Why I won’t — and can’t — be funny today

I feel like a hack beside this man. All kidding aside, you MUST read this.

Ned's Blog

image I stand in the slightly cracked doorway of my son’s room, studying the sliver of his face illuminated by the dim light spilling in from the hallway. He’s 15, and just a year younger than the two teens who died earlier this morning. On the floor next to his bed is his cell phone, seemingly discarded, just below a dangling hand.

The one with the baseball scar on the knuckle.

It’s not until I notice the moisture glistening around his eyes, and see the tear edge hesitantly down his cheek, that I realize he’s only pretending to sleep

His phone buzzes and lights up momentarily as someone’s grief is expressed in a Tweet. I glimpse a screen that scrolls endlessly with disbelief. Outrage. Sadness and pain. Classmates, friends and family trying to comprehend the incomprehensible…

It began with my fire department pager buzzing and shrieking a little after 7 a.m…

View original post 467 more words

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I won’t — and can’t — be funny today

  1. His post broke my heart. I was crying when I commented. Our small community is currently coping with the loss of a 29 year old who was just a gem. It’s so sad, but indeed helpful that small communities can help the residents mourn together. Such a tragic event for them.

  2. Sue Vincent says:

    I read. There are no words.

  3. Like Sue, no words. Just tears.

  4. orples says:

    The last thing I tell my children every time I see them, or talk to them on the phone is “I love you”. Nobody knows when it might be the last words out of their mouths. Hearing of a child, or young person’s passing is always heartbreaking, whether you know the deceased, or not. Dying so suddenly, no doubt, magnifies the grief imposed on family and friends. So very sad, indeed. ;(

  5. I saw this over on Ned’s blog also. All I could do was sit and cry….. I can’t even imagine what that community and his son and their families are going through. We had a tragedy not long ago in my home town in KY that was similar. A youth pastor, his wife and 2 teenage boys (friends with my nieces, nephew and my brothers) were killed outside of Nashville by a 26 year old drunk driver. They left quite a legacy behind and their memorial services at the school, churches and eventually the funeral were the focus for almost a week. I pray I never have to endure the death of my child or spouse and right now all of my siblings and parents are living. I know it will come some day…. I just hope that day is far, far away!

  6. Definitely a worthy share, Robert.

  7. Heart wrenching 😦

  8. shimoniac says:

    Read this on Ned’s blog. It seems grotesque to click like, but that’s the only option available. In this case it means that I’ve read what you have posted and am trying in my ineffectual way to show that I support you. To show that I care. There can be no greater fear for a parent than their child gets hurt; or killed. Go and hug your child, even if they squirm away and mutter “Dad, get off.”

  9. CharleneMcD says:

    Thank you for sharing. I just couldn’t imagine loosing either of my children. My heart goes out to the families of all the children in Ned’s post.

Leave a Reply

