Niagara Falls Comic Con Is Almost Here!

Niagara Falls Comic Con Is Almost Here! Niagara Falls Comic Con Is Almost Here! Niagara Falls Comic Con Is Almost Here!

Niagara_Falls_Comic_Con

Sorry. They gave away tons of free candy yesterday in the staff cafeteria and my sugar high has only just begun to fade.

I’m buzzing like Kanye West at an awards show. Fortunately, the extra energy will come in handy when I hit my local con on Saturday.

With my trip in mind, and for all those who have decided to embark upon their own comic convention adventure, here are a few guidelines to surviving the experience with whatever sanity you had to begin with still intact.

10)  Pack water! Lots of water! Granted, I hate the bland, tasteless stuff, and finding a washroom to dispose of it can be a pain, but the fact is, you’re going to dehydrate. And that ain’t good when you’re surrounded by thousands of distracted nerds. And purchasing bottled water at a convention requires a bank loan, so throw some in your bag (preferably, in a container of some sort), and you’ll be good to go.

9)  Bring a bag. A big bag. (Stop giggling.) Make sure it’s a bag you can sling over your shoulder or across your midriff. Many vendors don’t have bags at cons so you’ll need somewhere to stash your wares. And thrust me, you’ll acquire wares. Even non-nerds are certain to find a treasure or two at a comic convention.

8)  Embrace the crowds! Not literally, of course; unless you’re really into nerds, then have at it. Niagara Falls Comic Con, like every con I’ve been to, is a crowded affair. (Nerds rule the world, kids.) You’re going to bump into hundreds of heroes, villains, orcs, wizards and assorted characters, but don’t fret, they know what they’re getting into. You can try apologizing every time, but it’s a futile effort (like dropping a Kardashian in a public library and expecting them to do anything but drop into a fetal position and sob). Just smile and move on.

7)  Bring lots of $.  I mean tons. Cash is king at a con. At the every least, make sure you familiarize yourself with the location of any and all ATMs. And if you really can’t afford to blow a wad or two at Comic Con? Don’t go! Period. They’ll have lots of stuff you want and you’re weak.

6)  Free your mind. Cons are all about acceptance. Anyone can show up and be welcomed. If society were a comic convention we’d all be much happier and safer. So be prepared to see some… interesting characters. Just remember, they mean well and they’re harmless. Mostly.

5)  Wear comfortable shoes. This tip is vital if you’re a bellman and lifesaving if you’re attending a con. You’re going to do more walking – and standing in line – than Moses so deck yourself out appropriately.

And speaking of which…

4)  When in Rome – do as the nerds do. You don’t have to dress up but at the very least, don a superhero tee. Get in the spirit!

3)  Plan ahead. If you’re attending with a partner or group, designate a meeting place. After all, one has to experience a convention solo, if only for an hour. But the last thing you want is to wander the convention floor aimlessly. I’ve been there. It sucks.

2)  If possible, load up on carbs! Food is not cheap (I’ve seen food vendors that have organ donor cards beside their menu boards), at a con so go with a full stomach and a fistful of energy bars or granola.

1) Have fun!  You’re not going to be able to do everything you want. You’re going to be overwhelmed by the sights, sounds, smells and other stimuli. You may even pass out. But that’s all part of the Niagara Falls Comic Con experience. baby!

There are no outcasts at cons.

No losers.

No one need ever be lonely or afraid of being judged.

Niagara Falls Comic Con is paradise for the disenfranchised, really.

So enjoy it. See you on the convention floor, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Niagara Falls Comic Con Is Almost Here!

  1. The Woman Invisible says:

    My son loves this and attends every year with his father – have a great time!! I think they just bought tickets for October already!!

  2. susielindau says:

    I loved my comic con experience and can’t wait for next year! Are you dressing up?

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    Little did I know … and at least I now know.

  4. Ned's Blog says:

    I think we should go as each other. Or the Jenner Wonder Twins…?

  5. Austin says:

    Will Hook and Toga Boy be there to fight crime?

  6. Paul says:

    Wow, it sounds like a lot of fun Hook. You’ll have to fill us in on how it went. Have a great time Hook.

    As an aside I have a couple of posts over at https://julienoblog.wordpress.com/ a new blog. If you have time to drop by for a visit , I would be greatly honored. Thanks!

  7. So you’re ready to fly with this one. Enjoy the wild and wonderful chaos!

  8. What excellent timing to catch up on your blog! You know, you are more than welcome to do a guest post at Comics Grinder with your observations on Niagara Falls Comic Con. Or I could do an interview with you. Well, we’ll see. It’s been a while and I am coming full circle back to your blog. Still funny and insightful as ever!

  9. I want to attend a con someday…just to see. I would be SO out of place – might need you to show me the ropes! I’m like Jon Snow and know nothing!

Leave a Reply

