Murdoch Monday – On a Tuesday.

Life is all about balance.

And perspective. And control… Okay, so life is actually about many things. But right now, though, I’m going to concentrate on balance, all right?

“Great Balls of Fire: Part Two”, the second episode of Murdoch Mysteries’ tenth season was all about balance.

Lives in peril. Lives destroyed. Mystery and murder most foul. (Naturally.) Romance. Intrigue. Sex. (Only a little though; this is still CBC after all.) Turn-of-the-century police work. Archival footage of an actual tragedy. Action. Humor. In another production team’s collective hands these wildly-varying factors could have spelled disaster when mixed, but the MM team is no common television production team.

This episode was a textbook case of a group of individuals, actors and behind-the-scenes professionals specifically, working together for a common goal. Namely, to produce an hour of TV that took its viewers on a ride through the gamut of human emotions. In this regard they excelled to say the least.

Anyone who has ever read this blog knows I love lists, right? They go down smooth and they allow readers to digest information quickly thus eliminating the possibility of mental constipation.

They don’t make Pepto for your brain, kids. cu-8ziiwaaaehmw

Here now are ten reasons why “Great Balls of Fire: Part Two” was so enjoyable. If you haven’t watched the episode you can click away now. Don’t say you weren’t warned…

break

ONE)  Dr. Julia Ogden in mortal peril. Julia is no mere damsel-in-distress, to say the least, but still, it’s nice to be reminded that she’s one-half of one of the greatest television couples of all time. Seeing her imperiled from time to time reminds us why we love seeing her and William together in the first place; they personify destiny at its finest.

And Julia’s moral quandary was just the icing on a delicious TV cake. Just sayin’…

break

TWO)  Archival footage of The Great Fire of Toronto of 1904. Seeing history mixed expertly with new footage was both thrilling and heartbreaking. It allowed viewers – especially new ones – to establish an emotional connection to the episode. And that, kids, is television at its most powerful.

break

THREE)  Constable Higgins mental anguish. I’m not especially fond of seeing human beings – even fictional ones – suffering but seeing Henry Higgins ponder his possible role in an event that changed his city forever was a nice change of pace from the character’s usual role of comic relief. We saw henry as a real person for once and that was nice.

break

FOUR)  A truly clever mystery. I don’t know about you, my fellow Murdochians, but I really had no idea who the murderer was and that was refreshing.

And speaking of murder…

break

FIVE)  When a debutante was seized from behind, her throat slashed, her blood spilled across a Toronto street in the dead of night (literally) my first thought was, “Are we looking at Jack the Ripper reborn on Murdoch Mysteries?” The fact that it occurred right before the commercial break heightened the suspense and left me temporarily breathless. Thankfully, I came to before the show resumed…

imagesOh look, Julia, The Hook’s writing about us again. How delightful…

break

 SIX)  George Crabtree’s super-sexy, turn-of-the-century stripper girlfriend. Hey, I’m a guy. No apologies. She’s most likely going to break Crabtree’s heart – but he’s certainly used to that sort of thing by now. In the meantime, she’s drop-dead gorgeous and cute as a vintage button.

break

SEVEN)  Classic Murdoch detective work and action. He followed the clues, consulted the Inspector and Julia, drilled a hole in the wall of an expensive hotel room, and finally… the “killer” (how complicit the young debutante in question was in the murders of her competitors is up for debate) revealed herself.

break

EIGHT)  Constable George Crabtree’s cocky attitude. “I think you’ll give me your affections for free now.” Or something like that. The point is, Crabtree has gone from a brokenhearted puppy to an alpha dog in a few episodes. I just hope he isn’t being set up for yet another fall…

break

NINE)  Higgins’ return to form. Yes. I’m contradicting myself, but Higgins’s role as comic relief works best for the character – it just gets tiring sometimes so his earlier change of pace was to nice to see but only for awhile.break

TEN)  The house that Murdoch built. I can’t wait to see Detective William Murdoch invent solar panels! On a policeman’s salary, of course…

breakmurdoch_website_headers10

Finally, two points.

One:  I don’t care if it was meant in jest – which it was – having a stripper do a firefighter routine days after the Great Fire of 1904 was not cool.

Two:  William’s burglarizing “celebrity status”. I loved it when a witness acknowledged Murdoch’s growing reputation in Toronto. It’s about time; he’s been busting bad guys for ten season for Pete’s sake!

And there you have it, another Murdoch Mysteries recap/review by The Hook. You’re welcome. See you next week…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Murdoch Monday – On a Tuesday.

  1. charflew23 says:

    Even the good guys fall sometimes (you’d think we’d be used to Crabtree by now) that’s why I keep my eyes on the Murdoch prize (keeps you coming back)! You rocked another Murdoch Mysteries post

  2. Rosemary says:

    Loved this, and the previous one as well. Because I haven’t had the chance to see either episode as yet, I am living vicariously through your blog….I suppose that could be as perilous as crossing Niagra Falls on a buttered zip line sans water wings and snorkel equipment, but who cares? Poor Crabtree, he’s such a gentle soul. Higgins? The imp disguised as Chuckles the Clown (not an evil one, just full of mischief). Loved this. Thank you!

  3. These reviews are super. I don’t really think I need to see the show.

  4. davidprosser says:

    I have a reserved seat on the sofa on a Saturday night.
    Hugs

  5. Is this the right time to say I’ve never seen this series? Mind you, I’ve never seen GOT either.

Leave a Reply

