A Post-Con Report And Other Musings.

Well, it’s all over but the crying and the clean up.

No, I’m not referring to my latest carnal escapade. (That would crash the internet into a gazillion pieces.) I am referring to the Summer of 2015, which has evaporated into memory, leaving behind fond memories, sore muscles, blog posts yet to be written, and of course, Fan Expo Canada 2015.

I had an atomic blast at this year’s Expo, so much so that, quite frankly, I’m knackered! Of course, the fact that the Summer of 2015 was one of the busiest I’ve seen in years hasn’t helped matters.

But I’ve managed to summon enough power to cobble together a post-con report for our good friends at Pulp Nation.

YOU KNOW THE DRILL, CLICK HERE AND READ!

Hopefully that holds you until I manage to write another post for my own site. Truthfully, I’m in a strange place these days. (And I don’t mean Jersey.) I’m carrying on with my life after losing Dad, but it hasn’t been easy.

I sometimes feel guilty for feeling happy.

I feel like it’s wrong to be able to venture into the outside world for outings like Fan Expo or Murdoch Mysteries Fan Day without having to make sure Dad is all right.

But I do it anyway. It is a cold, hard truth but an undeniable one: life goes on.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Post-Con Report And Other Musings.

  1. Yeah, that takes some getting used to, the lack of a comforting presence, but we’re pretty certain dad is still rooting for you to be happy, Robert. Everything you’ve ever said about him says so.
    Looking forward to the post-summer plots.
    -Hugs!

  2. Ned's Blog says:

    My father died many years ago, Robert, and there are certainly times I still miss his presence in my life. When I do, I try to remember that missing him is a reminder of what he still means to me — and that his greatest joy was my happiness. Doing things that make you happy is a tribute to him and the joy he wants for you. As long as it’s not too kinky…

    My thoughts are with you, my friend 😉

  3. Paul says:

    Awesome report ion Comic Con Hook. So pleased that your daughter enjoyed herself – it is always good to see young adults stretching their imaginations.

    I lost my Dad a few years ago. I share your sadness. As Ned says, it does make it easier when you realize your Dad would just want you happy. I also believe that this physical existence is only a small part of who we are – not that I have any idea what comes next (nor am I church-going religious) – so I find that comforting as well, having faith that my Dad has simply moved along to the next plane (what, he missed his connection? – Ha! – Dad had a dark sense of humor by times, or so others said, I just thought he was funny). Hang in there, Hook. I found it easier as time went on,

Leave a Reply

