I’m On The Mend, But I Still Suck At Titles.

A collection of magazines and puzzle books. Tasty confections. Toy cars. A kazoo. Jumbo playing cards. (They maybe mutant playing cards, which would be super cool.) Pencil crayons and modelling clay. Trail mix. Assorted goodies. And lest I forget, a harmonica which I’m expected to master this summer. (Lord knows I’ll have the time.)

They arrived by courier early this morning as I sat on my front porch, my fractured form weighed down by self-doubt and depression. It had been a morning ruled by contradictions: I saw no reason to leave my bed and yet, a senses of pride poured into my consciousness as I tackled household chores. Granted, my circumstances dictated my actions; soiled laundry was delivered to the machine on my lap as I slid across the floor. The bathroom was cleaned in stages – on one leg, of course.

As I slumped on a deck chair, however, my mood began to spiral downward once more.

Then, salvation arrived in the form of the squeaky brakes of a delivery truck and a jovial delivery woman. Christmas in July unfolded on my porch as I tore the cardboard apart with my superhuman Canadian hands. A card, dressed with simple sentiment but oozing with friendship and coolness, told the tale.

The bonds of friendship in its purest form, are limitless. My patron and I have never laid eyes on one another and yet, her selfless act has touched me beyond words.

Ann St. Vincent has a heart of gold imbedded in what is apparently a chest designed by Stradivarius. She is a woman of unquenchable passion. A mother who loves and guards her offspring with equal fervor. She is a friend, although that words feels woefully inadequate when applied to souls such as Ann’s, Ned Hickson’s or Robyn Lawson’s.

But getting back to my personal Mrs. Santa, her gift has been the catalyst for a wonderful day for my little family unit:

  • My wife scarfed the trail mix with athletic zeal.
  • Sarah and VampireLover fought to the near-death over the chocolate goodies.
  • My father-in-law has lost himself in the various magazines.
  • My daughter has been giving me coloring tips. (She’s the Scooby-Doo expert, after all.)
  • I’ve got my mojo back.

I could go on about Ann’s many fine qualities – inside and out – but here it is in a nutshell: With the exception of my family, no one has stepped up to elevate my spirit like Ann St. Vincent. If you ever need an organ, Ann (quit giggling), I’m your guy.

(It won’t be one of my organs, of course, but as a bellman, I know a guy.)

You have a special day coming up this summer, Ann; I hope it brings you all the happiness and passion in the world.

As for the rest of you, be well, my friends. You rock.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to I’m On The Mend, But I Still Suck At Titles.

  1. This is what it’s all about, that whole friendship “thing”. Ann is amazing, and I am glad you are in better spirits too!

  2. Sometimes this world is a wonderful place but not as awesome as some of the people in it. Happy Christmas in July, Hook.

  3. Sucks to be laid up. I hope your Superhuman Canadian genes can help you heal Superhuman fast!! What a lovely package and a good friend. I love stories like that. πŸ™‚

  4. Yay you got it!!!! I’m so happy this made you happy my friend πŸ™‚

    I forgot to include the mixed tape. It will arrive separately. And I do expect some fierce harmonica playing!!

  5. Paul says:

    Great post Hook – keep up the good Mojo. We’re all rooting for you.

  6. What a fantastic story and great friend. How could we do without them, right?
    You sound even more spirited today and am so happy to see you wandering around the WP hallways. Speedy recovery!

  7. Ned's Blog says:

    You learn the harmonica, I’ll bring my guitar and we’ll serenade unsuspecting honeymooners at the falls! Hopefully without them jumping in.
    And yeah, Ann is pretty great πŸ˜‰

    You see how this works? When you’re a good man, good people care…

  8. How wonderful and glad it lifted your spirits!

  9. Trent Lewin says:

    That’s awesome, and great on Ann. Be well, Hook.

  10. Jo Bryant says:

    What a wonderful surprise Hook. So glad it has helped lift you out of your funk.

  11. What a wonderful surprise!! Aren’t kid toys the bestest? It was so sweet of her to send you that goody box!! I’m glad your spirits are higher… Now get well already!!! We miss you… πŸ˜€

  12. Pingback: Turns out, today was a great day | ann st vincent

  13. Veronica says:

    That, right there, is love and what the friendship of strangers can do. Thanks Ann, it’s so nice to see the smile in someone’s writing, in this case, Robert’s.

  14. serins says:

    Love the friendship thing, and Anne rocks.

  15. girlseule says:

    Yay for kindness and friendship!

  16. Now that’s a true friend!!! A big virtual smile to both: πŸ™‚

  17. lensgirl53 says:

    All I can send is a smile and I do hope this makes you smile…..I am certain you can master this in no time on the harmonica. if you think you have it bad…listen to the King.

  18. Cameron says:

    Care packages are the bestest. Glad to hear you’re on the mend.

  19. Wow Robert….I am a terrible blog friend. I have been on the site so rarely in the last month I had no idea what you were dealing with. I’m so sorry, my friend. I wish there was something I could offer to help you out. You always have my ear for listening and any support you need. xx

  20. stephrogers says:

    When you master that harmonica, so sometime next week, you simply MUST record it into soundcloud and load it up for us all to hear. I am so glad you are feeling a little lifted. I am seriously impressed that you cleaned the bathroom. I know grown men who are fit and strong enough to lift concrete and still can’t work a mop.

  21. Yeah for Ann! Thoughtfulness is a powerful tool. I’m so glad she has helped you on your way with that whole mojo thing. It’s wonderful to know people care. Be well, My Friend.

  22. Twindaddy says:

    I’m getting to know Ann bit by bit. She is a pretty spectacular person from what little I’ve learned. I’m glad she was able to brighten your day, Hookster.

  23. Julie says:

    Thanks to you both! I knew there was still altruistic good in the world! I just knew it!!

Leave a Reply

