I Have Nothing For You Today, But I Have A Good Reason…

Note To Self: Never tell a police officer – even when he’s off-duty and on vacation – he’s a disaster.

Even if he is a disaster.

Even if you word it this way:

“With all due respect, sir, you’ve already bumped two guest cars with your Hummer. You’ve almost come to blows with your spouse… and your kids are literally bouncing off the walls. And you haven’t even got into the building yet!”

I know, I know. But the best was yet to come…

“The only difference between you and Hurricane Katrina?Β  CNN won’t be providing round-the-clock coverage of your vacation!”

You’d be amazed what you can get away with by prefacing it with “With all due respect, sir”.

Until you don’t.

Helluva way to start the new year, right?

20150809_110802

Incidentally, Murdoch Mysteries Fan Day 2015 was a blast, kids.

See you in the lobby, kids…

By the way, good luck with those hangovers.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to I Have Nothing For You Today, But I Have A Good Reason…

  1. And a happy new year to all your readers, Hook. I’ve heard of better starts to the new year.

  2. OneDizzyBee says:

    What the…!

  3. “until you don’t” ….yep! I get it.

  4. Seriously? You’re behind bars? Happy New Year.

    • The Hook says:

      Happy New Year, indeed!
      And no, I was behind bars – at Murdoch Mysteries Fan Day!
      Just having fun with you, Catherine.
      (I’m incorrigible.)

  5. That’s not you… right?? Not you! Right??? 😦

  6. Happy New Year Hook. Another thing not to do is barf on a police officer’s shoes.

  7. Happy New Year, Hook… with all due respect… πŸ˜€

  8. So far, I’ve (knock on wood) made it all the way to 60 without seeing the inside of a jail cell. But I have heard that, say, when people are being arrested for drunkenness, whether it’s driving or fighting or whatever, that cops really love it when you make speculate on their relationships with their mothers, and such. I hope you didn’t have to call the cops on the drunken cop. Or did he drive that badly while sober?

  9. List of X says:

    As far as I know, using the sense of humor isn’t a part of the police training manual.
    Happy New Year! And #BellmenLivesMatter.

  10. 1jaded1 says:

    Holy poo…that was scary to think you went to real jail. Heartbeat back to normal. Happy (not hung over) New Year.

  11. renxkyoko says:

    No way. Is that you, Mr. Hook ?

  12. Dear lord ….
    Glad you had a good time at fan day.

  13. curvyroads says:

    Ok, I am glad I read the other comments before leaving mine, lol! I was hoping there was a twist and your “all due respect” luck had not truly run out!!!

    Happy new year Robert!

Leave a Reply

