5×5 With The Hook: Simon McNabb

Writers are a cowardly and superstitious lot.

Wait, that’s criminals…

What are writers again? Besides perpetually broke?

Now I remember. Writers are the special breed of dreamers who reach into the ether we mere mortals cannot access, and they pluck forth dreams we could never dream and they make them whole so that we may weep at their beauty and majesty.

And yes, I just made today’s guest, Murdoch Mysteries scribe Simon McNabb, sound like a Canadian Will Shakespeare, but I dare you tell me otherwise. The man’s damn talented as far as I’m concerned and that’s all I have to say about that.

latestYou can get his full professional bio here, but among the MM episodes Simon has scribbled are:

Simon’s also done his part to further Murdoch’s fortunes as Executive Story Editor (12 episodes, 2015 – 2016) and Story Editor (2013 – 2014) as well as Co-Producer. I think he even provides baked goods for the crew once a week.

I hear his macadamia nut clusters are to die for.

As for other bits ‘n bites of info concerning Mr. McNabb, he was created and aged (much like a fine wine) in Vancouver, he holds a Master’s degree in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California (until his hands get tired and then he hangs it back on the wall). He returned to Canada in 2010 (and not at the insistence of the American government) to complete both the NSI’s Totally Television program and the CFC’s Prime Time TV Program. 

The truth of the matter at hand is this: even if Murdoch Mysteries wasn’t my favorite show I’d be envious of Simon McNabb. He. Gets. Paid. To. Write. For. A. Living. 

I would pay someone to pay me to write for a living.

Yes, my parents had me tested but I am not at liberty to discuss the results…

I think we’ve reached a natural transition point, don’t you? If I continue I risk Simon blocking me on Twitter and that list is long enough as it is.

So here we go!

ONE)  Are there any characters you’d love to revisit in the Murdochverse? Like Dr. Roberts the Popsicle MD, for instance? (My daughter is still ticked at his fate and longs for an update.)

Great question. You never want to bring a character back unless you can do something that ‘tops’ what they did last time. With someone like Dr. Roberts, I’m not sure we’ll ever find a better ending for him… though you never know.

I really can’t list all the past characters I’d like to revisit (there are too many), but here’s a small sampling: Roger Newsome (Eps 718, 805, 911), his brother Rodney Newsome (referenced in 718, not seen on screen), and their father Royal Newsome (who I just made up right now).

8fce1ebff96c6d7867fda0199cec17aeSeriously? They’re never bringing me back? Someone get me this McNabb chap’s home address…

page-break

TWO)  Which films/TV shows do you wish you had written?

Seasons 1-6 of Murdoch Mysteries.

(Right to the point. I like that.)

page-break

THREE)  Rock stars seem to want to be actors and vice versa; is it that way with TV writers? Do you ever wish you could be on the other side of the lens?

Since grade six I’ve been working tirelessly to ensure no one ever looks at me.

(You too?)

cttupl1waaa8gzf

Simon and the usual Murdoch Mysteries suspects…

page-break

FOUR)  As Canadians we have a love/hate relationship with the seasons. Do you enjoy a long cold winter, or are you like me and wish global warming would hit Canada yesterday?

I’m from Vancouver, we don’t have winters. My only relationship with the cold is remaining indoors.

page-break

FIVE)  Now that William’s going to be a homeowner how about you give him and Julia a dog? I know a certain Shih Tzu who would be great as the first of it’s regal breed to be imported to Canada…  (The wife and daughter would’ve killed me if I hadn’t included this question.)

If the Shih Tzu can solve crimes, she’s in.

CbHkR17WEAQ-460

“Someone get me an agent, I’m moving to Toronto!”

page-break

That’s all for today, friends. You don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here. I want to thank Simon McNabb for elevating my little blog to greatness, and of course, thank you to all of you for being my cyber pals.

See you in the lobby and on the CBC, kids…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Simon McNabb

  1. This one was terrific. I loved the answer to the other side of the lens question. Gook luck with the dog agent.

  2. curvyroads says:

    Since my only view of Murdoch is via your wonderful insights, I have mostly been reading, learning, and quietly liking your posts. But I did want to add that you are still making me snicker. And as an American, post-apocalypse, that is worth millions. 😉

  3. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that you, perhaps, like this Murdoch Mysteries show.

Leave a Reply

