Monday Morning Wisdom From The Hook.

Yes, technically, it’s Tuesday.

No, you aren’t so hungover that you slept through Monday. Again. And no, you haven’t fallen into an alternate dimension where super-intelligent dolphin overlords keep a restless human populace calm by eradicating things they hate, like Mondays, Justin Bieber, premature ejaculation, people who shame their pets on the interwebs and the Kardashians. I just feel extremely lethargic today so I’m declaring this “virtual Monday” on my blog.

That all right with you lot?  Thanks. This is why I love you all. And now, onto the wisdom portion of our program.

One must have a code of conduct from which to govern their path through this world.

Adhering to said path can be a pain in the ass. In fact, it can be a real bitch at times, but it must be done. A personal code separates us from the animals and other baser life forms.

Like joggers.

That’s it. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? What’s that, readers? You don’t have a code? Well then, time for a bonus piece of wisdom.

If you don’t have a code of conduct from which to govern your path through this world, don’t ask others to help you write one. And above all, don’t copy another person’s code.

Codes are deeply personal and attempting to emulate another individual’s code can lead to disaster. Like the time I foolishly decided to copy Mike Tyson’s code when dealing with a drunken guest. Her ear tasted like tequila; I couldn’t get the taste out of my mouth for days….

The rest is up to you.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Monday Morning Wisdom From The Hook.

  1. susielindau says:

    We stayed in a hotel last weekend and I thought of you on Saturday when it was packed. NO BELLMAN!!! Everyone carted their own stuff at this new Hilton.

  2. I don’t like Mondays… (no matter what day they fall on) *grin*
    Very wise words of advice! No one should try to be someone else under ANY circumstances! You are you and no one else is you but you! Right? So be the best YOU you can be!
    I think today is “Hug a Bellman Day” or at least I am declaring it as such!! {{{HUGS}}} 😉
    (guess I’m in a hugging mood today) *sigh* maybe I’M the one who needs one….

  3. Laura says:

    I like the idea of motivational mondays, as Tuesday falls in that dire gap between just been the weekend and not quite the weekend!

  4. The Cutter says:

    Any chance you can have us skip ahead to Friday now?

  5. Paul says:

    I used to work a 4 -ON . 4-OFF shift so my Monday was different day every week, and occasionally there would be a week with no Monday. I never knew what day of the week it was – only where I was in my schedule – Day 3 or day 2 or whatever.

  6. robincoyle says:

    You mean it is Tuesday? When did that happen and who let in all the joggers?

    How ya been Hook?

    • The Hook says:

      Lost my father-in-law recently, Robin, but the family is coping.
      I’ve stumbled but I’m still trying – and failing – to launch my writing career.
      So overall, it’s been business as usual.
      Hope you’re well.

  7. Austin says:

    I thought maybe Canada was on the other side of the International Date Line. 🙂

  8. I had no idea you were the one in control of the work week. Now if you could just add 2 more Saturdays and 2 more Sundays we’ll be good.
    I’m watching a series called Damages on Netflix and it is loaded with doormen! The characters are LOADED and live in NY, so these doormen are required to do everything, including murder. I’ve been thinking about your through 14 episodes at this point.
    Glad to read you this morning!

  9. Ned's Blog says:

    It’s Thursday, so I’m a day late on Wednesday’s Monday morning wisdom. Is it Friday yet? I’m so confused. But you’re definitely right about the need to find, implement and live by your own code. It defines us and can give us direction when we’re lost. And no, On-Star doesn’t count…

  10. An ear full here. (What a week. Catching up with reading..onward)

  11. curvyroads says:

    “Her ear tasted like tequila; I couldn’t get the taste out of my mouth for days….”

    I will be laughing about this for days… 😉

Leave a Reply

