5×5 With Hook: Lachlan Murdoch.

HIGGINS!” – Inspector Thomas Brackenreid of Station House Four.

That’s what most of us hear before we see Constable Henry Higgins appear onscreen on any given episode of Murdoch Mysteries. And once he’s standing before us, cheeky grin at full attention?

Well then, you know the fun’s about to start, kids. As far as comic foils are concerned, Higgins is absolutely brilliant. He means well but he can’t help but make a bad situation worse. And we love him for it. The same can be said of Higgins’ “other half”, Lachlan Murdoch. That is to say, we love the guy, not the part where he makes a bad situation worse…

Okay, that went off the rails. It happens. Moving on…

Ten seasons ago, back before the first episode of Murdoch Mysteries was ever filmed, Lachlan auditioned for the role of Constable George Crabtree but Jonny Harris brought pie for the producers and so history was forever altered. (These really are all about politics.) Luckily, the MM producing team decided to create the role of Higgins especially for Lachlan.

Unfortunately, they didn’t get to Lachlan before he keyed, “I AM CRABTREE!” into Jonny’s car in the studio parking lot. (As always, have that grain of salt at the ready, folks.)

Still, what does it say about an actor when he loses the role but wins over the producers so much they tailor-make a role just for him?

Personally, I would’ve cast the guy named Mudoch as Murdoch but I honestly can’t see anyone else as Higgins. Oh, and Yannick Bisson is pretty good as the lead, I suppose. The truth is, supporting characters are just that, the support that keeps the entire structure of a television program together.

Higgins is an everyman. Higgins is your little brother (in fact, Lachlan actually is a little brother) constantly getting into hilarious messes and predicaments. Higgins is the guy at work with the heart of gold – and the knack for messing up royally. While entertaining the entire office at the same time, of course.

In short, Higgins is awesome. Lachlan Murdoch should be proud of the acting legacy he’s already created. Not that his career is about to end or anything, I just think it’s worth noting that an actor’s ultimate goal – in my humble opinion – should be to give life to at least one role that will stand the test of time. Lachlan has done just that with Henry Higgins.

As for the man himself, well to be honest, Lachlan’s past is shrouded in mystery. The Canadian Spy Agency, B.E.A.V.E.R. (The Americans had already claimed S.H.I.E.L.D.) insists their agents scrub their past pretty clean upon retirement.

What’s that? You don’t believe in B.E.A.V.E.R.? That’s your choice I suppose. It’s for the best, actually. A super secret spy agency can’t exactly be super secret if people believe it exists, can it? At any rate, here are the few facts I’ve been able to dig up after an exhaustive (longest five minutes of my life) interweb search of Lachlan Murdoch.

  1.  After nine months of indecision, baby Lachlan finally decided to enter the real world on February 16, 1986 in Vancouver, British Columbia.
  2.  Lachlan’s sister and father have also been afflicted with the acting bug.
  3.  He was in The Santa Clause as the “Kid At Soccer Field”. (He rocked that scene hard.)
  4. He was in two episodes of The X-Files as an extra – and Gillian Anderson’s stunt double.
  5.  You can get Lachlan’s full acting bio by clicking here. (I can’t do everything around here.)

Okay, I think I’ve established Lachlan’s magnificence. Now we can move onto the Q and A portion of today’s program.

3ec29f816624365dde133f992c5f56eb“I’m going to be on The Hook’s blog? That’s all you could get me? I’m on CBC’s highest-rated show,  for Pete’s sake!”

page-break

ONE)  You  just took the plunge and started an account on Twitter. (Ironically, a company under siege both within and out. Timing is everything.)  What’s the best part of social media in your opinion?

I’m a fairly private person, but the ability to reach out and connect with people whom you might never otherwise be able to is a very inspiring concept.

page-break

TWO)  If you could be any form of dwelling (igloo, tiny house, etc.) what would you be?

I would be a detached home in Toronto. On any given day I’d feel like a million bucks.

(It’s funny because it’s true, sadly.)

page-break

THREE)  Please finish this sentence: The best part of being a Canadian actor on the CBC is…

…the guarantee that your work will reach many people. A public broadcaster is an essential thing for a country like Canada. I’m proud to be a part of that.

cbc-logo-bacon

page-break

FOUR)  Much like Henry Higgins, you seem to be a genuine jester at heart; is that the real Lachlan Murdoch or are you a quiet, withdrawn soul at heart? (I’m guessing no.)

I love to hang out and joke around with my cast mates and crew, but I do take work fairly seriously. Around my friends and family however, it can definitely get a little loud.

murdoch“Who is this Hook character, Higgins? I’m not sure I like the cut of his jib…”

page-break

FIVE)  An actor’s life can be consumed by terribly long hours in treacherous conditions. How do you decompress? (Underwater basket weaving? Teaching homeless dogs how to read?)

I’m up for just about anything physical, but I’m not the best “team player” when it comes to sports. I’m very competitive. I adore snowboarding and I’m a little bit obsessed with tennis, but if I’m at home I love to play music or read.

page-break

I’d be a fool to try to top that, right? Not that I haven’t been a fool before; it’s one of the things I excel at, truth be told. All right, this going astray again…

My thanks to Lachlan for virtually being here today. He’s the real deal, folks. And of course, my thanks to all of you for spending some time on my little blog. Enjoy the rest of your Murdoch Monday.

See you in the lobby, kids…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5×5 With Hook: Lachlan Murdoch.

  1. Kayjai says:

    I’m a Murdoch Mysteries fan, so I appreciate Henry Higgins for what he is…I do adore Crabtree, though. A Newfoundlander and all…

  2. Super interview and background information. I had to laugh out loud at the salt reference. Nice job.

  3. Pingback: Link: 5×5 With Hook: Lachlan Murdoch | TV, eh?

Leave a Reply

