10 Things In 10 Days: #7.

Let’s face it, farmers may be the salt of the earth… but they can be damn sneaky when they want to be.

Let’s talk about a little impending “crisis” they alerted the public to a few years back.

#97: The Supposed Bacon Shortage.

The words sent chills through the bloated, artery-blocked bodies of many a bacon lover: “Experts say the world could be on the verge of a significant bacon shortage because of rising feed costs and declining pig populations.”

The year was 2012.

Four years later, I’ve seen millions of travelers stuff their faces with glistening strips of bacon – and there’s no end in sight. In fact, we’ve had dozens of choking incidents that can be directly attributed to bacon. And poor judgement, of course.

I’ll say this though: bacon suppliers knew what they were doing when they “predicted” this shortage. In four years, bacon has become more popular than a virgin at a prison rodeo. Maybe brussels sprout providers should take note, don’t you think?

Nah.

See you in the lobby, kids… I’ll be the bellman with the bacon grease running down his face.

GoAO5Ur

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 10 Things In 10 Days: #7.

  1. Oh well, I can’t say I’m sad about it as it translates to less piggies slaughtered! Happy Monday and new week from your vegan friend! 😉

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    I remember that. Good thing that some things don’t come to pass. Off to eat breakfast, which will include bacon.

  3. Can almost smell it. Thanks, Hook

  4. Archon's Den says:

    Bacon grease on your face?? Surely not! You are always impeccably turned out. 😎

  5. Paul says:

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

