5×5 With The Hook: Erica Ehm.

If you were a Canadian teen in the Eighties, and you liked “the rock ‘n roll videos” and pop culture in general, then you were in love with a young lady named Erica Ehm.

hqdefault

Erica was a VJ (video jockey) on MuchMusic (for the young people, that’s what the Much TV network used to be called before they shifted focus from all things music to all thing pop culture), and I have to say, she was awesome back when that word actually meant something to people. You couldn’t take your eyes off her; she was funny, beautiful, charming, self-deprecating, gorgeous, well-versed in musicology, foxy…

Did I mention she was a knockout?

And one more thing… she was smart as a whip. Erica was no token “hot chick”; she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications. As my uncle used to say,

“You know who I’d stab your aunt for?  That chick on MuchMusic!  What’s her name?  Erin M?  That’s one classy broad!”

Okay, so my uncle drank homemade moonshine that even hardcore winos wouldn’t touch. Fun fact though, my aunt ended up stabbing him. And then she ran off with a woman named Erica. Yeah, people used to pay to come to our family reunions…

At any rate, getting back to Erica Ehm, she made MM the hippest network on TV for a solid decade and then she did something she’s become respected and admired for in many circles… she became a block-ops assassin named the Crimson Moose, available to the highest bidder.

Wait, I’m not sure I was supposed to write about that… never mind.

The official story is this: Erica Ehm left MuchMusic to devote herself to her songwriting career. Since then, she’s become a kick-ass wife and mom and… what else was there? Oh yeah…

She’s written for artists, television shows and films. She’s won She’s won three Canadian Country Music Awards and three SOCAN Awards.

She’s acted.

She’s hosted TV shows – some of them with her name in ’em! (Science: From A to Ehm is my personal fave.)

She’s written books. (Unlike yours truly, people have actually paid money for her books.)

She’s hosted a weekly radio call-in show.

She’s written stage musicals.

Yes, you’re right, there’s literally nothing this woman isn’t capable of.

The Mistress of Reinvention and Evolution, the Other Divine Miss Ehm, is the CEO and Creative Director of the Yummy Mummy Club and Ehm & Co. This is, of course, a natural fit for Erica, as she is the yummiest of all mummies. (Now I find myself wondering if her husband is a big man?)

images

If you’ve never checked out YMC’s website… DO IT NOW! (Sorry, I get a little enthusiastic at times.)

But seriously, forget that Paltrow chick and her goopy site, YMC is the place to be for progenitors of both genders who actually care about their families.

When it comes to parenting, the information on YMC could save your life, folks. It isn’t just a site, a following or even a brand, every day Yummy Mummy Club reinforces an immutable truth: a woman’s sex appeal isn’t discarded in the hospital along with her afterbirth.

Hopefully none of you are eating as you read this…

But YMC really is an empowering brand, one that gives back to the world rather than just draining time and energy from its residents. So far that game plan has paid off. Here are just a few of their accolades, courtesy of the 2015 Canadian Online Publishing Awards: 

Gold: Independent Publisher of the Year

That concludes the Erica Ehm lovefest portion of today’s post. Here now, are a few super cool Q and As.

break

ONE)  It’s impossible to ignore the impact of the internet on our society… who’s your favorite Power Ranger?

I don’t have a fave Power Ranger. But I do have a problem with power cords disappearing from my home. With my husband and kids and I all addicted to our Apple products, power cords are at a premium chez Ehm.

break

TWO)  If you could address every girl, everywhere across the planet, simultaneously, what would you say?

Build your self esteem by what you can do, not by how you look.

Words to live by, fiends.

break

THREE)  As a blogging bellman, I’m fascinated with travel. What’s your best travel tip? (It doesn’t necessarily have to be from a parent’s perspective.)

If you want to connect with your kids, travel. That’s the one time when you have their full attention.

ericaehmarizona

I have to agree – as long as you take their devices away, that is.

break

FOUR)  You’ve met an incalculable number of celebrities over the course of your career; is there anyone you wish you could trade places with for a day or are you perfectly happy being Erica Ehm?

I would like to trade places with Sting’s wife for a long weekend to get some hands-on lessons on songwriting and tantric sex.

We could all stand to learn a thing or two about that, Erica! Songwriting rules.

break

FIVE)  If you could be any type of motorized vehicle what would you be?

I’d rather not be motorized and be part of the pollution problem. Instead, I’d be Cinderella’s coach. It’s sparkly. I need a bit of magic in my life these days.

giphy

break

If you’ve fallen in love with Erica Ehm (who wouldn’t, right?) and you wish to connect with her in the virtual jungle, follow these links and prepare to be touched by the hand of God:

 Twitter:  @YummyMummyClub

Facebook:  YummyMummyClub

Instagram:  EricaEhm

YouTube:  YummyMummyClub

 And no, Erica’s blog isn’t “Adults Only”, people. First and foremost, she lives to educate not titillate.

I want to thank today’s victim guest, Erica Ehm, for taking the time to make this super fan’s dreams come true. And of course, I need to thank all of you for slumming in my neighborhood. You’re all good people.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Erica Ehm.

  1. Paul says:

    I remember her but she was about a generation younger than I was.

    Excellent interview and preamble, Hook.

    Well done.

  2. Paul says:

    As an aside Hook, I have a guest post over at Barb Taub’s. If you have time to drop by, I would be honored. Thank you. https://barbtaub.com/2016/06/23/if-it-has-tires-or-testosterone-guest-post-by-paul-curran-throwbackthursday/

  3. Erica Ehm is amazing. Have I mentioned that I have not only had tea with her, but coffee too, and she treated! (brag)

  4. Louise says:

    Really enjoyed the intro – I too grew up in that generation of Much Music. And her quote about building self esteem by what you do – words to live by!

Leave a Reply

