be struck. It won’t be long before America’s new “leader” comes calling, either on our soil or another, and Heaven help us if we look weak or vain.

(Insert irony here.)

page-break

THREE-HUNDRED AND SIXTY-FOUR)  Perspective and strength for those who need it most.  I’ve lost two colleagues in six months to despair. This. Just. Isn’t. Right.

We can’t always see the signs of clinical depression. We can’t always know just how close someone is to the edge. So why take chances? If we listen a little more, if we spend the next year being just a little bit nicer to one another, who knows what the result could be?

page-break

THREE-HUNDRED AND SIXTY-THREE)  An end to the “Canada is a frozen wasteland” theory.  I accept that some of you may have never had the privilege of venturing beyond your borders and discovering new lands… but come on, my Yankee friends! Take a nanosecond break from the cat videos and type “Is Canada a frozen wasteland?” into Google!

article-0-1c036de400000578-687_964x659

 

No, this isn’t Niagara Falls in July…

page-break

THREE-HUNDRED AND SIXTY-TWO)  A pass from the Celebrity Grim Reaper.  It appears that 2016 was the Year of the Star Killer. Granted, most of the stars were American but we lost Leonard Cohen, man! Sure, he wasn’t exactly a cheerful soul to say the least, but true prophets rarely are. I just hope Heaven appreciates his genius.

page-break

THREE-HUNDRED AND SIXTY-ONE THROUGH ELEVEN)  Economic prosperity for all Canadians.  The divide between rich and poor has never been more visible. The nation’s broadcaster, my beloved CBC, is in under attack from multiple forces intent on slashing its funding as though the network is a child on an allowance rather than a vital source of Canadian content and cultural identity.

We have far too many people on social assistance – even though 70% of those people seem to always have money for Tim Hortons coffee while their kids are forced to wear sacks of flour for pants.

Too much? 

Never before (in my lifetime at least) have so many had to do so much with so little. And there appears to be no proof the PM’s spending spree is going to pay off. In my opinion this situation warrants the lion’s share of my wishes and so I shall happily donate them. It really is too bad Canadians aren’t eligible for sainthood, isn’t it?

cash-money-animated-gif-16

page-breakTEN)  Chocolate eclairs on the menu at every Timmies!  I know I’m not the only Canuck that loves choco eclairs, but sadly, finding one at a Tim Hortons (even though they’re on the menu) is a challenge, to say the least. In fact, you’d have an easier time finding a coherent thought in President-elect Trump’s consciousness than an eclair at Timmies. 

Hey, they can’t all be “Save The Planet” wishes…

page-break

NINE)  Respect and equality for Canada’s film and TV production companies.  The CRTC is under fire from Canadian short-sighted politicians and regulators who simply refuse to grasp the stakes. Take away Canada’s ability to share its cultures through the voices of its people and the country itself will vanish. Period.

Yes, I am as surprised by this demonstration of emotional depth as you are. I’m sure it will pass eventually.

page-break

EIGHT)  A stronger Canadian adult film industry.  Where are our Canuck adult super stars? Where’s our Kenna James or Mercedes Carrera? We need our national identity represented in all corners of the pop culture arena. And we need it now!

imagesBut why can’t we move to Canada?

And there you go. I’m back…

page-break

SEVEN)  A legal system with actual teeth.  In Canada, you can abuse the living hell out animals and walk away with barely a slap on the wrist. You can sexually assault another citizen and if you’re female victim, a judge will tell you to try “keeping your knees together.” (This actually happened in a Canadian courtroom 2016.) You can pretty much get away with murder in this country.

This needs to stop. Yesterday.

page-break

SIX)  Cellphone curfews.  Take a walk around any major Canadian metropolis and you’ll see them: “Cell Zombies”. Some are sexting, others are tweeting or checking stock quotes; but all of them are in serious danger of walking into a bus. Or my luggage cart. (Especially since I stopped moving for them years ago. I just let the collision happen now.)

Kids are especially prone to catching the Cell Virus. They’re literally clicking their lives away; half of them don’t even know what grass actually feels like. Limits have to be established- STAT! We should start a website or something…

page-break

FIVE)  A public declaration of Superman’s true heritage.  This should’ve happened decades ago. He’s Canadian, gosh darn it!

giphyFor the record, those are Timbits…

By the way, my apologies for the salty language. I get carried away.

