Nothing For You Today, I’m Afraid.

The title says it all, sadly.

I don’t have a Silent Sunday masterpiece prepared. Self-doubt and near-crippling writing anxiety have kept me from buckling down this week. I have a few posts in the wings, though, so you won’t be denied my “brilliance” tomorrow. Thank Heavens for that, right?

Lately I’ve been focused on what I’m not.

I’m not good enough for The Good Men Project.

The Huffington Post Canada. (Professionalism aside, I hate those guys. They don’t even respond to pitches, never mind reject them.)

I’ll never be a Traveling Dad and unless I make some major changes, I won’t be a Traveling Mom either.

CBC will never be airing a sitcom based on my “work”.

In short, this is about as good as it’s going to get for me. I’ll never be a writer my daughter can look up to. It’s always beenΒ  my hope to inspire her to achieve her dreams but I’ve failed miserably in that regard. I have a great life, one that will always be grounded in reality.

But reality isn’t that bad, not in the least.

See you in the lobby, friends.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Nothing For You Today, I’m Afraid.

  1. I firmly believe in having a day of rest every now and then. Let the creative juices mull around and when they’re ready, they’ll flow like Niagara. Have a restful Sunday.

  2. Don’t give up Hook. I love your work. It is funny and insightful. Some publisher will see the value in what you write. The people love it and it won’t be long before publisher “X” sees the value in that.

  3. Tara says:

    You ARE inspiring, Robert. You are enormously talented and creative, and you ARE a writer she can be proud of. The most important thing? You are working and providing for her (successfully) and her mother (and Chelsea too – though I have serious doubts that Chelsea gives a shit so long as she has a comfortable bed and snacks). You may not see it as “livng the dream” but at least you’re not some boring corporate drone who is miserable with his life and goes to high end hotels with hookers to boost his self esteem. You love your job, it makes you money and writing material, and you never have to bring it home with you. Unless you’re writing about it. I think it’s one of the reasons I can’t seem to extricate myself from the restaurant business. Chin up Hook. xo

  4. HEY there! Don’t be dissin’ my friend like that! He is an awesome writer, great dad, freaky bellman and all around great guy! We all go through these slumps (mine is right now too) but you will get past it! And the sun will rise again tomorrow! πŸ˜€
    Hang in there sweets! ❀

  5. Kay says:

    Your readers LOVE you! That’s not nothing.

  6. umashankar says:

    A rare soliloquy from the ebullient master. And you put many doubts at rest with that: you never came from Krypton!

  7. WordPress needs an awww button. Hugs from across the miles, Hook.

  8. colingarrow says:

    We’re all familiar with self-doubt – it’s part of the process. Don’t stop what you do, or the bastards will have won (Don’t know who the ‘bastards’ are, but they’re probably people you don’t like). πŸ˜‰

  9. NancyTex says:

    You are someone your daughter can look up to and be proud of. Never doubt that.

  10. Doug in Oakland says:

    Your writing stands on its own. No-one can take that from you. You are good at what you do, and the way I measure it, that is success.

  11. We are your friends you know, not vampires! πŸ˜‰
    And yes, she will look up to you. Just make sure you do what you do and the rest will follow …naturally! πŸ™‚

  12. Paul says:

    As an aside Hook I did a guest post over at Mark Bialczak’s today. I would be honored if you had the time to drop by for a read: https://markbialczak.com/2016/05/15/i-cant-walk-with-him/comment-page-1/#comment-79640 Thank You.

  13. I’m a fan. I want to cancel my subscription to the Huffingfrickington Post Canada. (I never had one but if I did I would cancel)

  14. She still looks up to Dad, I am sure. You are her own super hero and no one else can wear your cape.

    I love your writing, and am humbled that you follow my stuff. You are talented and quick witted- something I really wish I was.

    Don’t be disheartened and keep it up! Think handshakes before hugs but *handshakes* from southern USA.

  15. Never say never, Hook! You’re a talented man with a huge heart, a dedicated following, and much to share. Stay the course, my friend, and know that we are right there with you. xo

  16. curvyroads says:

    I hate to hear you had such a down day, Robert. As late as I am, I am hopeful you are back to your hilarious self by now. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

