5×5 With The Hook: Dani Kind.

Dani Kind is a workin’ mom.

Literally.

g1jeinulNot only is she actually a creator of little humans, she is a vital and integral part of the CBC’s upcoming edgy and innovative comedy series, Workin’ Moms.

Anyone want to guess the premise?

I kid, of course, but that’s only because I’m a bit of jerk. Workin’ Moms actually looks like a winner. Dani plays Anne, a no-nonsense therapist who bonds with three other moms in a judgmental mommies’ group. The series follows the unlikely friendship of these four moms as they struggle with life, the universe and everything. In other words, postpartum depression, bringing a sex life back to life after kids, and a million other challenges moms face every day. Oh, and there’s zombies too.

A guy can dream, right?

As for Dani Kind, Fate has been kind to this actress. Now in her second decade as a professional pretender, Dani has paid her dues, appearing in TV movies, short films and series like Saving Hope, Four in the Morning with our buddy Daniel Maslany and the Season Five episode of Murdoch Mysteries, War on Terror. 

Every actor strives to land THE ROLE, the one part that makes them feel as though they’ve achieved something worthwhile in their career. Dani should be proud of all the work she’s done so far but Workin’ Moms looks like her payday. The only way this show could be better is if they wrote a role for the world’s most outspoken bellman.

Told you I was a jerk.

wm_d4_ep103_kw_0079Dani and her fellow Workin’ Moms. They all look so happy to be on the blog, don’t they?

But seriously, as a writing hack who could only set CBC executives on fire with a book of matches, I’m envious of Dani’s current position. As for who Dani Kind actually is, well, I can’t claim to have explored the depths of her soul (I’m a blogging bellman not Freud) but here’s what I’ve gathered so far:

  •  Dani is a gifted, underrated actress.
  •  Dani is a gifted, underrated actress who loves her coffee. Take that from her and she’ll cut you – verbally. (She’s been known to cuss like a sailor on shore leave.)
  •  Dani treats her body like a temple; people often make this claim but she walks the walk – all the way to the health food stores.
  •  Dani is a fox. (Hey, I’m happily married guy… but I’m not blind.)

She is not only an actress, she’s a producer and a teacher and she’s fully capable of speaking for herself, so here we go…

ONE)  Do you like to wear scarves? (And not just the woolly kind all Canadians are used to donning.)

I do. I’ve been known to wrap myself in blanket sized scarves.

page-break

TWO)  Will Workin’ Moms push the edge of the CBC’s creative envelope?

I think so yes. It’s one of the things I’m most excited about with the show. It’s edgy in a truthful way. The writers were deeply honest with the storylines they gave our characters.

ctucwjixyaeuqrvBehind-the-scenes on the Workin’ Moms set. Anyone else think CBC has a union issue on their hands?

page-break

THREE)  My teenage daughter is a HUGE Saving Hope fan (she’s heartbroken the series is ending). You appeared in a single episode but do you have any behind-the-scenes tales you can share without incurring the wrath of Erica Durance? (I hear she’s a hair puller.)

Unfortunately I didn’t have any scenes with her. We only met at the table read and she was very lovely.

(Dani is a master of diplomacy, isn’t she?)

page-break

FOUR)  You’ve survive and thrived in a field that chews people up and spits them out with ferocious frequency; if you would be so you, Dani, (see what I did there?) please encapsulate the secret of your success.

Clever sir, very clever. I have been very lucky to have found myself an incredibly supportive partner. He has faith in me in hardest of times with this industry. I also do very well with negativity, it seems to drive me more than praise for some reason. Tell me I can’t do something and I’m off and running.

mv5bmty3mdgxnjq5ml5bml5banbnxkftztgwnja3otk3nje-_v1_uy317_cr1310214317_al_

FIVE)  Will Workin’ Moms give us all a deeper appreciation/understanding of matriarchs or is the series just good, naughty (Canadian naughty) fun?

I think the women on this show all can offer up a life we can all see in ourselves, men and women. There aren’t too many shows starring men that most women can’t relate to on some level, it’s been written that way for so many years… yes they are women, yes they are moms but they are hilarious, messed up, tough, dark, beautiful people.

I hope this show strikes people.

Workin’ Moms airs Jan 10th on CBC!

page-break

Ever the masterful actress on all levels, Dani even plugs her show as she talks about herself. I can’t thank her enough for being here today. And so I won’t.

Again, I’m a bit of a jerk.

See you in the lobby and on the CBC, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Dani Kind.

  1. davidprosser says:

    Another one of your bonnie wee lassies eh Hook. Are you deliberately trying to get my BP through the roof? Have you anyone nearer my own age, my own century even you could interview where I don’t need to call the nurse?
    Nicely crafted though, I must give you that now the oxygen is kicking in.
    Hugs

  2. Enjoyed the interview and the photos. (Dani of course)

  3. tunisiajolyn84 says:

    Love! By the way, I am going to start asking question #1 whenever I meet someone. Best. question. ever.

  4. Katerina says:

    So Erica Durance is a hair puller? Sounds new to me

    • The Hook says:

      It was a joke!
      My dry Canadian-tinged-with-British humor isn’t for everyone it seems…

      Erica Durance is a lovely girl, by all accounts.

      • Katerina says:

        Yeah, I’ve got it. It’s just curiosity about smoke and fire.
        I’ve wanted to use my dry joke, but were afraid you’ll get it wrong ))

Leave a Reply

