Frozen: My Day In A Nutshell.

It may be Valentine’s Day weekend, but there’s little love in my heart right now.

But only because love can’t pierce the layer of Canadian ice surrounding my ticker at the moment. Not only is it unbelievably-cold, but guests have been insanely-rude today. A young couple even stiffed me AND somehow ripped me off for five bucks today!

How cold is it in Niagara Falls right now? Well…

I had an epiphany while standing on the Valet deck in the frigid cold, with the wind whistling through parts of me best left to the imagination. I’m willing to work hard for the money – like, Donna Summers hard – but there are limits. And after a middle-aged couple kept me waiting for fiteen full minutes in the frozen Canadian wasteland that is the hotel’s Valet deck? Well, I’d reached my limit. And so, when they finally emerged from their vehicle and popped their trunk so I could unload their luggage for check-in, I decided to make the situation clear.

Sparkling crystal clear.

“I’m going to tell you what the wife tells me every night… You have a minute to do what you have to do… then I’m done.”

Needless to say, they were stunned. But they eventually complied.

Yes, it’s really been that cold in Niagara Falls, Canada, today. And I’ve had enough.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Frozen: My Day In A Nutshell.

  1. Yikes! I hope the rest of your day is warmer.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    People suck. Good that you told the selfish couple off.

  3. Marian Green says:

    One minute, huh? But every night??? 😉

    • The Hook says:

      To be clear, Marian… I was frozen stiff and joking!
      You know me, I’ll say just about anything to get a laugh – even if is incredibly-stupid and is sure to earn me a thrashing from the wife eventually.

      By the way, awesome to hear from you!
      You’ve been a steadfast friend and supporter from Day One.
      Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. I am perpetually amazed at how inconsiderate people are. I’ve grown up in the service industry, quite literally, and I could never imagine not being considerate to service people myself. I’m often “too nice and considerate.” Nevertheless, it’s quite cold here in Maryland today – gale force winds and temps that say 17 but real-feel is -2. For real. Looking forward to my date night, but not to navigating the short walk from parking lot to destinations.

  5. Nothing like the cold to get one in the mood for murder. You were very restrained

  6. As my husband says, it’s a “me me me” culture now, with courtesy and thoughtfulness having been tossed right out the window. Manners? Respect for others? What’s that?
    It’s a sad day and age.
    Good on ya for saying something!
    (PS, the more I hear about her, the more I love your wife! 😜)

  7. Austin says:

    I thought it was frigid here in Maine, but at least I’m inside with the heat going. Stay thawed, my friend!

  8. -23 wind chill here. I feel your pain. Sucks

  9. Sounds like you could use some long underwear and a few shots of something to warm the insides and soothe the beast. Hope tomorrow’s better.

  10. Hmmm….sounds like a very rough day.
    Hoping today is better. xo

  11. Doug in Oakland says:

    I’m imagining them protesting your decree, as you stand there going FIFTY NINE! FIFTY EIGHT! etc.

  12. umashankar says:

    Now that reminds me of the Chinese saying that avers you will run into crows everywhere and that they will be black everywhere; so with humans. Can’t say the same of the Canadian permafrost though. You are cute!

  13. curvyroads says:

    I am sorry people suck so much…I wish for you some nice ones for a change. ❤

Leave a Reply

