This is What Happens When You Pick Up The Phone On Your “Day Off”…

This has been my morning so far…

1)  I read the following headline from our favorite jurnalist, Ned Hickson: This Just In… and snickered like a little girl, I mean, boy.

2)  Encountered a hooker who really wasn’t a hooker (I’ll explain at a later date, promise), who uttered the following line in a voice so smooth the words dripped from her mouth.

“What I offer is never overpriced and its value definitely exceeds the charge. Now, if you’ll excuse me, its way past my head-time.”

3)  Ran into a middle-aged woman who inspired the following tweets:

 

 

4)  A supposedly-secure back room – with no back door. Which, of course, led to this tweet:

And that’s all I have for you today, gang. It promises to be an eventful day – even for me – so I’m sure we’ll talk/blog later. See you in the never-boring lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to This is What Happens When You Pick Up The Phone On Your “Day Off”…

  1. girlseule says:

    I see some weird shit at my work, but never a dead cat in a cooler!

  2. Ned's Blog says:

    Clearly, you have questionable taste when it comes to where you get your morning news… 😉

  3. krazykris71 says:

    I used to think being a travel agent was the pinnacle of customer service weirdness, then after I’ve been in healthcare now 20+ yrs, and thought I’d seen or heard it all. You’ve trumped me sir.
    Fair question for ya…anyone ever left their luggage after checking out for about 2 weeks then call and ask if you still have it? I had a lady once ask me that regarding luggage she left at airport for that long. When I asked why she was only now (2 wks later) inquiring about it, her pithy reply “Why I didn’t need anything from it till today”
    ba-dum-dum, cymbals crash, drops the Mic, exit stage left.
    Have a great day Capt’n Hook!

  4. The Cutter says:

    People travel with dead pets? I wouldn’t want to travel with a live one, but on the other hand, a dead one is likely MUCH easier to take care of.

  5. granny1947 says:

    OMG…travelling with a dead animal…that is just too weird.

  6. Paul says:

    The guest’s name wouldn’t happen to be Schrodinger, would it? Ha! Damn lid slipped off.

  7. Maybe the kitty was asleep. Did you check to see if it was purring?

  8. I feel sorry for the cat although it is dead. What happened to rest in peace? 🙄

  9. 'Tis says:

    And I’m smiling all because you picked up the phone on your day off. 😀

    xo

  10. PsiFiGal says:

    I’m dying to find out about the hooker that wasn’t a hooker. Head-time? You really know how to keep your readers coming back.

  11. I’m not sure if having the cat stuffed and carrying it around like that would be less creepy. The cooler thing seems wrong.

  12. jlheuer says:

    Whew! It was only a dead cat. The movie “Se7en” kept going through my mind.

  13. shimoniac says:

    Why would you pick up the phone on your day off? That’s what voicemail’s for. Other than that, you leave me breathless, or at least speechless. I thought travelling with hubby’s urn was weird. 😮

  14. Pingback: A Little Pulp Non-Fiction, Anyone? | You've Been Hooked!

Leave a Reply

