Posts Will Live, Posts Will Die, And The Hook Will Never Be The Same!

Forgive the creative license, won’t you?

(I’ll always be a nerd at heart, friends.)

It’s been a crazy-hot summer, the driest in the history of Niagara Falls, even. From the sky this city looks like one giant haystack, that’s how many lawns have died from lack of moisture.

But the winds of changing are blowing, friends. Hard.

For years now I’ve done my best to entertain the world by regaling all of you with tales of my guest encounters/misadventures in the wild ‘n woolly trenches of the hospitality biz, and while the ride’s been more fun than I can ever hope to articulate, the time has come to make a change. Social media has changed the world in ways we’re still struggling to understand and the hotel biz is no exception.

To suggest guest privacy has become a matter that keeps Management up at night is to suggest Trump has a thing or two to learn about public speaking – and sanity in general. Hotels/resorts now have staff members whose sole job it is to keep public relations disasters from erupting as a result of employees’ social media accounts, blogs, Instagram pics, etc. I feel for these people, they have a thankless job that often forces them to take the brunt of employees’ anger. But in the end, they’re just doing their job.

And so, as you can imagine, a smartass blogging bellman could break a social media manager’s brain in half.

So in the future I’m going to be focusing on my 5×5 interviews (as many as I can snag, that is), tales of my home life – as many as the wife will allow me to share – travel tips that only The Hook could concoct and whatever else my fevered mind can come up with.

But as of this moment, hotel tales are a thing of the past on this blog. I’ve had a good run, so no regrets.

I promise to be as entertaining as ever (stifle the laughter, please) and hopefully you’ll stick around for this transition. But if you must go, thank you for being here, I love you all.

Even Ned Hickson.

See you around, kids…

image

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Posts Will Live, Posts Will Die, And The Hook Will Never Be The Same!

  1. susielindau says:

    At least you never named the hotel! There are bloggers who rat out their employers and co-workers and use their real names. I don’t know how they keep their jobs!
    I love your 5×5’s!

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    You can’t lose me that easily. I will always read…Hope you don’t mind that.

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    This makes me sad, but I will admit that I have felt nervous for you on more than one occasion. I am glad you will still be around, doing your 5×5’s, though!

  4. Paul says:

    I’m with Victo on this one – sad but saw it coming. It was a good run Hook. We’re here for the long term – so bring on the posts!

  5. davidprosser says:

    Good luck with the transition. I’m sure it will be a success as your humour will always shine through whatever the subject.
    Hugs Hook Man.

  6. nbratscott says:

    I hit the like button, but I didn’t mean it! I love the 5X5s, so I’m not too disappointed. Good luck in the transition.

  7. Tara says:

    I’m sad to hear it, but I’m afraid I’m here to stay (and maybe there someday, too). I too have gotten the cease and desist warning – from my very own mother – about writing things about the restaurant. But what David said above is true. You aren’t funny because of your material, your material is funny because of you.

  8. What, you mean all those stories were true?!!!! πŸ˜‰
    Will surely miss them but I know your creativity knows no bounds so I’m not worried! Meantime I’ll enjoy [as always] your5x5.

  9. I’m catching up on my reading and this is the first thing I see? No worries, I will forge on to and enjoy your 5×5 as always! You’re hilarious in whatever you write.

  10. More puppy pictures! Yay! I think you have done an admirable job of obscuring names of the guilty but the paycheck is important too. I’m sure your adjustment will be just as hilarious as your guests were.

  11. Marion Hardy says:

    Of course I’ll stick around. Whatever you write about will be entertaining. Looking forward to much more!!

  12. robincoyle says:

    Well this is going to be interesting. I will miss the stories of you finding ladies panties in the hotel hallway, but perhaps you will now write about finding ladies panties in the hallway of your house.

  13. Austin says:

    So how much trouble did you get into for your posts? Or did you just decide to stop writing about the hotel before you got a good spanking?

  14. Sofia Leo says:

    If I ever make it to Niagra Falls, I will to stay in your hotel, do something outrageous and give you permission to blog about it – I’ve always had a secret dream of being a cautionary tale on someone else’s blog πŸ™‚

  15. kunstkitchen says:

    I will stick around for the transformation. Look forward to further tales…very much.

  16. Don’t see this as anything but broadening the humor. Your stories will be well told and that’s the point. The subject matter makes no difference. (I’ll miss the hooker and elevator discussions though)

  17. Doug in Oakland says:

    I have watched other bloggers struggle with the anonymity around their work-related stories and wondered how they managed it now that social media PR is an actual job at many businesses. I’m not sure who, exactly, they are afraid of scaring off, but the timid nature of large cash-flows makes a certain paranoid sense to some people.
    Of course I will continue to read your blog, and wish you the best for the new direction of your endeavor.

  18. You know the hotel stuff is great, but the point was always your perspective. Your interviews are top notch and your perspective pointed at anything is a thing of beauty. Yeah, you were never gonna shake your fans that easily… xo.

  19. So, I read your posts backwards, from today’s to three days ago. But I stay with today’s comment: I enjoy your stories and how you write them. Your perspective and how you look at the world. So, keep your day job but don’t leave us followers hangin’. So much ‘crazy’ out there in every day life. :-0

  20. I was trying to think up some witty comment, but I couldn’t think of a good one. I will have to say, this royally sucks. I love your hotel stories. Can’t you do the thing of making up a fictional character who works at a hotel, and make a statement that your story is fictional? No matter, we’ll still enjoy your writing, but it won’t be the same.

  21. Reinventing yourself is important. (Besides you’ve stored a lifetime of characters for future novels based on hotel guests) Cheers for packing up and relocating the scene. (Hilarious adventures probably stalk you whether you like it or not.)

  22. curvyroads says:

    Oh Robert, I am so far behind, so I am seeing this awfully late. I will miss the hotel hilarity but will always come visit for your non-hotel hilarity, of course! Keep on keeping us laughing! πŸ™‚

  23. I ran into a very similar work situation about a year ago, Hook.
    Keep writing from the heart and the words will flow. I hate that we won’t be seeing many more hotel escapade posts, but I’ve read your other writing and am excited to see where this takes you.
    I am still forever grateful for the 5×5 you did on me a couple (3?)years back – some of my best friends are a result of that post.
    Forever grateful, my friend. xo

Leave a Reply

