5×5 With The Hook: Robyn Lawson, Blog Woman!!!

She’s awesome. Period.

Let’s get started, shall we?

KIDDING!

All right, let’s get to it. Robyn Lawson isn’t just any ole blogger… she is… the one, the only… Blog Woman!!! (You know she’s cool because she uses three exclamation marks after her name.)

In her own words:

The back story on how Blog Woman!!! emerged is that on approximately an annual basis I would post a long Facebook opinion on something or another. The FB friends would good-heartedly suggest that I write a book, or a column, or as Lois demanded, “Blog woman”!!!

As a self-professed journal addict, and with the pushers at my back, I felt compelled to heed the command.  Thus I was again re-born, another Phoenix rises up from my nine lives, renamed once more. Henceforth, I AM Blog Woman!!!

To pay the bills, I am a contract administrative/marketing services provider.
To feed the soul, I co-founded a charity to assist victims of domestic violence and human trafficking.

Believe me when I tell you this, friends, Robyn is the Real Deal. This is a woman who loves her son – and your son, as well. Given the choice she would rather give to this world than take. And her tears cure cancer.

Too much?

The point is, Robyn is pretty awesome, her All-Time Top Ten rocks harder than The Thing at Studio 54, and she’s here for your screen-viewing pleasure.

1)  If you could be any fruit what would you choose?

    A tomato, so I could throw myself at you for not just asking me simple things like what my favorite color is. (It’s yellow by the way).

    It is sheer coincidence that I would pick a fruit that happens to be yellow. I would be a banana. Ubiquitous.  Abundant. Goodness for all ages.  Banana bread, Banana Cream Pie, Banana peel slapstick.  I adore versatility.

 2)  What’s the most awesome thing about being Robyn?

    I am filthy rich, I look exactly like Wonder Woman, and I do what I want, when I want, with whom I want.

    Oh, you meant that seriously?  Well, I seriously want that for my answer!

    Wow – this is a really big question Hook.  OMG really?  Um, someone once said I wear glasses and I have great hair. 

   Well, I have said, probably ad nauseum, that the greatest aspect to my life is being mom to an amazing member of the next generation to save the world. 

    I suppose on the whole though, it’s that I’ve been given quite a number of experiences that have put me front and center of the best and worst of humanity. That’s given me a strength that doesn’t seem to be finite yet. No matter how hard or deeply I have been twisted and wrung out; I have always got back up.  I really don’t know how, but for whatever reason, I’m still standing.  Ha ha, world!

GetInline 

3)  The greatest female heroine is…

    My heroes tend to be spiritual healers, and by that I mean the people who strive to lift people up and/or out of whatever is the lowest point in lives. I honestly am having the worst time trying to pick just one of these. 

    My first hero book report was on Helen Keller and from there I became enthralled with many stellar leaders:  Nellie McClung, my son’s kindergarten teacher, Mary Magdalene – according to the Agnostics, the Ellens, and Oprahs, my mom.  And, let’s face it Hook, we’ve both found reason to be in awe of quite a few of the writers we’ve met in this magical realm.

    Or, maybe it’s Wonder Woman.

 4)  What makes Robyn happy to be alive?

   On an everyday basis, I’m not terribly complicated, at least not anymore.  So, it’s got to be things like the kid, and puppy kisses.  Dancing my ass off. Winning or finding money, scoring perfect parking spots, or getting an unexpected upgrade on… anything.  An August in Nova Scotia.  Being able to help someone out.  Great laughs.  Great friends. And writing, of course. 

   Sorry for the saccharine, Hook, but for some people near-death experiences are a catalyst to control life’s limits, a kind of “pedal to the medal” to test the line of living life to the fullest. ( Robyn recently avoided a car collision that could have changed her life forever.) Mine have made me quieter; not in a participating less in life way, but I guess I see and hear much more now in the smaller moments. It’s part of what helps me learn the things I want to teach my son.

  (Never apologize, Robyn. This is your time and space to fill as you see fit.)

 5)  The TV show you love to hate is…

    All of the Real Housewives franchises.  Are they really ‘franchises’?  Anyway, I love how they demonstrate how utterly crappy people can be no matter how much money, resources and self-proclaimed class they possess. They’re a constant train wreck and an excellent example that people are people no matter where they are on the social and economics scales and that they are decent or they are not.

    It’s not that I need to watch them to feel better about my life, but on one level, I always kind of do – until I look at my closet. Sigh.

***********************

I rest my case. Thanks again, Robyn. You rock.

See you in the lobby. kids…

I do have to take exception to her choice of reading material, however…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in 5x5 With The Hook, Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Robyn Lawson, Blog Woman!!!

  1. Paul says:

    Whoa – August in Nova Scotia. Love it. How about October on the Cabot Trail? Are you a fellow Bluenoser or an esteemed guest? Great post Robyn. I detect a slight Super Woman theme – could it be a result of your reading material?

