Silent Sunday: Beware The Eye Of Sauron… I Mean Hickson.

I’ve had a bizarre week on social media.

Even for me.

Without going into mind-numbing detail, this week I was:

  •  Convinced to censor myself on Twitter.
  •  Ashamed that I was foolish enough to let another writer convince me to censor myself.
  •  Blocked by the same writer after I did as he requested.
  •  Saddened by Prince’s passing. I was never a huge fan, but he was a true original. I always liked that.
  •  Forced to acknowledge that I’ll never be one of the “cool kid” bloggers who share their Disney adventures on Twitter.
  •  Shocked to discover I had been blocked by the chick from Knocked Up. Until then, I had never written anything about the chick from Knocked Up!
  •  Flabbergasted by social media in general.

So I guess this isn’t a “Silent Sunday” after all…

At any rate, I have nothing for you today. My creative drive has been mugged and left for dead in a virtual alley just off of Twitter’s main drag. But here’s a ginormous shot of Ned Hickson to tide you over until next week.

But I must caution you: staring into Ned’s virtual eyes – and his ‘stache – is a slippery slope. When you stare in to the abyss… Ned Hickson stares back.

Ned_Hickson

Good thing Ned has a sense of humor – such as it is – right?

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Silent Sunday: Beware The Eye Of Sauron… I Mean Hickson.

  1. Paul says:

    I don’t follow much media other than blogs – so no loss to me when unfriended (I do have an account but I only use it to read others’ facebook pages when referenced by a blog,) But we need an update on the house renos Hook – how’s the destruction coming along (I’ve lived through one of those and it was painful)?

    • The Hook says:

      The house is still standing, so things are moving along nicely, Paul!
      There is reno work to be done outside this summer, but not much.

  2. Twitter can be annoying at times. I like the fact that when all creative juices dry up you post a haunting pic of Hickson. (I can’t look away)

  3. Ned's Blog says:

    There are indeed a lot of twits on Twitter, my friend. I hate the fact that someone caused you to question yourself and your art — and your writing is an art form, make no mistake — but I’m glad it seems you have come to the realization that this writer was just… how do I put thid delicately… an Ass. Keep doing what you do, Robert. We love you for it. Those who don’t can weed themselves out; it’s their loss.

    By the way, even I get freaked out looking at me…

  4. I can’t add anything more than Ned did. Damn him, he’s like nearly perfect, right?

    I get unfollowed regularly on Twitter and sometimes FB by at least one or two any time I open my mouth… if I speak to my social justice issues – too strident! – unfollowed. If I post a funny ha ha – too trite! – unfollowed..

    Oh, and just to be clear, staring into Ned’s eyes puts me into some kind of trance. Possibly fatal if I’m walking near traffic.

  5. Pamela says:

    Twitter is like the box of chocolates Hook , never know what you are going to get !

  6. WHAT? Censor yourself? Somebody told you to censor yourself and then blocked you?? I’ve never EVER been remotely disturbed by anything you’ve said on Twitter. I get dropped all of the time and I have no idea why or by who (whom?).
    Seriously, you are one of the kindest, most generous peeps in cyberspace…this is truly a “it’s not you, it’s them” problem. You rock.
    And so does Ned–would love to get the two of you in one spot – throw in Robyn and Ann and there’s a party I’d put bells on for. Xoxoxo

  7. In the words of classic SNL, “You ignorant slut, social media censorship”
    Very bizarre. Either this is 1. an attempt by someone to get a lot of attention to their accounts/site (haters are better than nothing) or 2. an example of while yelling about tolerance, their understanding of the word is only “You must believe as I do or you are horrible and I will not nly hate you I will get everyone else I can to hate you also because I say you are horrible – and I know what is right” Sad state of the world today.
    Their problem – not yours.

  8. Those eyes… I.. uh.. well… uh… *snaps back to reality* he he 😀

  9. Tara says:

    Jeez, the things I miss while I’m away! What did you do? Murder little lambs on live tv?
    As for the Nedmaster – I just can’t. I almost got sucked in by my eyeballs.
    Seriously, no matter how old we are – it seems we can still fall victim to devious, delusional, jealous people. To quote an oldie but goodie – Don’t let the basturds wear you down. (misspelling intentional.)

  10. Dagblast it, Hook. You can’t (as in “shouldn’t”) censor yourself. That would be like Eddy Izzard doing his routine in an argyle cardigan with brown loafers and unpolished fingernails. There are things and people that need to be left uncensored, and you, my friend, are one of them. Found a quote (because I love quotes) that said, “I will not trade my authenticity for your approval,” so to heck with the trolls under the Twitter bridge. Rant on, be yourself, and stay colourful.

Leave a Reply

