The Hook Has Layers, Kids.

As longtime readers can attest, my skill-set may not be as deadly as Liam Neeson’s… but it’s nothing to sneeze at either.

In addition to being a world-class smartass, a blogging machine, a Twitter explorer of the highest order, and a family man like no other… I’m a nerd.

No, scratch that, I’m not just a nerd, I’m a MEGA-NERD.

One-quarter of my attic is occupied by my comic book collection.

My daughter has felt my influence to the point where she loves Nicholas Sparks’ movies – and Marvel movies equally.

I have dragged my wife – and I mean dragged – to dozens of comic cons. To her eternal dismay, of course.

I spend my Saturday nights watching Doctor Who.

Still don’t believe I’m a MEGA-NERD?

I’m 45-years-old. And I sleep in Captain America and Star Wars pajamas.

Yes, you’re right, my wife is a lucky gal, isn’t she?

Now, onto the point of this little exercise in self-humiliation. Which, by the way, is not to be confused with the exercise in self-humiliation I normally engage in… uh, never mind…

Here’s mt latest contribution to the good – and extremely nerdy – folks of Pulp Nation.

Jessica Jones and the Evolution of the Live-Action MCU

 

4594045-tumblr_np3mmurzit1qab0apo1_1280

Krysten Ritter isn’t afraid to get down ‘n dirty like a grim ‘n gritty superhero should.

Jessica Jones is the latest addition to Marvel’s Netflix universe… and it’s delightful. How delightful? Granted, this review is from a few weeks back, but it’s been chemically treated to stay fresh. You’re welcome.

Click on the link.

Read my words.

Thank whichever god you worship for bringing me to your attention.

Get to Netflix and watch Jessica Jones.

Repeat.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Hook Has Layers, Kids.

  1. I would not be able to sleep with you, besides the fact that I am very happily married, I would be laughing all night due to your pajamas.

  2. This show is just tops as far as I’m concerned.

  3. pegoleg says:

    I just saw an ad for that show and it looked intriguing. Looks like I may need to check it out.

  4. renxkyoko says:

    I’m currently watching it too. Good recommendation.

  5. You and Ned Hickson must have been separated at birth. Lol

  6. The Cutter says:

    I’ve actually missed all of the Marvel TV shows. I watched Agents of SHIELD for a while, but it felt inessential. I’ve heard good things about both Daredevil and Jessica, so maybe if I ever have a free minute, I’ll check them out.

  7. Left me at the station Hook. Sorry to say Nurdness has bypassed me totally. Well, I used to play Doom in the 90’s when it was a beta program.

  8. OneDizzyBee says:

    I was a mini-nerd until I married a mega-nerd and now I’m just as hopeless. Our entire TV viewing lineup reads like an advertisement for Marvel. I have to say that Jessica Jones, for me, brought things to a whole new level of fandom. I’ve even started “turning” my non-nerdy friends to the dark side…

  9. We hear and obey, Oh Mega-nerd Majesty.

  10. I must be a sucker for nerds, because I’d give up all my Star Wars Lego sets to see my hubs in Star Wars pajamas (well, maybe not ALL). Where can I get him some?
    On another note, isn’t that Jesse’s heroin-addict girlfriend from Breaking Bad?

  11. While I liked Jessica Jones, I still thought Daredevil was better. Then again, I’m a huge DD fan, and I’ve only read a few things that contained JJ.

  12. jlheuer says:

    Been meaning to watch this, thanks for the endorsement.

Leave a Reply

