Ten Things You Didn’t Know About Yannick Bisson.

Disclaimer #1:  I may be a grown man whose blog serves as an outlet for various workplace tensions, but I am also a dedicated family man and, on occasion, a raging fanboy.

See if you can guess what I am now…

Disclaimer #2: The hit CBC Victorian-era detective series, Murdoch Mysteries, is must-see TV in our house. Heck, even the dog is glued to the set when Detective William Murdoch of the Toronto Constabulary is onscreen.

Disclaimer #3: The ridiculously talented and decent (seriously, this guy’s beyond nice, even for a Canadian),  Yannick Bisson  portrays the title character. His portrayal of a man ahead of his time has made him one of my favorite actors and his accessibility to his fans has made him one of my daughter’s heroes.

All that having been said, I intend to test his good nature with my patent-pending humor.

yannickheadshot

Now, on with the show.

1)  That thick, luxurious hair? Part of a follicle timeshare he went halfsies on with William Shatner. Why do you think his character always wears that bowler hat?

2)  His Dragons’ Den pitch for a line of frozen foods called “Murdoch’s Mystery Meat” never made it to air. Go figure.

3)  He was the only pitcher in Den history to make Kevin “Mr. Wonderful” O’Leary wet his pants.

4)  Yannick is the founder – and sole member – of the Toronto chapter of the Pauly Shore fan club. (Who is he kidding? This is the only chapter in existence.)

5)  He once spent a year following David Hasselhoff across Europe. The funny thing is, the Hoff wasn’t even performing at the time.

6)  He’ll soon be starring in his own “5×5 With The Hook” installment.

(I hope.)

7)  He has auditioned for various productions of Annie. In fact, he has done so seventeen times. Although his management team has urged him to audition for a role other than the title character, he feels the role was made for him.

“I’ve always felt I was an orphaned red-haired girl who is eventually adopted by a munitions magnate after a series of whimsical adventures in a man’s body.”

8)  Yannick was the member of One Direction that was left behind when they made it big.  (Pete Best sends him a Christmas card every year.)

9)  Before hitting it big as a fictional detective, Yannick was Roseanne Barr’s stunt double.  (He’s lost a little weight since then.)

10) Murdoch’s Mystery Meat” was also the title of Yannick’s first “feature film”. Although he doesn’t say very much about that particular production…

And so concludes my presentation for today. I appreciate the fact you’ve indulged me once more, folks, but you deserve an explanation.

This isn’t an easy world to live in. My father-in-law is in his eighties and although he doesn’t say much about it, I know he realizes there are fewer days ahead than behind. His health has steadily deteriorated and so most of his day is spent in front of the television. My daughter has been bullied for virtually her entire life and while she has emerged stronger, the scars remain. My own mother has been battling various medical conditions for years as well.

And my wife? Well, she’s a wife/mom/devoted daughter and so she has the weight of the world on her pretty shoulders. Our life isn’t a waking nightmare, but its far from perfect.

And yes, there is a point in our future… and here it is.

In this day and Kardashian-dominated age, there are very few shows on television that my entire family can enjoy together. Murdoch Mysteries inspires conversation, something most domestic units rarely engage in. Murdoch Mysteries makes us laugh. Murdoch Mysteries has become part of our lives.

Yannick Bisson is Detective William Murdoch and as corny as it sounds, he is one of my personal heroes.

That’s all I have for you today, folks. Be well.

See you in the lobby…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Ten Things You Didn’t Know About Yannick Bisson.

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I definitely need to check this guy…um, show…out!

  2. Only “HE HOOK” knows how to make a man “Shine”!! Great guest post Hook! All I can say about him is, “OOOO LA LA”! Very easy on the eyes 🙂
    Hugs & Blessings,
    *Cat*
    PS….I’m down to one blog now! Combo of a Recovery & Writers blog 🙂 Like we say in recovery, “KEEP IT SIMPLE”! http://anauthorandwriterinprogress.wordpress.com

  3. hellokalykitty says:

    Perfectly ok to be a fan boy :). May have to check this out now

  4. He is a lot of people’s hero. In this day and age for him to remain as decent a human being as he is, is remarkable. I would add Allan Hawco to the mix and you have to of the nicest guys on TV. The crossover episodes with their two series were brilliant. I can only hope the big CBC announcements did not include them.

