The Hook’s Guide To Parenting: What Not To Do.

Parents, for almost two decades I’ve been watching you and your kids.

Yes, that is officially the creepiest sentence I have ever typed. With the possible exception of, “About last night… you were sleeping so soundly, I felt it best not to wake you… but don’t worry, I cleaned up after myself.”

Whoa. I even creeped myself out with that one. Time to move on, I’d say.

Today’s message is simple: I’m about to give parents a few simple guidelines that even a Kardashian could implement. Executed properly, these tips should resurrect a vacation that would otherwise be dead on arrival.

Or so I’m guessing. To be clear, there is no actual guarantee with my advice. 

ONE)  Stop bringing cookies, bread without butter, and every form of junk food known to man with you on vacation.  You may think you’re being economical and saving money, but you’re not – not by a long shot.

Just think of the future cost of having a morbidly-obese child. Do you think it’s worth it to buy bags of crap for your clan if they wind up having to have a wall taken down just so they can leave their beds? Seriously, progenitors, no matter how much you may hate it, the fact is, you’re going to have to spend money on actual food while traveling.

And by “actual food”, I mean healthy food. The life you’ll be saving will be your kin’s.

break

TWO)  Giving your young children Red Bull first thing in the morning – or at all – is wrong. Stop doing it.  I shouldn’t have to keep saying this, but here goes… Red Bull really isn’t the greatest beverage for a human of any age (or an animal, for that matter), but it definitely isn’t an appropriate chaser for a well-balanced breakfast.

I can’t help but shudder every time I see a rug rat bouncing off the walls of the lobby (sometimes literally) as they grip a can of Red Bull tightly. Our hearts are delicate instruments that need time to grow and strengthen through childhood. Overtaxing your child’s immature ticker with energy drinks is an act of cruelty, parents.

Again, stop doing it.

red_bull_cans

THREE)  Having sex with your spouse while on vacation with your kids is no easy feat, so consider it carefully.  Why do so many parents go into it blind? I hear comments like this all the time:

“Mommy and Daddy had to take a shower together because Daddy said Mommy is a ‘dirty bitch who needs a good spanking!'”

“Mommy said we had to go to Grandpa and Grandma’s room so her new boyfriend could change her oil!”

“We could hear our parents having ‘secs’ last night!  Daddy started crying after!”

“Mommy and Daddy pretended to be our dogs last night when we were supposed to be sleeping!”

I can certainly understand – and applaud – parents who have managed to maintain an active, healthy sex life, but having relations while your offspring is in the same room, or worse, the next bed, is one million types of wrong. (I’ve done the math.) So fornicate smarter not harder, folks. 

If you can’t arrange a room with a separate sleeping quarters – with a door – for the kids? Don’t have sex.

If you know they may be listening (and will be unattended) at the door while you engage in shower sex? Don’t have sex.

If you’re not traveling with other couples who can take turns watching your kids while you make the Beast With Two Backs? Don’t have sex.

Yes, I realize “Don’t have sex” is like saying “Don’t breathe”, especially when you really want a big lungful of “air”, but you don’t want to scar your kids, do you? Okay, so right now some of you are saying,

“Screw ’em, they’ll be fine! I need to get my rocks off after shilling out thousands for a vacation in Niagara Falls!”

Trust me, I’ve been there. In fact, my drive revs higher now than when I was a teenager. But you need to show some restraint. (Using that word didn’t help, did it?) Being a parent requires sacrifice, temporarily, but you can do it. Childhood is wild enough these days, don’t make it even ickier.

break

FOUR)  Put the devices away!  Yes, even yours, parents. I know I say this a lot, but anyone who has ever spent more than a few minutes in a hotel lobby can attest to this statement’s importance. Every day I see hundreds of people with their faces glued to their phones and tablets while their friends and family do the same.

They look disconnected from the world.

They look lonely among us.

They look like idiots who have no idea what they’re missing.

Don’t be a tech-addicted idiot while traveling with your kids, parents.

break

FIVE)  When I deliver your bags, don’t send your kids to the door – sans tip – while you hide in the far end of the room.  Not only is it cowardly, – stiff me to my face – it’s just plain reckless. You don’t know me; why are you leaving your kids in a room with me?

And yes, “stiff me to my face” is what she said, thank you very much.

break

SIX)  Never let your kids play sports in the hallways.  Hockey parents are the worst offenders. Too many of them let their spawn run amok in the lobby, elevators, hallways and anywhere I happen to be.

This is not cool.