    • Whoa yourself! A true bluenoser is you? Well, your automatically saint material then – at least according to my step-dad who is,a true blue noser that is. Although, it’s likely he’d stand up for that saint thing too. I get to reside on the other coast, but I can’t wait for those St. Marg Bay summers. I wish I could get out there for those fall views, that’s the only season I have missed. Thank you Paul,

  2. MissFourEyes says:

    You DO look exactly like Wonder Woman! You sound like you’re exactly liker her too 🙂

  3. Barb Miller says:

    I had every reason to fall in total love with this gal, after all, she was my first-born and we walked many a mile through difficult times and today we share our life and enjoy where we are at. So proud of this gal…that is a chip off the old block. Way to go Robyn

  4. TJLubrano says:

    What a great answer about what type of fruit you would be haha! Dancing? Oh my gosh. I will join you!

    And…Wonder Woman? I adore her! I recently finished a little Wonder Woman painting for a friend of mine. I haven’t showed it as it’s traveling to him, but I’m going to paint her more often. She is one badass superhero. 🙂

    Love this 5×5!

    • Hey TJ, thank you so much! I wonder if you’ll post up that painting after you give it to your friend. I’m always in awe on anyone who is creatively adept in the arts.

      • TJLubrano says:

        Yes! As soon as he has it, I’ll post it on my facebook page and on my own website as well (I’m an illustrator)! I have to browse your site still. So prepare for a wee bit of stalking from…moi. 🙂

        Ciao!

  5. You know, when I first started following you, I would see an extra comma in your name whenever I read it? It was “Blog, Woman!!!” and I would want to know why you were being so demanding.

    Obviously it is Monday. Stay awesome, Wonder, Woman!!!

  6. Ned's Blog says:

    I definitely see the similarities between you and Wonder Woman, although the line becomes blurred until you take your glasses off. The hair, though… it’s a dead giveaway 😉 Wonderful answers from a wonder of a woman. By the way, did you get that copy on Amazon Island or from Amazon books? 😉

    • Oh Ned, I saw what you did there. ha ha ha. And, thanks for the compliment. I caught that too. You know, I’m sure The Hook would be happy to bestow the title of Wonder Woman on you too based on your amazing hair.
      We could still do that, right Robert?

  7. The Cutter says:

    I would say that all of the Real Housewives shows put together is the franchise. But regardless, they’re all awful.

    And how did you settle on three exclamation marks for BlogWoman!!! ? Did four seem like overkill?

    • Hi, that question cracked me up. They came about as a literal copy and paste from a Facebook comment, or rather an order that I got from a friend. She thought my opinions needed a different forum..

  8. OMG Hook – I now anticipate the phone ringing off the hook from the Pope or people in need of miracle cures, and I already have enough trouble with the number of Jehovah Witnesses determined to convert me. Anyone else need holy water in tear form?
    Robert, you kind of took my breath away with this amazing tribute, (Wait, I’m not dying, am I – did you hear something)?
    Seriously, this was ‘way’ more than I was expecting, you actually made me blush. I don’t even know how to say thank you near the same level that you lifted me up today. Just, thank you so much, good friend. ❤

  9. The Guat says:

    I love the fact that dancing your ass off makes her happy. I love that! I do that everyday with my kids. We find one good feel good song and we listen to it high volume and let our awesome out … then he goes to school. Sometime we might do it in the afternoon too if one of us is having a crappy day. I think Wonder Woman did that too before she decided to save the world on a daily basis 🙂 Great profile Hook!!

    • Well, I just want to say thank you, for your really kind thoughts, and I wish you years of ‘happy feet’! I think I might just go turn on some music now. 🙂

  10. Robyn definitely won me over with this answer, “I am filthy rich, I look exactly like Wonder Woman, and I do what I want, when I want, with whom I want.” Really, don’t we all want that to be our response?

  11. Pingback: 5×5 With The Hook: Robyn Lawson, Blog Woman!!! | Blog Woman!!! – Life Uncategorized

  12. Lynn says:

    You rock girl! I figured you for some kind of a super hero, it just all makes sense now. The hair, the disguise of glasses on the face, the don’t mess me with kind of look. Keep on fighting the good fight my friend. This was simply awesome!!! (yes, awesome with 3 exclamation marks)

    • Ha ha ha!!! Thanks Lynn. It is so awesome to log on and find a comment like this! My Friday night has started on a great note! Have a great weekend Lynn.

  13. Bruce Goodman says:

    Dear Blog Woman!!! How come you’ve become so famous so fast? I’m going to be putting a few exclamation marks into my blog henceforth!!! Or should that be asterisks?

    • Let’s make it question marks. You know how people like to be asked for their thoughts!!!
      I think you’re mistaking me with the real Wonder Woman – which means you need a check up. Anyway, let’s be clear, that Wonder Woman is really the fame hog here. 😀

  14. Barb Miller says:

    all i can say is wow.

  15. So thrilled to find Blog Woman!!! here. What a fun, kind, funny and talented soul who can really rock the Wonder Woman outfit (may I borrow those boots?)
    Great job as always, Hook! (See you around BW!!!)

    • Awww. MamaMT – way to give me the best comment to sign off for the night with! Oh yes, I will see you around. Thanks so much for those awesome words from a really Super Woman!!!

  16. And Robyn, don’t forget Bananas Foster! YUM! 😉 What a wonderful interview, both Hook’s clever interjections and Robyn’s awesome answers! Loved it! 😀

Leave a Reply

