It Was Fun While It Lasted, But…

… we have to talk.

And no, I’m not breaking up with you.

Even if you do snore, make me feel inadequate when we watch Jeopardy! and never laugh at my nerdy jokes. The truth is, you’re adorable and I’m not going anywhere.

But this whole “blogging-every-day” thing has run its course. It was a good run while it lasted.

All two months of it.

But the truth of it is, I’m just too busy to stick to a writing regiment. I love blogging, but at the end of the day, I’m not getting paid for it. I’m my own boss and I’ve decided to lighten my load.

To be clear, I meant my “workload”, perverts.

I’ll still blog regularly; it’s cheap therapy and there’s just too much anarchy around me to ignore, I just need to lose the pressure to perform.

To be clear, I’m referring to the pressure to perform in the virtual arena, perverts. I’m going to go now; there’s a family of eight from Australia awaiting their bags and I plan on telling them a dingo stole their daughter’s baby doll.

Yes, I am incorrigible, thank you for noticing.

See you in the lobby – and on the blogosphere occasionally – kids…

20151110_214338I feel like Chelsea looks… so I need to dial it back a bit. And yes, those are my now-famous Star Wars pajamas.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to It Was Fun While It Lasted, But…

  1. I completely understand the pressures with blogging every day – I certainly can’t do it and I don’t work outside of the home. I’m glad to know you will still blog occasionally. Star Wars pajamas – haha, I missed seeing those the first time.

  2. I too cannot blog ever day without feeling like I have left the virtual world behind. Go live life!

  3. To get things straight… the ‘like’ button was pressed: a. for the pleasure of reading one more Hook post and b. to support a fellow human being who struggles to make a living in this world [I shall leave ‘world’ without a characterization as it is only the first month of a year – we don’t want to be grumpy, do we?! 😉 ]. I will miss the posts and your presence [hopefully not for too long!] 🙂

  4. Allie P. says:

    I just found you and now you say you are going away. I see how it is.

    In all seriousness, though, I couldn’t handle blogging every day. I am sometimes amazed I can post once a week, so I understand where you are coming from.

  5. Holly says:

    Love the pajamas, and I get the whole not blogging every day for the sake of blogging thing. It took almost a year and a half of blogging nearly every day for me to realize that’s not what I wanted to do.

    See you in the lobby whenever you happen to be there 🙂

  6. davidprosser says:

    Very hard to sustain a daily writing regimen. I cut back to once a week with a daily diary and that seems to work.If that made any sense at all.

  7. This span has been the first time that I remember you blogging daily. I was in awe as I cannot do it. It was fun but I know you’ll be back with more snarky stories of the front lobby! Awesome jammies!

  8. Hey Hook! Life is full of little crap-storms and wonderful adventures. You can’t let blogging suck the life out of you. I have six blogs, I get to them when I can and don’t sweat it in between. Those of us who love reading about the goings-on in your corner of the world will be here in a week, a month… whenever. Fly, be free, Hook-man! Uhh-oh – I feel a serial killer story coming on – ‘The Hook-Man of the Falls’ – lol! 😉 Don’t stress about the small bits, my friend – life doesn’t have enough wiggle room for us to allow voluntary obligations to pull us under the churning tide!

    Peace, heaps of happiness, and good health to you and the family in 2016! 😀

  9. Pity, but I can understand. Look forward to your posts as and when. Take care. 🙂

  10. jmlindy422 says:

    Good call on the doll! I don’t know how anyone posts every day. Ridiculous. I’ve read the best blogs are run by people who post when they have something to say, whenever that is.

  11. Thank goodness! Not that your stuff isn’t the greatest, but you were making me look bad. So bad and lazy and slovenly and … I’d finish that sentence, but meh… maybe later.

  12. No worries mate… we totally get it! I was really impressed you did it for 2 months. I think that was all I could manage when I tried it a couple of years ago. I have been pretty good at following, but not writing. My life is kind of weird right now. I look forward to reading when you DO blog post though… have a great weekend! 😉

  13. Dang! Now what am I going to read before going to work in the morning? They don’t put anything decent on the backs of the cereal boxes anymore.
    Seriously Hook, your posts these last two months have been eagerly anticipated by me each day, but I (we) totally get it. That’s been a heckofalotta work! I don’t know how you did it. At any rate, your daily wit will be missed; it just means we’ll appreciate your random postings so much more. And checking emails in the morning will now be kinda like reaching into a trail mix bag, pulling out the requisite handful of boring nuts and wrinkly raisins,while crossing our fingers that Fate (or the Hook) will have thrown us at least one chocolate chip.

    (Btw, I think you should push for pyjama day at work.).

  14. How dare you have a life outside of blogging? Yeah, I’ve tried to write every day here and there; takes the fun out of writing. It’s like sex with Liz Hurley: Often is great, but every day gets to be a yawner.

  15. I don’t blame you. I blog everyday and a times it is hard. Who ever said you had to blog every day anyway. *crickets*

  16. tunisiajolyn84 says:

    How did you blog every day for two months is the real question. That’s a marathon in my world. lol

  17. OneDizzyBee says:

    The PJs are awesome, btw. I so want some. Also, FYI, I found it kind of amazing that you had the creative energy to blog everyday AND work a full-time job AND be a family man. Yeesh. Two months is about one month, 29 days more than I could have managed. IMO, a little Hook is better than no Hook at all… Antici……..pation!

  18. I don’t blame you one little bit. Who blogs every day? Ok. So there are some who do. I certainly can’t and won’t. I have too many other things to do. No worries Mate (as they say down under). Pop back when the pressure relief valve needs to be released. We’ll be around.

  19. curvyroads says:

    I am relieved for you! 🙂 When you blog, we will be here to appreciate it. Even if we are chronically late. LOL.

Leave a Reply