People have paid good money for their rooms, folks. Let them be, won’t you?

break

SEVEN)  Don’t use your newborn’s stroller as a luggage cart.  Sure, you’ve saved yourself a few dollars in tip money – but you look like a complete and total douche. Put your baby where it belongs and use a cart, you moron!

break

EIGHT)  Never let your kids run around like Tasmanian devils on the Valet Deck.  They’ll get hit by another neglectful parent in a mini-van and suddenly, you’ll be “Parent of the Year”, screaming and wailing like a maniac over the fate of you beloved child – who you didn’t care about moments earlier. I’ve seen it happen more than once.

break

NINE)  Keep an eye on your kids inside the hotel as well.  We’ve never had a child disappear for more than a moment or two at the hotel, and even then, it was usually because they got on an elevator before their guardians/parental units did.

But there’s a first time for everything.

break

TEN)  Talk to your kids!  This is going to be difficult for many parents to grasp but…

Your kids are real, not-quite-formed human beings with thoughts, opinions and even feelings.

Yes, the same mind that thinks it’s okay to put the cat in the microwave to dry it off after putting it in the washer actually has real emotions and opinions. Amazing, isn’t it?

The sad truth is, shift work, the disintegration of the Nuclear Family and a general lack of consideration for the role of  a devoted parent in a child’s life have given us a society overrun with Kardashian clones. I get it. I realize how tough it is to get through to the modern-day teen. They’re so busy obsessing over, well… everything, that it feels like you’ll never be able to tune your messages to their wavelength.

But guess what? That’s what parents have been saying since the beginning of humanity. Every generation feels the one that follows is a mystery they’ll never be able to solve.

But giving up isn’t the answer.

Your kids deserve better.

So talk to them.

About anything at first, and then the really big issues.

This has been, “I’m A Better Parent Than You: With Robert Hookey”.

break

See you in the lobby, parents…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Hook’s Guide To Parenting: What Not To Do.

  1. vickgoodwin says:

    I loved your advice. I am still pretty creeped out about the watched you sleeping comment.

  2. Paul says:

    Very useful and amusing Hook.I hate to admit this but for a VERY short while I had a girlfriend who wanted to make the beast with two backs while her little girl of 5 years was IN the same bed.

    I begged off.

    That said,I once took her for a week long trip in the truck (while her folks babysat the little girl) – whereupon I discovered she was truly a nymphomaniac. I didn’t believe such a thing existed and for a short while I enjoyed it then I realized that it was not physically possible to satisfy her. At the time I was a randy 25 year old truck driver and as each day went by I felt less and less adequate. She could not go more than 3 hours without sex and I had a difficult time just getting the trip done.

    By the time I dropped her back off home a week later, my ego was long since crushed and I was sure I would never please another woman.

  3. Nothing wrong with bread. Red Bull should only be drunk by adults on the ragged edge. Children rampaging about in hotels? I’d bring back public flogging for the little gits, and a stiff custodial sentence for the parents. You may think I’m overreacting there, but in a hotel in Nuwara Eleiya in Sri Lanka we had some little bastards playing football in the room above ours. At five in the morning. And the floors were teak

  4. I seriously do not understand any of these parents! I never did ANY of those things EVER with mine!! And we actually did talk to our progeny and asked her questions and everything!! WOW! I didn’t know that was such a unique thing to do! 😛

  5. I knew I didn’t have kids for a reason!!

  6. C.E.Robinson says:

    Amazing, Robert! I’ve long been not surprised by what you see, hear, and say about your bellman’s view of how people act “in the hotel.” How you write about it, right on & entertaining! 💛 Elizabeth

  7. susielindau says:

    Great advice, Hook! You should’ve had 5 more!

  8. Tara says:

    Parents have it ALL wrong. It’s not Red Bull they should be giving but Benadryl. WTH??? Even I know that. And I never went anywhere with my kids and my ex. I’ve also been wanting to confess that I don’t think I’ve ever stayed at a “full-service” hotel. I’m so glad I’ve met you (however virtually) so that I do not embarrass myself with paper bags full of clothes and toys, or insist on carrying my own laundry basket.

  9. julie says:

    If red bull relied on my purchases they’d be out of business. I still discourage my now adult children from drinking the stuff. I haven’t really vacationed much with my children. Mostly for financial reasons,partly fear of traveling alone with 2 children, even though they were really well behaved, what if some catastrophe occurred? Now you got me thinking maybe I should take them to the falls…

  10. msexceptiontotherule says:

    I’m still squicked out over the discovery that my parents definitely were having sex – totally my fault for going into the nightstand drawer to pilfer the dark chocolate that was usually stashed there, I was in high school at the time and really I knew better but gave in to my dark chocolate craving. The truly traumatizing is the fact that my mom overshares about their sex life in the present time – my parents are 70 & 69 years old (dad, mom, respectively) and I don’t need to know such things – but if I have to know then so do you people on the internet! I will not be traumatized alone! 😛

  11. Lisa Orchard says:

    Loved this post! It’s spot on! I’m stopping over from Sunday blog share!

  12. Brilliant! Lovely style of giving advice! I did not miss the ‘subtle’ sarcastic humour… 🙂

  13. kunstkitchen says:

    Thank you! Kids deserve respect.

Leave a Reply

