5×5 With The Hook: Girl Seule of The ‘S’ Word.

Our guest today is suffering from a form of performance anxiety.

“To be honest I have been reading a lot of the other 5×5’s and feeling a bit intimidated by how clever and funny everyone is, when I am neither.”

Girl Seule needs to see herself as I do. She is a master of self-deprecating humor:

“I’m the girl men love to drink with and party with and sleep with in between real girlfriends. I stumble from one to another, often slightly intoxicated, like a 30 something teenager.”

She is self-aware:

“There is more to me than being crap at finding a boyfriend. I’m also a world traveller, student, feminist, lover of YouTube, aspiring writer, aspiring stand-up comic and occasional trashbag.”

She’s genuinely entertaining:

This isn’t like Sex and the City at all!

And gosh darn it, people like her. And she takes a damn good profile pic…

And right now, she belongs to all of us. So let’s enjoy her greatness, shall we?

1)  Imagine you have a global audience: If you could tell the world one joke, what would it be?

   I get all nervy and sweaty talking to an audience of five, so if I had to tell a joke to the world I think I would burst into tears then go and hide somewhere. Anyway here goes.

   What do you call a sheep with no legs?

   A cloud.

(I liked it. Old school, clean humor always busts my gut.)

2)  You consider yourself a sassy ‘n sexy gal, right? What does your most “Hot girlie” outfit consist of?

   I aim for ‘sassy ‘n sexy’ but I tend to land somewhere closer to ‘trashy ‘n tragic’. If I am making an attempt to get my sexy on, I’ll probably put on my little black dress. An oldie but a goodie, the dark color has the added advantage of camouflaging the wine or beer I usually spill on myself at some point during the night. I try and add to the sexy by wearing heels, but tend to end up drunk and barefoot. I have been kicked out of many pubs for taking my shoes off. If bouncers had to wear heels, I am sure they would show me more compassion.

pussy wagonNot only is she fashion-savvy, she has a sense of humor, fellas…

3)  What is your most inspiring memory?

   When I was 13 I had open-heart surgery, I’m all good, as far as open-heart surgeries go, mine was one of the simpler ones. Anyway I remember laying in bed watching the nurses and thinking, “hmmm maybe I would like to be a nurse”.

   Nine years later I graduated from uni with a BA Nursing. At times my job can be hellishly awful but it has also been wonderful. I don’t think I would have  thought to become a nurse if I hadn’t had heart surgery so it’s a good reminder that shit things can lead to good things.

heart

4)  Being unattached often gets a bad rap. What is the best thing about being single?

   I think the best thing about being single is also  the worst thing. Being single means not having to consider anyone else when making plans.

  

   Most of my adult life I have been a bit of a nomad and I don’t know how easy that would have been if I had to factor in another person and what they wanted to do.  I have lived in diverse places from big cities like London to a remote community in The Outback and I have done lots of traveling in between.  In June I am going off to India and Nepal for five months and I don’t have to worry about fitting that around someone else’s life. On the flip side it would be wonderful to make plans with me, so if you are single and a bit of a wandering vagabond like myself, send me an email or something.

uluru

5)  Which character from Seinfeld do you most resemble?  (Yes, I was being completely serious when I said these would be the most random questions ever.)

   Sooo the Seinfield character I most resemble would have to be Kramer. We are both always coming up with weird plans that we never stick to, we both have fluffy hair we are both clumsy.

   I get called Cyclone Evie by some of my friends because everywhere I go I knock things over and make a mess, just like Kramer. 

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Who doesn’t love Cosmo Kramer. right? I don’t know about you lot, but I think G.S. did a fine job of being both clever and funny in five easy questions. (I can call her G.S., ’cause you know, we’re so tight.)

I want to thank my guest for making this a wonderful blogrific day. Your rock, G.S.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Girl Seule of The ‘S’ Word.

  1. One of the best 5×5’s I’ve read. Must check GS out fer suuuuure.

    Great foresight into the black for future spills. I will have to invest in black clothing for both my kids for that reason. Chocolate milk has no chance against Midnight Magic pj’s…

    Thanks for this, Mr. Hook 🙂

    Paul

  2. Trent Lewin says:

    Blah, Seinfeld. Blah. But the rest of this is cool and I have had the pleasure of knowing Girl Seule a bit, and I think she’s cool. Great one, Hook.

  3. Veronica says:

    OMG! I know that fence she is standing in front of, never mind the great lump of rock behind her. And the pussy wagon number plate looks more than vaguely familiar. I must go check this chick out.. Great 5×5 Hook and Girl S 🙂

  4. Jennifer says:

    Great read and cool blogger.
    Seems you love the Aussie girls Hook, is there something you’re not telling us.
    Newcastle is pretty cool, only been there briefly, but I liked it, as for Uluru, stunning place.

  5. I delightful introduction to a delightful person. God help me, but it appears that I like a feminist!

    };-)>

    My sister’s a nurse, too.

  6. Britt says:

    Love this. Love her. Another gem to add to the blog roll. Thanks, Hook!

  7. I look forward to your 5×5 posts every week–this lil’ lady might be one of my favorites. Thank you for introducing me to another person to read (and live vicariously through!) In fact, many of my new favorite reads are those you’ve highlighted in your interviews. Thank you, Mr. Hook!

    And, BTW, do you take requests? If so, would love it if you featured some man-candy for us ladies. While I DO love reading about the talented, beautiful and hot women who fill the blog-o-sphere…I’m sure you have at least one blogger bud who can type with one hand and rub tanning lotion on his glistening pecs with the other? Just a thought 🙂
    Michelle
    (MamaMick)

  8. My wife bagged me with a little black dress. I couldn’t think straight. Works every time, girls.

    It’s good to see that you’re LIVING a LIFE while waiting for someone to sweep you off your feet. Too many women (AND men, for that matter) wait patiently for something to happen only gather dust in the process.

  9. bethteliho says:

    Awesome 5X5, Hook! And yes, she did a stellar job answering questions.

    S, I’m compared to Kramer as well, but for slightly different reasons, and I’m intensely jealous of your travel!!

  10. A cloud! Gotta love real humor! No lonely cloud wanderer this one, I bet. Enjoy your adventure! (You will blog the fun along the way or afterwards?)
    Great discover, Hook. A really great one

  11. Girl Seule’s nomadic style is one to embrace. I don’t think enough people take advantage of their unattachedness (apparently I made that word up) while they can. Enjoy India and Nepal, Girl Seule.

    • girlseule says:

      Thank-you, I am excited and also freaking out about the trip, and I also reckon that yes, unattachedness is certainly a word, or at least, it is now!

  12. girlseule says:

    Reblogged this on The 'S' Word and commented:
    Recently I was featured as part of The Hook’s 5×5 series. Here is a re-blog but you really should get over to his blog, he spins a good yarn and his 5×5 series is a great way to discover new gems of blogs.

  13. El Guapo says:

    Great questions!
    A revealing look at the Girl behind the Seule.

  14. We love our Evie! And here’s an interesting tidbit: Australian Aboriginal word for sheep? ‘Jumbuck’, which means, little white cloud…

  15. Nadia says:

    I hope in barefoot bouncer hell there are only 12 inch heels to wear. I FEEL ya.

    And I love, love, love Kramer – totally my spirit animal.

Leave a Reply

