5×5 With The Hook: Ajay Fry.

According to Wikipedia (“Your source for details some idiot with an internet connection considers facts!”) Ajay Fry is a Canadian comedian, TV personality and producer who grew up in Ottawa, Ontario, best known as host on the official Orphan Black after show,  After the Black, on BBC America, and the Canadian daily entertainment talk show InnerSpace on Space (2008–present).

9942331_00That barely scratches the surface of the complex human machine/organism known throughout the Multiverse as Ajay Fry, kiddies.

Like his partner-in-televised-crime, Teddy Wilson, Ajay is a delightful manchild whose passion for his chosen career is apparent in everything in he does. Seriously, the guy’s a prototypical nerd, completely plugged into all things pop culture. But simultaneously, he is an old school gentleman in the truest sense of the term, one who believes in charity.

Why else would he agree to appear on my blog, right?

And he loves bow ties, which, as everyone knows, are cool.

But let’s get back to the Fry Guy’s bio, shall we? (Incidentally, I can’t see “Fry Guy” taking off, but hopefully it’ll make today’s victim subject chuckle. I hope.)

This ultra-cool dude was first introduced to audiences on the Canuck kid’s TV network, YTV, hosting the Saturday morning block CRUNCH. (By the way, that’s a great name for a programming block you can enjoy on Saturday morning with a bowl of cereal, right?) After two years of rotting kid’s brains with “quality educational programming (yeah, Ajay’s gonna beat me up) he blasted off to Space (the network, not the actual cosmos) where he’s been in orbit ever since.

Along the way he’s made appearances in the web-series, Captain Canuck and Guidestones as well as a cameo on the Space original series centered on a young heroine who is given super powers by a radioactive mosquito, Bitten.

(Is he kidding? You never know, do you? Trust me, it gets worse.)

 Abandoned by his parents in the mailroom of a major television network, Ajay grew up “in the business” as an indentured servant child actor and appeared on Big Wolf on Campus, Are You Afraid of the Dark, Lassie (but not as Lassie), and Undressed (I’m assuming that one got shut down by the RCMP) while lending his voice to the cartoons Little LuLu, Arthur and many more.

Days after his 18th birthday (a bash that left five Vegas hotels completely obliterated)  he fled, I mean flew, to Beijing to voice the main characters in a series of English language educational videos. In a single month he logged more than two hundred hours in studio and provided a variety of unique character voices. And now millions of denizens of the Pacific Rim know how to curse in Canadian…

 In recent news, Ajay just launched his YouTube series, 5 on Fry. The series is a virtual platform for Ajay to speak his mind on five topics of interest (to him at least). TV series, movies, games or current affairs, if it’s popular, Ajay’s got something to say about it – whether we like it or not.

In his downtime – of which he has very little – Ajay likes to game and if you’ve ever seen him at a convention you know he loves to run around like a big kid, totally captivated by the wonders of pop culture. And he married his soulmate recently! And she’s a fox! His wife actually loved his one and only pick-up line: “Hey, baby… wanna get Fryed?”

bb61d06587df39a842106ba8cbed0784

A recent tweet I… tweeted, pretty much sums up how I feel about Ajay and his InnerSpace cohorts:

And now… on with the show!

ONE)  If you could live in one video game reality, which would you choose?

Just one?! Aww man.

My first thought would be the Mushroom Kingdom just because it’s so pretty.

But honestly I feel like I’d quickly get bored of jumping on Goomba’s heads and chasing mushrooms all over the place. The games I play most often are all way to violent to want to ‘live’ in. So I think I’ll pass on any of the locals in OverWatch. MineCraft is another option that comes to mind, but there’s no way I’d choose to live in a world where Creepers exist. No, I’ll have to go with MeeLee Island. That’s the setting for the original Monkey Island adventure game from 1990.

I’ve always wanted to play the games protagonist GuyBrush Threepwood in the film adaptation so if that opportunity never presents itself I suppose living in the world of Monkey Island wouldn’t be too bad.

The music from the game always makes me smile:

breakTWO)  As a newlywed, what rookie mistakes have you made so far? 

(Don’t think me cruel, folks; as a rookie husband myself once upon a time, I can’t help but be curious. Plus, I’m kind of a dick.)

I lost my ring. It was about three weeks in. I thought it was at my desk at work. Then I thought it was on my desk at home. Turns out it was somewhere never to be found. Fortunately, while wedding ring shopping I convinced my wife that I should buy the cheapest ring available because I’d likely lose it. I replaced it with a much nicer ring that is currently on my desk at home.

I think.

(Don’t feel too bad, Ajay. I’ve lost more than one ring. Heck, I don’t even wear one now, that’s how often it’s happened.)

break

THREE)  All of time and space, where do you go first for a really good meal?

Anywhere that my wife is cooking. (I’m still trying to recover from losing my wedding ring so I’m buying brownie points wherever I can.)

But seriously, she’s an amazing cook. I often lament how many cook books she’s cluttered our bookshelf with. (Seriously, do we need 7 different books on how to cook fish?!)

But whenever she puts effort into a meal the results are simply mind blowing. Also, this way I could take my wife with me anywhere in time & space.

(#BestHubbyEver)

break

FOUR)  Cats: threat or menace?

Both. Did you write this question knowing I have an allergy?!

(Trust me, Ajay, you don’t want to know what I know.)

Seriously though, cats & I have never really gotten along. I mean, I like cute cat photos and memes as much as the next guy… but keep ‘em away from me.

break

FIVE)  If you could be Batman would you finally kill the Joker or would you let him keep escaping so he can rack up a higher death count?

If I was ever in a position where I could be Batman I’d suggest to the powers that brought about this amazing new reality to instead make me the Joker. Don’t great me wrong, Batman is great and all, but the Joker is the Clown Prince of Crime. Even just in title he sounds like he has way more fun than “The Dark Knight.” Boring.

I’d rather spend my time planning an epic act of chaotic civil disobedience than spend my time alone in a dark cave waiting for the guy who has all the fun to make his move.

Batman? No thanks. I’ll take the Joker for $800, Alex. Hah. Ha ha. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA.

giphy

break

Okay… so it looks like “madcap” is definitely the right word for Ajay, friends. Of course, based on his last answer, a few others might apply as well, but I’m too nice to use any of those…

And besides, Ajay is a good, farm-fresh Canadian egg in every respect. Honestly, the guy’s ridiculously-cool and I can never thank him enough for being here and I can never express my deep sense of gratitude to Natalie Cole of Bell Media for helping me out as she has on many occasions. So I won’t.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Ajay Fry.

  1. Tara says:

    Best pick up line, ever. And I love his choice of Joker. I’d definitely go that route, which I’m sure comes as no surprise to those who really know me. (Death toll excluded, of course. )

  2. Paul says:

    Excellent post Hook.

  3. nbratscott says:

    About the ring thing…I was afraid I might lose it so I gained 100 pounds so it won’t come off!
    BTW…I LOVE the 5X5 posts. I don’t know how many you have in the can, so to speak, but keep ’em coming! I love Canadian culture!!

Leave a Reply

