Not-so-Silent Sunday: Mother’s Day Edition.

Slight change of plans today, friends.

I just want to share a few words about this most underrated of holidays, Mother’s Day. In terms of acknowledging the value of mothers, we’ve come a long way in our society from the days of the prototypical mom like June Cleaver.

But we still have a long way to go.

Incidentally, if you watch the “old-time TV shows” like I do, you’ll see that June was actually quite, well, useless. She deferred to her husband on every matter from child-rearing to the color of new drapes (they all looked grey to me anyway)  unable to handle any task beyond wrapping pearls around her neck and preparing dinner for the family. These days, women are more than capable of handling the Beaver on their own.

(You’re giggling right now, aren’t you?)

Beaver171jPhone sex?  Heavens, no!  Just because I named my child “Beaver” doesn’t mean I’m that kind of girl, thank you very much!

At any rate, I just want to say a few words about moms and then I’ll let you get on with your lives and celebrations. 

A mother is as close to God as any of us will ever see on Earth. I mean, think about it, your Mom created you. Sure, dads are the providers of guidance and wisdom, they help pay the bills and they’re there to show you what outward strength is all about.

But moms are the givers of life. There’s no topping that.

In my own case. my father was not a dad. He was little more than a provider of biological fluids. So it fell to my mother to fill in a helluva lot of blanks.

And that’s all I wish to say about my childhood.

But I’ve known many mothers over the course of my life and the ones I’ve been closest to have always impressed me. They’ve helped chart the course of my life. My own wife is the finest mother I’ve ever known and I’m sure my daughter will top her someday.

So to every mom out there in the blogosphere and the so-called real world, I thank you on behalf of the entire planet.

Thank you for the eight hundred hours of labor you were forced to endure. (Yes, that’s the figure my own mother finally arrived at.)

Thank you for the tears you’ve shed for and because of us. You’ve taught us how to feel.

Thank you for all those sleepless nights.

Thank you for being both a mother and father to so many of us.

Thank you for picking up the pieces. Of broken glasses. Of picture frames. Of priceless family heirlooms tipped over by balls that were never meant to be played with in the house. Of our lives. If not for my own mother and the woman who would eventually become the mother of my child, I’d be dead. Period.

Thank you for never complaining as you watched your youth fade away as you slaved at multiple jobs to put food on the table – which you had to also cook.

Thank you for all your sacrifices; there isn’t enough space on all of WordPress to list them here.

Thank you for wearing more hats than the Hatter himself. You’ve had to be a chauffeur, coach, cheerleader, tutor and everything under the sun over the years and we love you for it.

Thank you for never expecting a thank you. Or for that matter, a paycheck.

Thank you for being more reliable than an ATM.

But most of all, thank you for never giving up on us, even when we gave up on ourselves.

And now, just so you don’t think I’ve gone completely sappy…

396a4434c819d4892c4734715a0cda53

See you in the lobby… you mothers.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Not-so-Silent Sunday: Mother’s Day Edition.

  1. nbratscott says:

    Thank You Mom! And thank you Hook for reminding us!

  2. Such a sweet post Hook. To Mothers!

  3. Paul says:

    Brilliant tribute to Mothers the world over, Hook. Thank you.

  4. 1jaded1 says:

    Thank you Mr. Hook’s mom for raising such a fine young man. Happy Mother’s Day.

    This is an awesome tribute to the woman who raised you, Hook.

  5. I’m feeling the love Hook!
    Ps. We both know June was all about phone sex once she took those pearls off.

  6. This is lovely Robert 🙂
    Happy Mothers Day!
    xo

  7. Carol says:

    Priceless! Who knew under all that smart assert. ..there was an eloquent loving man.
    Your post today brought tears to my eyes.
    Thank you Hook. Your wife and Mother are blessed to have you.

  8. Mum’s the word…… or for some of us, Mum is the World.

  9. timkeen40 says:

    True words, Hook. We quite literally owe everything to our mothers.

    Tim

  10. C.E.Robinson says:

    Nicely done, Robert! Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers visiting your blog & passing by in the lobby! 💛 Elizabeth

  11. This is incredibly touching, Robert, and I don’t know if you are aware or not, but you’ve strongly spoken to my own cultural understanding of a woman and mother’s roles. And as I happen to fit into the category of both, thanks very much for this.

  12. Beautiful. Nice going Hook

  13. Tara says:

    You are totally catering to the mothers! I see through your ruse. Anyhow, thank you for honoring me because I’m so awesome. :p

  14. Hooray for celebrating moms!

  15. shimoniac says:

    You just had to do it. You had to show us that there is something more than snark and sarcasm under that bellman’s cap. You actually have depth and thoughtfulness. I completely agree, Mom is a child’s name for God.

  16. curvyroads says:

    Well said, Robert! ❤

  17. Thank you Robert… that was sweet. I only resemble some of them, but I appreciate the shout out you gave to all moms everywhere who make those sacrifices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

