Ever Wonder How A Bellman’s Day Begins?

A young female guest on the street with a Tom Baker-era Doctor Who hat and scarf.

Two ultra-horny middle-aged guests furiously dry-humping in the foyer of the hotel’s employee entrance.

A faulty punch clock. (Gotta love modern technology, right?)

Two housekeepers trapped in a laundry bin. (Don’t even think about it; you’ll hurt yourself.)

An intense argument between two maintenance workers that threatened to erupt into an all-out battle at any moment.

A lost wallet, bursting at the seams.

Two  new, over-friendly housekeepers that wanted to “chat” – for what seemed like forever.

All before I donned my uniform.

Welcome to my world, kids.

He’s still The (Gallifrey) Man…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Ever Wonder How A Bellman’s Day Begins?

  1. Paul says:

    My God Hook, you even have to get past DALEKS to get to work? Lord, you are one dedicated Bellman.

  2. markbialczak says:

    And a partridge in a pear tree. Put ’em all on a cart and wheel them to their proper places, Hook. Wow.

  3. I still can’t get into Dr. Who, but I really like the scarf. 🙂

  4. TJLubrano says:

    Oh gosh, Hook! This all happens before you put on your outfit?! I’m curious at the rest of your day now. Also, overly chatty people kinda scares me. 🙂

  5. You have such an exciting life Robert! I’m not envious of the long underwear all winter though…. 😉

  6. Hahaha, there’s a hotel downtown that gives cops free coffee in the employee cafeteria. I like to go there and watch all the employees interact. They’re a hoot.

  7. Your world is an endless source of delight and chaos. These are great tidbits.

  8. And what an interesting world that is!!! 🙂

  9. Andy Townend says:

    Always good to hear about your world…. 🙂

  10. How do you get any sleep at night with all those scenarios playing in your head? 😮 😀

  11. PsiFiGal says:

    Oh oh oh, tell me, are you a Doctor Who fan? If so you will be added to my growing list of Whovians that I have met along the way. We are an eclectic bunch. That girl is beautiful! Did you take that picture or is it a stock photo?

    • PsiFiGal says:

      I just had a “what did I say?” moment about what I wrote on your comments hours ago, do you ever get those feelings? Anyway, I obviously went straight for the Doctor Who reference and totally blanked on the rest lol! The visuals of this post had me floored, the middle aged horny couple-good for them, but maybe they should, like, get a room? haha And when you wrote: “Two housekeepers trapped in a laundry bin. (Don’t even think about it; you’ll hurt yourself.)” Of course I’m gonna think about it, you wrote it didn’t you?!? You are an evil evil man Hook, but I still like ya, or maybe that’s why I like ya 😉

      • The Hook says:

        I think it’s why you like me. Yes, I’m a hardcore Whovian and have been virtually since birth – or to be accurate, the Third Doctor – and no, I didn’t take that photo.
        Thanks for dropping by and making me feel so cool!

      • PsiFiGal says:

        Oh you were lucky to have seen the old episodes! I have only been able to see the ones that I could get from our library. Apparently a lot of them didn’t get saved, oh the horror! And I like you for other reasons too, ya silly 😉

  12. Jennifer says:

    And the day is still early, imagine what could possibly happen next…

  13. Ahhh, some days, I’m OK with not being a bellman. 😉

  14. girlseule says:

    I think a bellman’s day sounds like it starts with even more weird and random shit than the start of my day in the emergency department!

  15. Never a dull day at work, Hook. So much action even before the uniform gets worn. LOL

  16. I like that you tagged “dry-humping.” Get ready for an onslaught of sexual dysfunction spam.

  17. Will you be writing a book “The Life of a Bellman” when you retire?

  18. Hook, just stopped by to see if this might interest you, your daughter, or your readers.
    (Still think a graphic novel of the Bellman would be dynamite…I know, my concept not yours…but somewhere there’s a graphic artist that could make it ring)
    Anyway: a contest for authors
    http://kobowritinglife.com/2014/11/20/enter-kobos-win-free-epub-creation-for-illustrated-books-with-aquafadas-contest/?utm_content=buffer3365c&utm_medium=social&utm_source=plus.google.com&utm_campaign=buffer

  19. I hated Tom Baker, so she’d have been fed to the Daleks.

  20. I would were that hat and scarf. I love it and she wears it well. It would be really bad if I asked what a Dalek is. Right?

Leave a Reply