  5. Laurie Works says:

    OH YES!!!!! I have loved Yannick since the Sue Thomas F.B.Eye days… the show was cheesy but maaaaaan was Yannick easy on the eyes. ❤ love me some Yannick! 😀 😀 So excited that you posted about him on here!!!!

  6. Nice even for a Canadian! That was great!

  7. stephrogers says:

    I’ve never heard of this guy. We don’t have him in Australia. We do have Paul Hogan and Chris Lilley though. So that’s good.

  8. That was great Robert. It’s a lot of fun when you unveil another layer. You make me smile, when you’re not making me laugh. I hope your Yannick 5×5 shows up soon!

  9. 1jaded1 says:

    If I had a tv, this show definitely sounds worth the watch (especially if Chelsea watches). May your family be as well as they can.

  10. Never heard of him!

    • The Hook says:

      That’s strange, he speaks highly of you…

      • Sue Jankens says:

        Nice comeback. I’m glad to hear good t h ings of him. I hate it when an actor is so good that they have an excellent character that covers up a yutz in real life. Just came to Murdoch and love the McGyver/ Holmes thing.

  11. I love you how can make me laugh and then touch my heart in so few words! Wanted to say I’m sorry to hear that your daughter was (is?) bullied, it is a very difficult road to travel, and no matter how much stronger we are because of it, the scars still hurt. All the best.. Abigail

  12. shimoniac says:

    I first watched Yannick Bisson in Sue Thomas: F. B. Eye. I thought that he was awesome in a fairly light and fluffy show. I watch Murdoch Mysteries whenever I can, even if it’s a re-run.

  13. What television was intended to be. Excellent social commentary embedded in an informative post. High marks on this one, Monsieur Hook.

    Based upon my own childhood, I have a rather marked dislike for bullying. I’m actually proposing that it stems from gender narcissism as a means of explaining the differences in male and female patterns of bullying. Please tell your daughter that she has my sympathy and support; scars can be borne with the dignity of the human spirit.

  14. D. Parker says:

    As a long-time fan of Murdoch Mysteries and Yannick Bisson (yes, even watched Roxy Hunter movies and Adventures of Napkin Man, only for my son, of course) I still didn’t know all these fascinating details. 😉 Love MM, it’s great for some many reasons.
    Scars, seen and unseen show how amazing we are at healing. 🙂
    Excellent post, as always. 🙂

  15. sylvia weinzettl says:

    Of course he’s a great family man, he’s Canadian after all. See him here in So. Cal. a lot during Hiatus. My preferred if only show was “Nothing too good for a cowboy” about another great Canadian.

  16. SteamDawn says:

    Good stuff!
    (btw, Murdoch’s hat is a Homburg, not a Bowler) 😀

  17. Annette says:

    I don’t find a lot on TV worth watching but this is one program I never miss, even the reruns. I think George Crabtree is pretty cool too. 🙂

  18. There you go. Never heard of him. Good to know there are heroes in the world, though.

  19. Norma Penny says:

    Did Yanncik ever consider changing his first name to something easier to remember? This was common in the 50’s & 60’s.

  20. Theresa Santangelo says:

    Murdoch rules in my house! What a great show! Murdoch is ALWAYS on in my basement office! (which could be 20 straight hours) The advantage of having “on-demand”!

    This man and his family seem to be the most honest, respectable, wonderful people! They are a great example of how their “celebrity” hasn’t affected them, like those in the US. They are just hard working people, living their lives each and every day, just like the rest of us! I love them all!

    Now I Just wish I could get more Canadian programming. I’d love to see Jonny Harris’ show.

  21. Ange K says:

    Reading comments “never heard of Murdoch (or the show)”… where have people been hiding? Murdoch Mysteries is seriously the best show, educational, entertaining, amusing, romantic and let’s face it – eye candy (thanks to Yannick!). This is a show that my whole family love to watch!

Leave a Reply

