Wednesday Wisdom With The Hook?

There’s a dichotomy to life in a thousand-room hotel, folks.

On one hand, our guests are here to relax and forget all about the Rat Race. (In theory, at least.) Their goal is to adopt a nice leisurely pace instead of racing around like headless egg producers.

To be clear, I’m referring to chickens, not decapitated farmers…

On the other hand, as a bellman, I cannot afford to adopt a leisurely pace. Doing so would result in absolute chaos. Slow bellman don’t last very long in the hotel biz.

So I’ve adopted a motto: “When you think fast, think of The Hook!”

So where does the Wednesday wisdom come into play, you ask? Well, let’s just say it’s never wise to use a catchphrase like mine before getting “romantic” with the wife.

It does not go over well. So what you don’t say is as important as what you do.

See you in the lobby, kids…

giphy

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wednesday Wisdom With The Hook?

  1. Sage advice Hook my man. I was once coerced into giving an opinion on which dress to wear and then met the same dress at the event on another person. Guess who’s fault that was?

  2. ahh! I have missed you Hook! I hope you are doing wonderful, and I will be sure not to mention that with my hubby in the hotel room, it probably wouldn’t be a good idea to use it while you are the bellman either. 😉 hahahaha! Enjoy today, half way til the weekend!

  3. Doug in Oakland says:

    Wait, the way I understood it “fast” was just fine, “brief” was what you wanted to avoid…

  4. EIther “silence is golden” or “better to keep quiet and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt”?
    We’re talking about chickens, right?
    Always fun here. Thanks for the smiles

Leave a Reply

