SuperGirl May Be The Most Important Comic-to-TV Adaptation Ever.

And that’s not comic book hyperbole, kids.

Here’s a snippet of a conversation from a few months back that has been looping in my house (with subtle variations), for years.

ME:  So, we going to Ant-Man?

MY 16-YEAR-OLD DAUGHTER:  Ant-Man? Is that going to be another huge sexist superhero spectacular where women are barely featured and reduced to the same tired damsel-in-distress role Hollywood has been selling for years?

ME:  Well… yeah, I guess. But it’s got Paul Rudd… and it won’t be a huge sexist spectacular… because Ant-Man is… you know tiny. Like an ant.

DAUGHTER:  You’re not funny, Skippy.

ME:  I’m a little funny. But listen, superhero movies are getting better. Look at Black Widow –

A fatal mistake in my part. The words barely escaped my lips when my daughter jumped in like Jessica Drew.

DAUGHTER:  Don’t get me started on Black Widow! She was a love-struck girlie-girl in the last Avengers movie and they even made her a damsel-in-distress after introducing her as a butt-kicking, fully-empowered female in the first Iron Man! And look at Felicity Smoak in Arrow; she was a full partner at first and this season she was reduced to wearing low-cut dresses and hopping from Ray Palmer to Oliver faster than Barry Allen!

She was just getting started.

DAUGHTER:  It’s the same thing all the time, it seems. Females aren’t incredible, spectacular, mighty or invincible in the movies or TV shows. Iris West isn’t as concerned with her writing as she is with Eddie, Barry, or “The Streak”. Agent Carter was only a limited series. And we still haven’t seen a Black Widow or Wonder Woman film. And what’s happening with Captain Marvel? We make up most of the audience for these shows. Don’t they care about us?

Admittedly, she had me with that one.

But I recovered nicely.

ME:  Orphan Black has a ton of strong female characters…

DAUGHTER:  All played by the same actress. Who I bet only gets one paycheck!

ME:  You’re killing me. But I’m still swinging. What about Supergirl?

NEDT6VZiCcn8HD_1_b

DAUGHTER:  What about her?

ME:  She’s getting her own show. Granted, it’s on CBS, but still…

And with that, my daughter pulled a Jesse Quick and disappeared to her headquarters (her room), to Google the six-minute Supergirl trailer. She emerged ten minutes later.

jesse2

Beaming.

DAUGHTER:  THERE’S HOPE FOR WOMEN IN A MALE-DOMINATED NERDVERSE!

Again, she was just getting started.

DAUGHTER:  You didn’t tell me Marley Rose (Melissa Benoist, for those of us of a certain age) from Glee is starring as Supergirl! She’s AWESOME!

ME:  And she was in The Longest Ride.

I scored major “street cred” with that one.

DAUGHTER:  It looks like they’re not going to show Superman, who would just overshadow Kara. They have the original movie Supergirl and a TV Superman!  And the tagline rocks! “It’s A Bird, It’s A Plane, It’s A Girl!

 

 ME:  So they’re on the right track? Young girls will be satisfied? A corner may have been turned and new age of nerdy equality is on the horizon?

DAUGHTER:  Maybe. But Hollywood has A LOT of work to do to appease all the nerd girls out there.

ME:  The never-ending battle continues.

DAUGHTER:  Nerd.

sgirl-590x330

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to SuperGirl May Be The Most Important Comic-to-TV Adaptation Ever.

  1. I … how do I even share all my glee upon reading this post? Fantastic!

    I’ll be checking out the trailer when I get home.

  2. Paul says:

    Whew! Your daughter is one hot potato Hook. Good on her = and on you and VL for bringing her up that way. Bravo!

  3. Doug in Oakland says:

    Nerd girls are the best creatures in the universe…

  4. You have done an absolutely wonderful job raising an awesome and fearless daughter. Not surprising given your cool daddy skills.

    One of the reasons I love Game of Thrones is because of the strong female characters. ALL of them – queens, slaves, peasants, and ladies. And, they aren’t the same strong characters either. Unique, brave, flawed and awesome. That said…the sex scenes don’t pass the PG-13 filter.

    I hope you’re doing great, my friend. I think of you often and hope you’re doing well. xo

  5. susielindau says:

    I’m really looking forward to it. I hope it lives up to the hype with the help of good writing. I heard Fantastic Four was far from fantastic!

  6. LAMarcom says:

    One of my fatal life mistakes was never getting around to having kids—specifically female kids. I envy you.
    Great post!
    Thank you (for reminding me I still wish I had a daughter)
    Just kidding: weren’t yer fault…

  7. How does she feel about the upcoming Captain Marvel movie? Admittedly we haven’t seen a trailer yet, but it is going to be the Carol Danvers version, and it’s about time Marvel produced a super hero movie with the title character being a female. (And as far as Ant Man goes, I thought The Wasp (or the character who is obviously going to end up being The Wasp, hopefully I didn’t just ruin that for anyone) was pretty bad ass.)

  8. Natasha says:

    Nerd girl is cautiously optimistic!

  9. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I’m not really sure how I managed to miss this announcement, other than not watching anything that isn’t streamed via Netflix for the last few months. Will definitely be checking it out now.

  10. Your daughter rocks! 😀

  11. bardictale says:

    Smart lady. I agree with her.

  12. Awesome daughter you have there!

  13. I’ve seen some clips – ready for the rest! (Those writers better know we’re all counting on them)

Leave a Reply

