The Hook On… Aging.

This is how I do a “Thought Of The Day” post, kids, so buckle up…

Castro’s revolution is finally over. Leonard has sang Hallelujah for the last time. The United States of America clearly hates itself and so it has elected a reality TV star to the highest office in the land.

The world keeps on spinning, but these days it feels like it’s about to pop right off its axis. What the hell happened to the world I grew up in? Where are those good old-fashioned values on which the cast of Family Guy used to rely? Why won’t those damn kids – and squirrels – stay the hell off my lawn?

This morning, as I opened the front door to head out to work (after my still-groggy wife refused to give me a reason to be late, I might add) a squirrel peered at me through the screen door, his furry form perched on my porch gate. My reaction was, well…

“I suppose you want a cookie, you furry freeloader! Well, if I can’t get laid, you don’t get a cookie! Get a job!”

Am I having a mid-life crisis? I’m a North American white male in his Forties… of course I’m having a mid-life crisis! What else am I supposed to do… lead a healthy, productive life?

Where’s the fun in that?

Then again, I don’t intend to go off the rails and get a mistress. (“Who’d have you? And if they do… good riddance!”, the wife always says when I raise that possibility.) I won’t spend hard-earned cash on a fast car that the potholed-lined streets of Niagara Falls will tear up in a week anyway.  I think I’ll just write snarky posts and tweets.

Come to think of it, this whole mid-life crisis thing sounds like a lot of work….

Never mind.

(And yes, in the future I may leave this sort of thing to Shantelle Bisson, thank you very much.)

See you around, kids…

BDjy8-Yeah, I’m not cut out for this sort of thing…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Hook On… Aging.

  1. Not like you to sit on the fence. What do you really think?
    By the way, the best bit of TFF being prez elect is the flurry of memes with Joe Biden sticking it to him

  2. renxkyoko says:

    I just want to be in Canada now. The thought of Trump and his wife living in the White House makes me really, really sick.

  3. umashankar says:

    I see middle age is doing a trumpery on the hook. But I trust you can still sell your stuff to the readers. Never you bother: Trump’s in his White House. All is right with the United States of America.

  4. It (Midlife crisis) is a lotta work, Hook. Better to find a hobby.

  5. So….will you be renting a spare bedroom for say 4 years or so? I’m all up for that Hook.
    I laughed out loud at the thought of a MLC being too much work. That is funny!

  6. You sound just like a grumpy “old” man! ha ha! Freeloader? *snort* Hadn’t heard THAT one in a while. I’m still in my mid-life crisis. I think it started in my 30s LOL! I’ll let ya know when it’s over!

    (yes I am in a cheeky mood) 😛

  7. The US had a movie star guy as prez – and survived. The sun goes up and down. The hysteria is now boring.
    Snarky posts and tweets sound perfectly reasonable – who else has the skills and experience to do banner banter besides The Hook?

  8. Purpleanais says:

    Hahaha love this!! The mid-life crisis thing is definitely work: those snarky posts and tweets don’t write themselves, do they?…but sometimes they do, for me anyway 😉

Leave a Reply

