Not Quite Silent Sunday: Summer’s Here!

Yes, summertime has arrived in Niagara Falls, people.

You know what that means, right?

If you don’t, allow me to illuminate you. For a bellman, summertime is “Go Time”, baby! The pace can be furious – sometimes right after you punch in – and it doesn’t let up until you head home, covered in sweat and wobbly from the knees down. And of course, there’s the mental cost of dealing with the busy season’s crop of travelers. Granted, I have a blog to help me vent but I still have to let loose in the service areas and elevators.

I literally cannot imagine what I’d do without my friends in the blogosphere. You listen read my bitchfests posts faithfully and allow me to relieve the pressures of the job without having to bother the wife or visit a website whose name ends in “tube”. 

You rock, folks.

And that’s why I know you’ll understand when I tell you that the summertime pace means you’ll be seeing a little less of me over the course of the next few months.

Admit it, some of you are cheering right now, aren’t you?

Oh, I’ll be around. I’ll blog whenever time allows and I still have a post or two scheduled. But overall, The Hook will be too busy paying the bills to be online as much as usual.

I know, I know, you’re crushed, but you’ll survive. Like I told the wife on our honeymoon, “It may not be easy, you may not care for it, but we can get through this, trust me.”

See you in the lobby, kids… just not as much.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Not Quite Silent Sunday: Summer’s Here!

  1. timkeen40 says:

    Good luck, Hook. Don’t let it get you down, man.

    Tim

  2. Busy, busy, busy. Will look forward to your posts as and when. 🙂

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    YOU rock. I will always read you til I can’t. Enjoy the chaos and tell us about it when you are able.

  4. granny1947 says:

    Make loads of money and come back when you can.

  5. Paul says:

    We’ll be here whenever you get a chance Hook. have a great summer.

    As an aside Hook I just did a guest post over at Mark Bialczak’s https://markbialczak.com/2016/05/29/the-secret-service/comment-page-1/#comment-80109 If you have the time to drop by, I would be honored. Thank You.

  6. Ah yes, high season. Been there done that. Pace yourself as we wait patiently for your stories.

  7. Allie P. says:

    Know the feeling! Thanks for the heads up. Miss reading you already.

  8. Doug in Oakland says:

    WAAAH! Oh wait, what? I’m always happy to read your posts, so do what you have to do (like not listening to dumb advice from the peanut gallery if you don’t want to) and I’ll be around every day to see if you posted anything, and we’ll all live through the summer, with a little luck.

  9. Ned's Blog says:

    Well, Hook, I guess we’ll all just need to come hang out in the lobby this summer..?

  10. Well, you’d better damned well be reading my stuff then! LOL… Have a great busy season, Robert. Sometimes it get busy enough to clear over-loaded minds. Win. Especially if it gets you extra moolah… Win-win.

  11. Tara says:

    Well, I will miss the posts, but we all have a job to do. Enjoy the fruits of your labor! (And don’t forget to share some of them with us. )

  12. umashankar says:

    I usually don’t get hooked but I tend to persevere through summers and winters alike, plus the fall.

  13. Aw. You will be missed Hook.

  14. You may not be blogging, but we know you’ll be writing it all down in your head to relay to us later. (things only get better on simmer)
    Many of us will be on summer time shortly, but that just means the Fall Reunion will be fabulous and hilarous. Onward into the chaos ( and take notes for later, OK?)

Leave a Reply