page-break

FOUR)  A friend for every man, woman and animal that wants one.  Loneliness sucks. Friendship lifts our spirits and can sometimes mean the difference between life and death. It sounds corny as hell but the most heroic thing you can do is be the wind beneath someone’s wings. It sure beat the hell out of being the wind in front of them…

page-break

THREE)  Parental figures for every child.  Blood, or for that matter, other bodily fluids, do not make a true parent. As a bellman of twenty years I’ve seen more deadbeat Moms and Dads than I care to remember. Being a father is the greatest gift – and responsibility – I’ve ever been blessed with. If only everyone felt that way. And yes, I screw up more than I succeed but luckily for me, the effort is what counts.

page-break

TWO)  A breakthrough in my writing career.  Hey, it’s my list; I’m entitled to wish for a publishing deal! Besides, I think this country needs my special brand of smartassery now more than ever, don’t you?

bookcoverimageI promise to do a better job the second time around…

page-break

ONE)  A stronger, greener Canada for everyone.  Xenophobia isn’t simply an American problem at the moment, sadly. We need to remember that Canada is the great global melting pot. And while this country’s air is cleaner than most, it has a long way to go. The time to choose life over feeding the industrial machine has long since passed, people. The clock is ticking… but for how much longer?

And on that uplifting note, I am out of here. Happy new year, everyone.

page-break

See you in the lobby, kids…

cropped-photo.jpg

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 365 Wishes For My Country In 2017.

  1. Quite a plate full of wishes, Hook. I think it is terrific ant of the 356 only one was for you. That’s the kind of guy you are. I hope you get a publishing deal in 2017. (Be real careful what you wish for though.)

  2. oceanswater says:

    My goal is to come to Canada one of these days… what is the one place and time of the year you suggest? btw, I’m not a snow bunny… I look for Summer weather. 🙂

    • The Hook says:

      June, before the crowds really start to mass around the city.
      You should be happy with the weather.
      (Though I can’t guarantee anything.)

      • oceanswater says:

        Thanks so much! My sister went to Toronto several years ago, but I have missed it, going to Europe and South America, I’ll talk to you about places to go as I plan my trip… 🙂

  3. Happy new year, Mr. Hook! 🙂

  4. jlheuer says:

    Gee I thought we had problems over here south of your border…oh yes, we do, we’ve got The Donald and he is going to get us all killed.

  5. Great list! I love 4, 3 & 2 the best. If I have to pack my bags and head north after the Big D takes over, at least I know I’ll have one friend in Canada.

  6. And yet, I did not see have coffee with AlwaysARedhead, alas, what shall I do? Stunning picture of snow and ice!

  7. Allie P. says:

    Excellent wishes except for Superman. Sure his ship might have touched down first in Canada but then it bounced.

  8. All good goals Robert.. I have a few for my country too, but not enough time, space or patience to write them all down. Let alone anyone who would want to read them all! I didn’t realize Superman was from Canada, but that makes SOOOO much sense! LOL! Happy New Year my friend! 😀

  9. Mark Myers says:

    A good list, Robert. With Canada being a frozen wasteland, perhaps polar bear documentaries could revitalize the film industry. All they need is a good screenwriter.

    • The Hook says:

      Well, it won’t be me, Mark.
      I’m having a heckuva time switching direction from hotel stories to celebrity interviews. (Media outlets refuse to accept me as “legit” and many celebrities just ignore me all-together.)
      Sorry for complaining, I know things could be far worse. I just find venting helps.
      Happy 2017!

  10. You had me at chocolate eclairs. Too delicious! Actually the frozen falls photo is stunning as well. Happy 150 to Canada! And may all your wishes come true.

  11. Rosemary says:

    Oh, Canada! My Canada! Hubby has been teaching my the lyrics. He is intent on moving. I’ve heard so much about T. Horton’s I think I’ve actually been there, and slept through it. Congratulations to Canada on her 150th birthday! Great list, and I sincerely hope you get your fondest wish for 2017.

  12. Doug in Oakland says:

    Concerning #9, do you know if videoFACT is still around? They underwrote some really good music videos back in the day…

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MuchFACT

  13. Jonny Eberle says:

    Love it. Happy New Year to you, my northern friend.

  14. Long live, Kevin Smith, sir!

  15. Okay – I’ve clicked to read a few posts and I must admit I’m Hooked! I could barely finish the article after number SIX, I was so eager to follow. Great blog.

    (btw – if you ever find out what’s up with Trumpet’s hair, be sure to let the Americans know too – the half of us who didn’t vote him in are too afraid to stick our heads up to ask, in case some dubious genius on his 1% Team thinks we look like somebody on his hit list – none of us wants our face to go viral in McDonald’s finger-pointing tweet-o-sphere).
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

  16. curvyroads says:

    Happy New Year Robert! Is it wrong to feel slightly better that our fair Northern friends have a problem or two when contemplating our US future with a narcissistic orange buffoon at the helm?

Leave a Reply

