Why #BoycottBT Needs To Happen, People.

Anyone who has ever read this blog or met me in person knows I’m never at a loss for words.

Seriously, I’ve been a smartass at funerals, divorce proceedings, even a ten-car pileup. (The highway cop almost arrested me; though I think she just wanted to get me in handcuffs.)

But right now, I don’t have the words to articulate how I feel about Breakfast Television Toronto’s decision to fire Live Eye reporter and world-class cutie pie, Jennifer Valentyne.

If you’re not familiar with Jenn, here’s a quick primer:

  •  She’s one of the sweetest personalities – on and off the air – that you could ever hope to meet.
  •  People LOVE her.
  •  She brings much-needed attention to causes, programs, businesses and people who desperately need it.
  •  She’s been a part of my life – in the background, of course – through good times and bad.
  •  Apparently there are a hundred ways to kill a man using a hairpin. Jenn Valentyne invented ninety-nine of them.

Jenn (I call her Jenn because we’re so close – in my mind, at least) began her TV career in 1987 when she joined Citytv Toronto as an intern. When she graduated from Centennial College’s Broadcasting program she toiled behind the scenes at MuchMusic and Citytv before joining Breakfast Television.

The rest is broadcasting history.

But that history came to a crashing end on Friday, April 1, when a Rogers Media drone made the following announcement: 

“I can confirm that Jennifer Valentyne is no longer with Breakfast Television. This move is a result of a larger BT strategy in which the Live Eyes in each market have been eliminated and replaced to give viewers more of what they want with local news and information.

As a result of the position being eliminated, we explored other on-air TV opportunities for Jennifer within the organization, but were unable to find a position which she considered comparable. We truly value the contribution Jennifer made to BT over the years and we wish her all the best as she moves on to her next venture.”

Isn’t it funny that people always wish you the best when they reject or fire you? Worst April Fool’s prank ever. On the plus side, Jenn has the support of her co-stars and friends:

Dina

Frankish

Sadly, that support won’t pay her mortgage. Still, we all need to know how much people value and appreciate us – especially when we’re at our lowest point. So this is what I propose: We need to make the hashtag #BoycottBT start trending on Twitter, people.

For her part, Jenn has been nothing but gracious. From her Facebook page:

“I am sorry to say that the news is true. I’m sad that Breakfast Television’s decision to go in a different direction has meant that I will no longer be on the show. I want to thank you so much for your outpouring of love and support. I have read the comments on the BT Facebook page and I’m overwhelmed with emotion.

You never really know how people feel about you. I know now and it’s giving me comfort and strength. I am very fortunate to have been part of your lives for 23 years. I don’t know what the future holds but I will keep you posted. I love you all.
Jenn xo”

Told you she was great.

I’m not suggesting we storm BT’s studios with torches and  pitchforks. We shouldn’t bombard the personal feeds of BT stars. Personal attacks and conventional warfare will cost thousand of lives and result in millions of dollars in insurance claims.

And no one wants that.

So let’s stick to peaceful demonstration, folks. Let’s show Jenn Valentyne just how much we love her by… doing nothing. Don’t watch BT for a while and hopefully Rogers execs will see the effect it has on their bottom line.

We can make this happen.

Even if Jenn doesn’t wind up back on-air, the message will have been received. So get to it!

See you in the lobby, kids…

BX1yTKMIQAAzqDV

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why #BoycottBT Needs To Happen, People.

  1. I’m stunned….I thought it was a horrible April Fool’s Day joke. This makes me very sad. 😦

  2. I’ll boycott BT Toronto in spirit for you because I don’t get that here on the west coast, and I don’t Tweet, Twitter, what-have-you.
    I’m sorry this has happened, Hook. I hate it when the powers that be remove the people we like. 😓

  3. I hate it when corp. makes stupid decisions like this. TV stations try so hard to make you friendly with their news/morning show staff, then rips one of them out of there like they are nothing.
    Hope good things come to Jenn.

  4. Sheila Genore says:

    The worst thing ever to happen to BT letting Jen go ,I have not been watching much since but when I do try it out it is not the same without her ,So I will continue to try out all the the other morning shows until I find a suitable replacement. What is wrong with the people that decide these things ,I am afraid it might be the demise of BT in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

